Biblical Studies Resources
This subject guide provides resources related to research on the bible. Methodological approaches to the study of the bible can vary between literary studies, historical criticism, homiletical approaches, and postcolonial research. On the second tab, you'll find direct links to the library catalog on specific books of the bible.

Key eresources available to our students include:
Other Useful Tools
  • BILDI Unrestricted Resource
    A bibliography of biblical and biblical-archaeological literature, covering articles, collected works, and monographs. Coverage for some of its 540 periodicals begins in 1985.
    Note: Open Access
  • Oxford Bibliographies in Jewish Studies Restricted Resource Some full text available
    OBO offers over 150 bibliographies on topics in Jewish Studies, including historic figures, Jewish culture (US and Europe), the Shoah, and modern Jewish politics.
    Note: Access: current students, faculty, staff, on campus visitors
  • Oxford Scholarship Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
    Access nearly 2,000 recent scholary books published by Oxford University Press at this link or through the library catalog. All areas of religious research are included.
    Note: Access: current students, faculty, staff, on campus guests
  • Bible Basics Pronunciation Guide Unrestricted Resource
    NET Ministries guide to pronouncing most words relevant to biblical and theological studies, from Aaron to Zuphite. Provides audio files as well as written phonetic notation. 
Search the Catalog
 
Librarian

Evan Boyd

Quick Access to Commentaries
In the following two columns you will find a set of weblinks that will take you directly to the library's book catalog, ECCO. These searches are a little fuzzy (clicking on the link for the Gospel of John will also bring up books on the Epistles of John, etc.). Some of the books do not have weblinks, as we have no items in the collection that are specifically about that book. However, the majority of those texts are from the Apocrypha, which are oftentimes discussed together in one-volume commentaries, found via this link.

The library also owns several ebook commentaries. The two most useful sets are the Hermeneia series and the Wisdom Commentary series from Liturgical Press.
All Items by Source

Journals/Magazines

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Academic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed full text in STEM fields, the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more. Over 4,000 full-text journals!
note: Access: Current students, faculty, staff, on campus visitors.
ATLA Religion with ATLASerials Restricted Resource Some full text available
See library staff for logon information.
note: Access: Current students, faculty, staff, on campus visitors
New Testament Abstracts Restricted Resource
An index to abstracts on New Testament research. Access this as you would ATLA.
note: Access: Current students, faculty, staff, on campus visitors
Old Testament Abstracts Restricted Resource
A index of abstracts in Old Testament literature. Login as you would to ATLA.
note: Access: Current students, faculty, staff, on campus visitors

Indexes

ATLA Catholic Periodical Literature Index Restricted Resource
An index to Catholic journals and magazines.
note: Access: Current students, faculty, staff, on campus visitors
BILDI
A bibliography of biblical and biblical-archaeological literature, covering articles, collected works, and monographs. Coverage for some of its 540 periodicals begins in 1985.
note: Open Access

Primary Sources

Blue Letter Bible Some full text available
Offers tools, including access to Strong's Concordance numbers.
The NET Bible Some full text available
Advanced, online, polyglot bible, including Hebrew & Greek. It functions similarly to BibleWorks or Accordance.

Bibliographies

Oxford Bibliographies in Biblical Studies Restricted Resource Some full text available
OBO offers over 200 bibliographies on topics related to the study of the bible. 
note: Access: current students, faculty, staff, on campus visitors
Oxford Bibliographies in Jewish Studies Restricted Resource Some full text available
OBO offers over 150 bibliographies on topics in Jewish Studies, including historic figures, Jewish culture (US and Europe), the Shoah, and modern Jewish politics.
note: Access: current students, faculty, staff, on campus visitors
SBL Handbook of Style
The Student Supplement for the SBL Handbook of Style Second Edition. 

Books

Eastern Cluster Catalog
Click here to search the library's book holdings
Oxford Scholarship Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Access nearly 2,000 recent scholary books published by Oxford University Press at this link or through the library catalog. All areas of religious research are included.
note: Access: current students, faculty, staff, on campus guests
Religion and the Law Restricted Resource Some full text available
Religion and the Law includes over 2,300 titles, including works on Religion & Freedom, Jewish Law, Canon Law, Religion & Politics, The Bible & Public Schools, and History of Church & State. 
note: Access: current faculty, staff, and students
Theological Ebook Library Project Some full text available
A small collection of ebooks owned by multiple seminaries. Login with your full email address rather than just your username.
note: Access: current students, faculty, and staff only
Project Muse ebooks Restricted Resource
A collection of over 2,000 ebooks in the area of religion and philosophy. Access this resource from the library's Moodle site.
note: Access: Current students, faculty, staff, on campus visitors

Dictionaries

Greek Dictionary
An online, fully searchable version of the Liddell-Scott-Jones Greek-English Lexicon. 

Encyclopedias

Oxford Biblical Studies Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
OBSO provides extensive information on the study of the Bible and biblical history. OBSO integrates authoritative scholarly texts, references works, and student study bibles, offering a wealth of Bible text and commentary.
note: Access: current faculty, students, staff, on campus visitors

Web Sites

Bible Basics Pronunciation Guide
NET Ministries guide to pronouncing most words relevant to biblical and theological studies, from Aaron to Zuphite. Provides audio files as well as written phonetic notation. 
Biblia Clerus
This website is a resource for anyone interested in the history of liturgy and Biblical interpretation or Catholicism. The site contains fully searchable Bible texts and commentaries by the doctors of the Roman Catholic Church. It also contains magisterial texts and Latin and Eastern versions of the Code of Canon Law. 
The BibleWorks Blog
This blog contains several user created files for use with BibleWorks 10 software. these files are in several languages from English to Greek, Latin, and Hebrew. 
Biblical Greek Resources
The website of the Institute of Biblical Greek provides many tools to assist someone who is learning the language. The site provides grammar aids and texts. 
Biblindex
Index of Biblical quotations and allusions in Early Christian Literature. contains published, unpublished, and out-of-print materials. 
Oremus Bible Browser
A resource which allows the researcher to search several Biblical translations by book, chapter, verse, or series of verses. New Revised Standard Version (NSRV) is the default translation.