Internships at Seminary Archives
Internships at Seminary Archives
Internship Opportunities
The Seminary Archives in Gettysburg, Pennsylvania hosts undergraduate and graduate students with an interest in careers in archives and museums for internships which allow students to do professional work and hands-on learning in small archives operations. Interns will develop an understanding of the interrelated roles of archives and library departments and may also have the opportunity to develop and work on special projects tailored to their needs.

Students with strong backgrounds in History, Public History, Archives, Museum Studies, Museum Education, Historic Preservation, and Religious Studies are encouraged to apply. Internships may be arranged to accommodate any semester throughout the year ranging from six to twelve weeks depending on school requirements and archives needs. 

Responsibilities: The specific duties of this internship may include:
  • Helping identify and assess the archival value of materials;
  • Processing of the collection, including physical arrangement (sorting, boxing, labeling);
  • Inventorying and describing of materials;
  • Scanning and creating database records;
  • Research on Seminary and Evangelical Lutheran Church of America history
  • Creating basic finding aids;
  • Planning and preparing for a related archives exhibit;
  • Writing blog posts and/or contributing content to the library blog
Please note: Intern must be willing to work in an environment that involves exposure to dust and/or mold and can lift up to 40 lbs.

Requirements: Completion of at least the introductory courses in public history and/or archives principles and practices is preferred. Good computer skills. Good communication and organization skills. Interest in Lutheran Church history is a plus, but not required.
 

How to Apply

To apply for an internship, submit the following information to Sheila Joy, Archivist at sjoy@uls.edu
  • Statement not exceeding 500 words explaining how an internship at the Seminary Archives fits the applicants educational program and career goals
  • Current resume
  • Letter of recommendation from the head of the archival or public history program in which the applicant is enrolled. The letter should clearly state the program’s internship’s requirements, including the number of hours required to successfully complete the internship
INFO AND CONTACTS
Sheila Joy, Archivist
sjoy@uls.edu
717-339-1317
M-F: 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Please make an apointment before visiting. We are only occasionally able to accommodate walk-in requests.

Evan Boyd, Library Director and Archivist
eboyd@uls.edu
Summer 2018 Internship with Honorarium
This position has been filled.