A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Num All

more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableAcademic Search Complete
Note: Access: Current students, faculty, staff, on campus visitors.
Academic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed full text in STEM fields, the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more. Over 4,000 full-text journals!
more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableACLS Humanities ebooks
Note: Access: current students, faculty, staff, on campus visitors
The American Council of Learned Socieities provides a curated selection of over 5,000 ebooks from scholarly presses, including books on: African History, Biblical Studies, LGBT/Queer Studies, Latin American History, Hip Hop Studies, Islamic Studies, Religion, and Sociology, among many others.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableAmerican Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals, 1684-1820
Note: Access: current students, faculty, staff, on campus visitors
The most comprehensive collection of historical periodicals published in America between 1684 and 1912.
more information Restricted Resource ATLA Catholic Periodical Literature Index
Note: Access: Current students, faculty, staff, on campus visitors
An index to Catholic journals and magazines.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableATLA Religion with ATLASerials
Note: Access: Current students, faculty, staff, on campus visitors
See library staff for logon information.
Some full text availableATLASerials for Alum
Note: Alumni of the seminary and its predecessor seminaries must contact the Alumni Relations Office for login informaiton.

more information BILDI
Note: Open Access
A bibliography of biblical and biblical-archaeological literature, covering articles, collected works, and monographs. Coverage for some of its 540 periodicals begins in 1985.
Book Catalog

more information Calvinism Resource Database
Note: Open Access
Regularly updated and searchable database for information on John Calvin and Calvinism. 
more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableCanterbury Dictionary of Hymnology
Note: Access: Current students, faculty, staff, on campus visitors
Encyclopedia resource on hymns and hymn writers. See staff for off-campus access.
more information Some full text availableChristian Classic Ethereal Library
Note: Open Access & some content users can purchase for themselves.
Extensive searchable library of classic Christian texts. All texts can be downloaded, for free, as plain text or PDF files of out of copyright print editions.
more information Restricted Resource Congregational, Presbyterian, and Reformed Church Periodicals, 1803-1902
Note: Access: current students, faculty, staff, on campus guests

This collection contains periodicals that provide insight into the distinct Protestant ecclesial communities that thrived in America through their participation in the activities of Congregational, Presbyterian, and Reformed churches.

The Congregational, Presbyterian, and Reformed Church Periodicals, 1803-1902 collection features a range of periodicals devoted to Congregationalism, including the long-running journal The Presbyterian, the influential Congregational Sunday school periodical The Well Spring, and the Reformed theological journal The Mercersburg Review.


Some full text availableE-Books from Odilo
Note: Access: Current students, faculty, staff, on campus visitors

more information Eastern Cluster Catalog
Click here to search the library's book holdings
more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableEmerging American Religions, 1821-1895
Note: Access: current students, faculty, staff, on campus guests

This collection consists of periodicals that chronicle new religious movements that were founded and flourished in America during the 19th century.

The Emerging American Religions, 1821-1895 collection features important periodicals devoted to Adventists, Mormons, Disciples of Christ, Holiness/Pentecostals, Millennialists, and Unitarians, among others. Subjects include camp meetings, health and wellness, apologetics, and theology.


more information Some full text availableopenURL Find a Journal
Note: Find all online journals available to students, faculty, staff and on campus visitors.
Find all online journals available to students, faculty, and staff at ULS.
more information Some full text availableGoogle Scholar
Note: Open Access
Access Google's index to research books, journals, and gray literature. 
more information Hymnary
Note: Open Access
A comprehensive index of hymns and hymnals. Searchable by text, tune, composer, hymnal, and number within hymnal. 
more information Index Theologicus
Note: Open Access

The new IxTheo is a comprehensive bibliography for theology and religious studies. It is now possible to search not only for articles, but also for monographs, databases and relevant Internet links.

The new IxTheo remains a free and open access service to the worldwide scholarly community. The editors of the IxTheo are the Universitätsbibliothek Tübingen (library of the university of Tübingen) as well as the Evangelisch-Theologische Fakultät Tübingen (the protestant faculty of theology of the university of Tübingen) and the Katholisch-Theologische Fakultät Tübingen (the catholic faculty of theology of the same university).


Some full text availableJournal/Book Request Form

more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableJSTOR
Note: Access: current students, faculty, staff, and on campus visitors
A collection of full-text access, from Vol. 1, Issue 1, of journals. 
more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableLuthers Werke
Note: Access: Current students, faculty, staff, on campus visitors
Search the full text of the WA, in German and Latin (sorry, no English translation). Ask staff for off-campus access information.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableMissionary and Charity Periodicals, 1793-1902
Note: Access: current students, faculty, and staff

This collection includes periodicals that focus on missionary and charity work undertaken by various faith groups from 1793-1902. All Christian churches were engaged in forms of outreach to groups or individuals who were in need, and this outreach was often inseparable from sharing a religious message and mission. 

The Missionary and Charity Periodicals, 1793-1902 collection includes publications for both foreign and domestic missions and represent outreach to many different groups that include African-Americans, Native Americans, women, the poor, immigrants, and specific ethnic groups. Subjects include slavery, home missions, hospital work, and social problems. 


more information Restricted Resource New Testament Abstracts
Note: Access: Current students, faculty, staff, on campus visitors
An index to abstracts on New Testament research. Access this as you would ATLA.
more information Restricted Resource Old Testament Abstracts
Note: Access: Current students, faculty, staff, on campus visitors
A index of abstracts in Old Testament literature. Login as you would to ATLA.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableOxford Biblical Studies Online
Note: Access: current faculty, students, staff, on campus visitors
OBSO provides extensive information on the study of the Bible and biblical history. OBSO integrates authoritative scholarly texts, references works, and student study bibles, offering a wealth of Bible text and commentary.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableOxford Bibliographies in Biblical Studies
Note: Access: current students, faculty, staff, on campus visitors
OBO offers over 200 bibliographies on topics related to the study of the bible. 
more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableOxford Bibliographies in Jewish Studies
Note: Access: current students, faculty, staff, on campus visitors
OBO offers over 150 bibliographies on topics in Jewish Studies, including historic figures, Jewish culture (US and Europe), the Shoah, and modern Jewish politics.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableOxford Bibliographies in the Renaissance and Reformation
Note: Access: current students, faculty, staff, on campus guests
Providing bibliographies on over 340 topics,Oxford Bibliographies in the Renaissance and Reformation cover a broad spectrum of topics in global history, with a special focus on Europe.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableOxford Handbooks Online
Note: Access: current faculty, staff, students, on campus visitors
Oxford Handbooks offer introductions to topics and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship in over 80 topical areas.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableOxford Research Encyclopedia in Religion
Note: Access: current students, faculty, staff, on campus visitors
The ORE offers long-form overview articles written, peer-reviewed, and edited by leading scholars. Regularly updated, the ORE offers up-to-date information for any religion research looking for reliable information to understand an unfamiliar topic.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableOxford Scholarship Online
Note: Access: current students, faculty, staff, on campus guests
Access nearly 2,000 recent scholary books published by Oxford University Press at this link or through the library catalog. All areas of religious research are included.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableOxford Very Short Introductions
Note: Access: current students, faculty, staff, on campus visitors
The ULS Library offers current students, faculty, and staff electronic access to 59 Very Short Introductions in religion, which offer concise introductions to important topics.
more information Restricted Resource Project Muse ebooks
Note: Access: Current students, faculty, staff, on campus visitors
A collection of over 2,000 ebooks in the area of religion and philosophy. Access this resource from the library's Moodle site.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableReligion and the Law
Note: Access: current faculty, staff, and students
Religion and the Law includes over 2,300 titles, including works on Religion & Freedom, Jewish Law, Canon Law, Religion & Politics, The Bible & Public Schools, and History of Church & State. 
more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableReligious Periodicals from the Southern US, 1801-1904
Note: Access: current students, faculty, staff, on campus guests

This collection contains periodicals published in the South during the 19th century which focused on spiritual concerns, broadly defined. Here, researchers will find publications devoted primarily to religion from a number of denominations, including Baptists, Presbyterians, Methodists, Lutherans, and Unitarians.  

The publications in the Religious Periodicals from the Southern US, 1801-1904 collection are from significant southern metropolitan areas, including Richmond, Lynchburg, Lexington, the lower Mississippi, New Orleans, Baltimore, Atlanta, Charleston, Macon, St. Louis, and more.


more information Research in Ministry (RIM)
Note: Open Access
Index to Doctor of Ministry projects.
more information Revised Common Lectionary
Note: Open Access
Maintained by the Vanderbilt Divinty Library, the Revised Common Lectionary website provides resources on the RCL, including calendars, art for use in church bulletins, and prayers.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableSunday School Periodicals, 1818-1885

From 1818-1885, the rapidly growing United States saw the emergence of many new church communities, and Sunday school was a central part of many youths’ experience of church. This collection features a broad cross-section of Sunday school literature that was read in churches and at home.

The Sunday School Periodicals, 1818-1885 collection also contains training and preparation materials for teachers. Subjects covered in these publications include Bible and catechism lessons, music, and poetry from a broad range of religious groups across every region of the expanding nation. In addition, the collection includes literature representing many church communities covering Baptist, Methodist, Episcopal, Presbyterian, United Brethren, Unitarian, Lutheran, Church of God, Mormon, and various Sunday school unions.


more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableTemperance in America, 1826-1877
Note: Access: current faculty, staff, and students

The temperance movement sought to curb the consumption of alcohol and eliminate the negative effects of alcohol abuse in the home, the community, and the nation. This collection presents a broad range of periodicals that promoted the temperance movement in 19th-century America.

The Temperance Periodicals in America, 1826-1877 collection explains how the temperance movement originated through religious and benevolent groups, how it quickly spread throughout the country, and the various kinds of temperance advocated, from calls for moderation to total abstinence. The Temperance Periodicals in America, 1826-1877 provides periodicals dating back to 1826 when the earliest title, National Philanthropist, started publication from famed abolitionist William Lloyd Garrison as its editor. Subsequent titles are expansive in their geographic range, the political interests represented, and the social groups involved.


more information Some full text availableTheological Ebook Library Project
Note: Access: current students, faculty, and staff only
A small collection of ebooks owned by multiple seminaries. Login with your full email address rather than just your username.
more information Theological Journals Search
Note: Open Access
A Google Custom Search geared towards theological journals. A helpful starting-point for those just beginning research. 
more information Theological Research Exchange Network
Note: Open Access; full-text can be purchased.
Index and purchasable full text of D.Min. projects and theses.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableTheology and Biblical Studies Periodicals, 1760-1877
Note: Access: current students, faculty, staff, on campus visitors

Biblical and theological study have always been central to people and communities of faith. Theology and Biblical Studies Periodicals, 1760-1877 provides a variety of titles that focus on biblical studies and theological reflection, in both lay and academic forms.

This collection represents a broad cross-section of religious groups and major theological traditions: Baptists, Methodists, Presbyterians, Unitarians, Catholics, Calvinists, Wesleyans, Arminians, and more. Prominent titles include the Bible Society Record from the American Bible Society, The Religious IntelligencerThe Princeton Review, and The Christian Herald.


more information Some full text availableWorldCat
Search the world's books, journals, and dissertations from one location!
Search Databases
Key to Icons
Resource contains audio = Audio files
Some full text available = Some full text
Resource contains images = Images
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains video = Video files