A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Num All

more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableTemperance in America, 1826-1877
Note: Access: current faculty, staff, and students

The temperance movement sought to curb the consumption of alcohol and eliminate the negative effects of alcohol abuse in the home, the community, and the nation. This collection presents a broad range of periodicals that promoted the temperance movement in 19th-century America.

The Temperance Periodicals in America, 1826-1877 collection explains how the temperance movement originated through religious and benevolent groups, how it quickly spread throughout the country, and the various kinds of temperance advocated, from calls for moderation to total abstinence. The Temperance Periodicals in America, 1826-1877 provides periodicals dating back to 1826 when the earliest title, National Philanthropist, started publication from famed abolitionist William Lloyd Garrison as its editor. Subsequent titles are expansive in their geographic range, the political interests represented, and the social groups involved.


more information Some full text availableThe ARDA
A free source of online information related to American and international religion. The archive seeks to democratize access to academic information on religion by making this information as widely accessible as possible. Features include maps, church  membership overviews, denominational heritage trees, historical timelines, tables, charges, and other summary reports.
more information Some full text availableThe Association of Religion Data Archives
A free source of online information related to American and international religion. The archive seeks to democratize access to academic information on religion by making this information as widely accessible as possible. Features include maps, church  membership overviews, denominational heritage trees, historical timelines, tables, charges, and other summary reports.
more information Theological Journals Search
Note: Open Access
A Google Custom Search geared towards theological journals. A helpful starting-point for those just beginning research. 
more information Theological Research Exchange Network
Note: Open Access; full-text can be purchased.
Index and purchasable full text of D.Min. projects and theses.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableTheology and Biblical Studies Periodicals, 1760-1877
Note: Access: current students, faculty, staff, on campus visitors

Biblical and theological study have always been central to people and communities of faith. Theology and Biblical Studies Periodicals, 1760-1877 provides a variety of titles that focus on biblical studies and theological reflection, in both lay and academic forms.

This collection represents a broad cross-section of religious groups and major theological traditions: Baptists, Methodists, Presbyterians, Unitarians, Catholics, Calvinists, Wesleyans, Arminians, and more. Prominent titles include the Bible Society Record from the American Bible Society, The Religious IntelligencerThe Princeton Review, and The Christian Herald.


more information TREN
Note: Open Access; full-text can be purchased.
Index and purchasable full text of D.Min. projects and theses.
more information Restricted Resource Some full text availableTurabian
Note: Access: current students, faculty, staff, on campus visitors
Find it. Write it. Cite it. The Chicago Manual of Style Online is the venerable, time-tested guide to style, usage, and grammar in an accessible online format. Turabian is a shortened version of The Chicago Manual of Style.
Search Databases
Key to Icons
Resource contains audio = Audio files
Some full text available = Some full text
Resource contains images = Images
openURL = OpenURL enabled

Resource contains video = Video files