A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Num All

more information Restricted Resource AAS Congregational, Presbyterian, and Reformed Church Periodicals, 1803-1902
Note: Access: current students, faculty, staff, on campus guests

This collection contains periodicals that provide insight into the distinct Protestant ecclesial communities that thrived in America through their participation in the activities of Congregational, Presbyterian, and Reformed churches.

The Congregational, Presbyterian, and Reformed Church Periodicals, 1803-1902 collection features a range of periodicals devoted to Congregationalism, including the long-running journal The Presbyterian, the influential Congregational Sunday school periodical The Well Spring, and the Reformed theological journal The Mercersburg Review.


more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableAAS Emerging American Religions, 1821-1895
Note: Access: current students, faculty, staff, on campus guests

This collection consists of periodicals that chronicle new religious movements that were founded and flourished in America during the 19th century.

The Emerging American Religions, 1821-1895 collection features important periodicals devoted to Adventists, Mormons, Disciples of Christ, Holiness/Pentecostals, Millennialists, and Unitarians, among others. Subjects include camp meetings, health and wellness, apologetics, and theology.


more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableAAS Historical Periodicals
Note: Access: current students, faculty, staff, on campus visitors
The most comprehensive collection of historical periodicals published in America between 1684 and 1912.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableAAS Missionary and Charity Periodicals, 1793-1902
Note: Access: current students, faculty, and staff

This collection includes periodicals that focus on missionary and charity work undertaken by various faith groups from 1793-1902. All Christian churches were engaged in forms of outreach to groups or individuals who were in need, and this outreach was often inseparable from sharing a religious message and mission. 

The Missionary and Charity Periodicals, 1793-1902 collection includes publications for both foreign and domestic missions and represent outreach to many different groups that include African-Americans, Native Americans, women, the poor, immigrants, and specific ethnic groups. Subjects include slavery, home missions, hospital work, and social problems. 


more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableAAS Religious Periodicals from the Southern US, 1801-1904
Note: Access: current students, faculty, staff, on campus guests

This collection contains periodicals published in the South during the 19th century which focused on spiritual concerns, broadly defined. Here, researchers will find publications devoted primarily to religion from a number of denominations, including Baptists, Presbyterians, Methodists, Lutherans, and Unitarians.  

The publications in the Religious Periodicals from the Southern US, 1801-1904 collection are from significant southern metropolitan areas, including Richmond, Lynchburg, Lexington, the lower Mississippi, New Orleans, Baltimore, Atlanta, Charleston, Macon, St. Louis, and more.


more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableAAS Sunday School Periodicals, 1818-1885

From 1818-1885, the rapidly growing United States saw the emergence of many new church communities, and Sunday school was a central part of many youths’ experience of church. This collection features a broad cross-section of Sunday school literature that was read in churches and at home.

The Sunday School Periodicals, 1818-1885 collection also contains training and preparation materials for teachers. Subjects covered in these publications include Bible and catechism lessons, music, and poetry from a broad range of religious groups across every region of the expanding nation. In addition, the collection includes literature representing many church communities covering Baptist, Methodist, Episcopal, Presbyterian, United Brethren, Unitarian, Lutheran, Church of God, Mormon, and various Sunday school unions.


more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableAAS Temperance in America, 1826-1877
Note: Access: current faculty, staff, and students

The temperance movement sought to curb the consumption of alcohol and eliminate the negative effects of alcohol abuse in the home, the community, and the nation. This collection presents a broad range of periodicals that promoted the temperance movement in 19th-century America.

The Temperance Periodicals in America, 1826-1877 collection explains how the temperance movement originated through religious and benevolent groups, how it quickly spread throughout the country, and the various kinds of temperance advocated, from calls for moderation to total abstinence. The Temperance Periodicals in America, 1826-1877 provides periodicals dating back to 1826 when the earliest title, National Philanthropist, started publication from famed abolitionist William Lloyd Garrison as its editor. Subsequent titles are expansive in their geographic range, the political interests represented, and the social groups involved.


more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableAAS Theology and Biblical Studies Periodicals, 1760-1877
Note: Access: current students, faculty, staff, on campus visitors

Biblical and theological study have always been central to people and communities of faith. Theology and Biblical Studies Periodicals, 1760-1877 provides a variety of titles that focus on biblical studies and theological reflection, in both lay and academic forms.

This collection represents a broad cross-section of religious groups and major theological traditions: Baptists, Methodists, Presbyterians, Unitarians, Catholics, Calvinists, Wesleyans, Arminians, and more. Prominent titles include the Bible Society Record from the American Bible Society, The Religious IntelligencerThe Princeton Review, and The Christian Herald.


more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableACLS HEB
Note: Access: current students, faculty, staff, on campus visitors
The American Council of Learned Socieities provides a curated selection of over 5,000 ebooks from scholarly presses, including books on: African History, Biblical Studies, LGBT/Queer Studies, Latin American History, Hip Hop Studies, Islamic Studies, Religion, and Sociology, among many others.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableACLS Humanities ebooks
Note: Access: current students, faculty, staff, on campus visitors
The American Council of Learned Socieities provides a curated selection of over 5,000 ebooks from scholarly presses, including books on: African History, Biblical Studies, LGBT/Queer Studies, Latin American History, Hip Hop Studies, Islamic Studies, Religion, and Sociology, among many others.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableAmerican Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals, 1684-1820
Note: Access: current students, faculty, staff, on campus visitors
The most comprehensive collection of historical periodicals published in America between 1684 and 1912.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableAmerican Antiquarian Society Periodicals, 1684-1912
Note: Restricted to current students, faculty, and staff
A collection of over 5,000 periodicals covering all aspects of life in North America, from the colonial period to the middle of the progressive era.
Some full text availableATLASerials for Alum
Note: Alumni of the seminary and its predecessor seminaries must contact the Alumni Relations Office for login informaiton.

more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableATLASerials Religion PLUS
Note: Restricted to current students, faculty, and staff. Alumni, see ATLASerials for Alum
ATLAS PLUS provides expanded access to the full text of 450 journals, as well as indexing for a total of 2,000 journals.  
Search Databases
Key to Icons
Resource contains audio = Audio files
Some full text available = Some full text
Resource contains images = Images
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains video = Video files