Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Guide for D.Min Students: Home

A guide to research for D.Min Students

Core Sources for D.Min. Research

This subject guide provides tools & hints that will be useful throughout your studies at United Lutheran Seminary. 
Each tab provides insights into finding information from the library catalog, the open web, and the various other tools the library provides you.

Qualitative Research Guides

Bloomsbury Publishing has a series on Qualitative Research Methods that you can access through the library. This link will give you a listing of ten relevant guides (100-150 pages each) on topics such as interviewing, narrative research, inclusive research, and general qualitative research.

Keeping Track of Your Research

There are several useful, freely-available tools to help you manage your research projects. If you start using one of these tools early in your studies, they will become invaluable when it's time to write your dissertation.

  • Zotero  is freely-available web app and desktop software for all stages of your research. It allows you to group your references and downloaded articles around your own topic areas with your own notes so that you can then come back use them in your projects. 
  • Microsoft Office has tools integrated in Word that allows you to cite articles and build a bibliography. DO NOT USE MICROSOFT's BIBLIOGRAPHY, AUTOMATIC CIATION, OR TABLE OF CONTENTS BUILDING TOOLS. They are inaccurate and are near impossible to resolve without re-typing every single footnote, bibliography entry, and table of contents page manually..
  • eTurabian  from Eksendia offers easy fill-in forms for accurately formatting footnotes.

While these tools can simplify some of your work, it's still important for you to know how cite, format, and build a bibliography manually, as these tools will make mistakes, particularly when they import citations into the database and when presenting the final format in Microsoft Word. 

Citation and Reference Tools

We recommend that you purchase the 7th edition (or newer) of A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations (Turabian) at the beginning of your studies at ULS so that you can refer to it every time you are completing a research paper.

If you need to cite something more complex, you can also refer to Chicago Manual of Style Online , as Turabian is a simplified version of Chicago.  

United Lutheran Seminary - Gettysburg | 61 Seminary Ridge | Gettysburg, PA 17325
United Lutheran Seminary - Philadelphia | 7301 Germantown Ave | Philadelphia, PA 19119
Seminary Home | MyULS | Webmail | Visit