Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HTH 201 Global Christianity: Books

A Guide for HTH 201 Christianity Becomes a World Religion

Here you will find titles of books recommended as secondary resources to supplement your archival research. Provided are title and author name along with the location and call number. If you need assistance locating a book please email us at library@uls.edu or call 717-338-3014.

Note On Locations:
GENERAL: Open stacks
HISTORICAL: Closed stacks, ask for assistance
SP1 (Special Collections): Closed stacks, ask for assistance
THESIS: Closed stacks, ask for assistance

General Synod

  • Report of the Board of Foreign Missions of the General Synod of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in the United States of America 
    Gettysburg Historical Collection Call # BV2540.A1 G4 H

Missions-General

  • Home Missionary Organization in the General Synod by Morris Officer 
    Gettysburg Historical Collection Call # BX8066.1 .O325 Ho
     
  • An Outline of Missions by John Aberly
    Gettysburg General Collection Call # BV2100 .A2

Missionaries:

General

  • Glimpses of the Lives of Great Missionary Women by Paul E. Kretzmann  
    Philadelphia Storage Collection # BV3703 .K7 STORAGE BOX 3, 248
     
  • Missionary Heroes of the Lutheran Church by Luther Benaiah Wolf
    Gettysburg General Collection Call # BV2540.W75
     
  • North American Foreign Missions, 1810-1914: Theology, Theory, and Policy by Wilbert R. Shenk
    Gettysburg General Collection Call # BV2121.U6 N67 2004

John Aberly

  • The Diary of Rev. Dr. John Aberly: the India Years 1889 to 1923 by John Aberly, compiled by Samuel Schmitthenner 
    Gettysburg General Collection Call # BX8066.A3 A23 2005

Anna Kugler

  • Indian Goddess: The Story of Anna S. Kugler by Margaret Seebach
    Gettysburg Historical Collection Call # BX8066.1 .S449In H

Morris Officer

  • The Life of Rev. Morris Officer by Alex J. Imhoff
    Gettysburg General Collection Call # BX8080.O2 I6
     
  • Morris Officer by Olney Eaton 
    Gettysburg Thesis Collection AA5 V.71

Africa

  • African Bible Pictures : Scripture Scenes and Customs in Africa by Morris Officer 
    Gettysburg General Collection Call # DT14 .O32
     
  • Light on Darkness? Missionary Photography of Africa in the Nineteenth and Early Twentieth Centuries by Jack T. Thompson
    Gettysburg General Collection Call # BV3520.T56 2012
     
  • Lutheran Mission in Liberia by Harold Vink Whetstone
    Gettysburg General Collection Call # BV3625 .L5 W45
     
  • A Plea for a Lutheran Mission in Liberia by Morris Officer 
    Gettysburg Historical Collection Call # BX8066.1 .O325 Pl
     
  • The Spiritual in the Secular: Missionaries and Knowledge About Africa by Patrick Harries and David Maxwell
    Gettysburg General Collection Call # BV3500 .S64 2012
     
  • Studies in the History of Christian Missions by R.E. Frylenberg and Brian Stanley
    Gettysburg General Collection Call # BV3520 .T56 2012
     
  • Western Africa, a Mission Field, or the Moral and Physical Condition of Western Africa Considered with Reference to the Founding of Mission Settlements of Colored People by Morris Officer 
    Gettysburg General Collection Call # BV3540 .O35

India

  • After Fifty Years or An Historical Sketch of the Guntur Mission on the Evangelical Lutheran Church of the General Synod in the United States of America by Rev. L.B. Wolf
    Gettysburg General Collection Call # BV2540 W74
     
  • The Andhra Evangelical Lutheran Church: A Brief History by Martin Luther Dolbeer 
    Gettysburg General Collection Call # BX8063.I3 A5
     
  • Biographical record of the pastors, Missionaries and Prominent Laymen of the United Lutheran Church Mission and the Andhra Evangelical Lutheran Church by Clarence H. Swavely 
    Gettysburg General Collection Call # BX8079 .S92
     
  • Caste, Gender, and Christianity in Colonial India: Telegu Women in Mission Taneti by Elisha James 
    Gettysburg General Collection Call # BV3265.3 .T36 2013
     
  • Centennial Celebrations of the United Lutheran Church Mission: Guntur, July 30th to August 1st, 1942 by A.F. Schmitthenner
    Gettysburg General Collection Call # BX8066.1 .S355 Ce
     
  • Christian Missionaries in India by S. Massey
    Gettysburg General Collection Call # BR1155.M376 2007
     
  • Gettysburg and the Call to Mission in India by Samuel W. Schmitthenner 
    Gettysburg General Collection Call # BV3269.A1 S33 2012
     
  • Guntur Mission Hospital: Guntur, India by Anna S. Kugler 
    Gettysburg General Collection Call # BV3290.G8 K8
     
  • A History of the Guntur What Hath God Wrought?: United Lutheran Church India Mission, Centennial, 1842-1942 Mission: a Brief Account of the Rise and Progress of the General Synod's Mission in India.
    Gettysburg General Collection Call # BV3265 .G6

United Lutheran Seminary - Gettysburg | 61 Seminary Ridge | Gettysburg, PA 17325
United Lutheran Seminary - Philadelphia | 7301 Germantown Ave | Philadelphia, PA 19119
Seminary Home | MyULS | Webmail | Visit