General Guide to Research
For when you don't know where to begin, start here!
All Items by Source

Journals/Magazines

Academic Search Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
Academic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed full text in STEM fields, the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more. Over 4,000 full-text journals!
note: Access: Current students, faculty, staff, on campus visitors.
ATLA Religion with ATLASerials Restricted Resource Some full text available
See library staff for logon information.
note: Access: Current students, faculty, staff, on campus visitors
E-Books from Odilo Some full text available

note: Access: Current students, faculty, staff, on campus visitors
Find a Journal Some full text availableopenURL
Find all online journals available to students, faculty, and staff at ULS.
note: Find all online journals available to students, faculty, staff and on campus visitors.
Google Scholar Some full text available
Access Google's index to research books, journals, and gray literature. 
note: Open Access
Homiletic
Verderbilt University's peer-reviewed journal of homiletics. 
Journal of Scriptural Reasoning
 The homepage of the Journal of Scriptural Reasoning which is an online, academic, peer-reviewed journal published by the University of Virginia. 
Journal of Scriptural Reasoning Forum
A website that provides supplemental material for the Journal of Scriptural Reasoning. Offerings include bibliographies, additional journal articles, and teaching resources among others. 
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
A collection of full-text access, from Vol. 1, Issue 1, of journals. 
note: Access: current students, faculty, staff, and on campus visitors
New Testament Abstracts Restricted Resource
An index to abstracts on New Testament research. Access this as you would ATLA.
note: Access: Current students, faculty, staff, on campus visitors
Old Testament Abstracts Restricted Resource
A index of abstracts in Old Testament literature. Login as you would to ATLA.
note: Access: Current students, faculty, staff, on campus visitors
Sample Record
Here you can enter a description of the record.  A description may be overwritten for a given subject by clicking the icon next to the desired subject in the Record screen.

Indexes

ATLA Catholic Periodical Literature Index Restricted Resource
An index to Catholic journals and magazines.
note: Access: Current students, faculty, staff, on campus visitors
BILDI
A bibliography of biblical and biblical-archaeological literature, covering articles, collected works, and monographs. Coverage for some of its 540 periodicals begins in 1985.
note: Open Access
Index Theologicus

The new IxTheo is a comprehensive bibliography for theology and religious studies. It is now possible to search not only for articles, but also for monographs, databases and relevant Internet links.

The new IxTheo remains a free and open access service to the worldwide scholarly community. The editors of the IxTheo are the Universitätsbibliothek Tübingen (library of the university of Tübingen) as well as the Evangelisch-Theologische Fakultät Tübingen (the protestant faculty of theology of the university of Tübingen) and the Katholisch-Theologische Fakultät Tübingen (the catholic faculty of theology of the same university).


note: Open Access

Books

E-Books from Odilo Some full text available

note: Access: Current students, faculty, staff, on campus visitors
Eastern Cluster Catalog
Click here to search the library's book holdings
Luthers Werke Restricted Resource Some full text available
Search the full text of the WA, in German and Latin (sorry, no English translation). Ask staff for off-campus access information.
note: Access: Current students, faculty, staff, on campus visitors
Project Muse ebooks Restricted Resource
A collection of over 2,000 ebooks in the area of religion and philosophy. Access this resource from the library's Moodle site.
note: Access: Current students, faculty, staff, on campus visitors
WorldCat Some full text available
Search the world's books, journals, and dissertations from one location!

Dissertations

Open Dissertations Some full text available
A collection of theses & dissertations from around the world, including links to institutional repositories for access to the full text.

DMin Theses

Research in Ministry (RIM)
Index to Doctor of Ministry projects.
note: Open Access
Theological Research Exchange Network
Index and purchasable full text of D.Min. projects and theses.
note: Open Access; full-text can be purchased.

Encyclopedias

Canterbury Dictionary of Hymnology Restricted Resource Some full text available
Encyclopedia resource on hymns and hymn writers. See staff for off-campus access.
note: Access: Current students, faculty, staff, on campus visitors

Handbooks & Guides

Chicago Manual of Style Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Find it. Write it. Cite it. The Chicago Manual of Style Online is the venerable, time-tested guide to style, usage, and grammar in an accessible online format. Turabian is a shortened version of The Chicago Manual of Style.
note: Access: current students, faculty, staff, on campus visitors

Regional

SEPTLA
Theological network in our area.

Web Sites

ORU Theology Journals Search
Maintained by Oral Roberts University this website provides a customized search and a listing of free to use open access journals. 
The BibleWorks Blog
This blog contains several user created files for use with BibleWorks 10 software. these files are in several languages from English to Greek, Latin, and Hebrew. 
Search the Catalog
 
Key Databases