SEMINARY ARCHIVES MASTER INDEX OF ALL HOLDINGS
NOTE: The listing of all holdings does not indicate that all will be available to the public. Due to privacy of students and the sensitivity of other confidential material, as well as the deteriorating condition of some original materials, Seminary Archives and Library staff have the final say as to whether requests can be honored.

In addition to this index, several Finding Aids have been created for specific collections within the archives.
INFO AND CONTACTS
As of March 27, 2020, Ms. Sheila Joy is no longer the Assistant Archivist, as she accepted a new position at the Lutheran Archives Center in Philadelphia. 

During this transition period all communications will be forwarded to Library Director Evan Boyd until the position is filled. Requests should expect a response this Fall after the position is filled.

Please make an apointment before visiting. We are only occasionally able to accommodate walk-in requests.

Evan Boyd, Library Director and Archivist
eboyd@uls.edu
Manuscripts Collections
Our manuscripts collections are stored in closed stacks. Please contact the archivist to set up an appointment to view them.

To view our listing of each collection, please click the links below for more information.
 

Manuscripts Collection

Full descriptive inventories for large collections of personal papers and faculty papers. Finding aids are available to researchers.
 

Bound Manuscripts Collection

Alphabetical listing of bound manuscripts documenting the activities of individuals, organizations, places, and various topics.
 

Private Parish Registers

Alphabetical listing of bound private parish registers from pastors who served Lutheran churches in Pennsylvania, Maryland, and Virginia.  
 

Vertical File Manuscripts

Alphabetical listing of single folder manuscript collections and reference material that includes records documenting the activities of individuals, organizations, places, and various topics.
 

Other Organizations Manuscripts

Full descriptive inventories for large collections of papers documenting activities of organizations, groups, and various topics. Finding aids are available to researchers.
Table of Contents
INFO AND CONTACTS
As of March 27, 2020, Ms. Sheila Joy is no longer the Assistant Archivist, as she accepted a new position at the Lutheran Archives Center in Philadelphia. 

During this transition period all communications will be forwarded to Library Director Evan Boyd until the position is filled. Requests should expect a response this Fall after the position is filled.

Please make an apointment before visiting. We are only occasionally able to accommodate walk-in requests.

Evan Boyd, Library Director and Archivist
eboyd@uls.edu
Collected Papers of Samuel Simon Schmucker
Original Inventory prepared by O.J. Jorgenson and Verlyn K. Smith, July, 1965
Revised April 1991, May 2012
 
Catalogue system: Samuel Simon Schmucker papers
3000 – S. S. Schmucker papers                        
3100 – Letters from S. S. Schmucker               31aa.bbcc                 aa – Year
                                                                                                                bb – Month
                                                                                                                cc - Day
3200 – Letters to S. S. Schmucker                    32aa.bbcc                aa – Year
                                                                                                                bb – Month
                                                                                                                cc - Day
3300 – Sermons                                                   33aa.bbcc               aa – Book of Bible (Genesis = 1)
                                                                                                               bb – Chapter
                                                                                                               cc - Verse
3400 – Lectures                                                   34aa.bbcc              aa – General Topic
                                                                                                               bb – Subtopic (when needed)
                                                                                                               cc – Arbitrary Number to Identify Paper
             3410.bbcc – Bible                                                                   bb – 10 Geology
                                                                                                               20 Archeology
                                                                                                               30 History
                                                                                                               40 Exegesis
                                                                                                               50 Theology
             3420.bbcc – Theology                                                           bb – 10 Methodology
                                                                                                               20 Dogmatics
                                                                                                               30 Sacraments
                                                                                                               40 Philosophy of Religion
                                                                                                              50 History
               
             3430.bbcc – Mental Philosophy                                          (no sub-topics)
             3440.bbcc – Homiletics                                                             “              “
             3450.bbcc – Pastoral Theology                                               “              “
             3460 – Moral Theology                                                             “              “
             3470.bbcc – Church Government                                             “              “
3500 – Documents                                              35aa.bbcc              aa – year
                                                                                                               bb – Month
                                                                                                               cc – Day
3600 – Lutheran Church                                    36aa.bbcc               aa – General Topic
                                                                                                               bb – Not Used *
                                                                                                               cc – Arbitrary Number to Identify Paper
              3610.bbcc – Seminary*                                                         *(For this group, bb was used, along with cc, to identify paper)
              3620.bbcc – General Synod
              3630.bbcc – Hymn book and Liturgy
              3640.bbcc – Other synods and agencies
3700 – Miscellaneous                                        37aa.bbcc                aa – General Topic
                                                                                                                bb – Not Used
                                                                                                                cc – Arbitrary Number to Identify Paper
              3710.bbcc – Bibliographies Compiled by S. S. Schmucker
              3720.bbcc – Lecture Notes Taken by S. S. Schmucker While a Student at Princeton
              3730.bbcc – Materials Related to his Publications
              3740.bbcc – Evangelical Alliance
              3750.bbcc – Slavery and Negro Questions
              3760.bbcc – Pictures and Newspaper Clippings
              3770.bbcc – Other Miscellaneous
              3780.bbcc – Correspondence and Items Relating to the S. S. Schmucker Collection
              3790.bbcc – Scrapbooks


*3 microfilms of Gettysburg College Schmucker Collection
 

*Special books with Civil War writing – see Boxed Ms. List under Civil War
BX8079 S37 1956 Gen: Schmucker Family Record Zehr, Marian (one also in Advancement box on Campaign G2010.014 Box 4)
BV4070 G568 1826 H: SSS Inaugural Address
BS185 1822 .N48 SSS: Schmucker Bible

 

 
Archive No.     Item            Description
 
* designates letters in the Robert A. Schmucker, Jr., (great‑grandson of S.S.S.) collection of Schmucker's letters, which he donated to the Lutheran Theological Seminary at Gettysburg. Because these letters were related, they were kept together as a collection. They are located in a separate box at the end of the Schmucker collection. The descriptions of the contents were largely provided by Robert Schmucker, Jr.
 
3100.0001       Letter          Copies of letters from Schmucker to his wife, 1820‑1847,
                                       and Inventory of Estate. 
                                       (Originals in the Library of Gettysburg College.)
 
3100.0002       Letter          Copies of Schmucker's letters to his son,
                                        Beale Melanchthon Schmucker, 1848‑1864. 
                                        (Originals in the Library of Gettysburg College.)
 
[3126.1202]     Letter          From Schmucker to C.P [Charles Philip] Krauth, President of
                                        the Synod of Md. & Va., Martinsburg, Berkeley Co., Virginia
                                        [now West Virginia]. Dec. 2, 1826. 
                                        In West Pennsylvania Synod Archives,
                                        Correspondence and Proceedings, Box 2.
 
3130.0206       Letter          From Schmucker (in German) to ed. of York Gazette, York, Pa.,
                                       defending Prof. Meyer (?) against charge that he rejects
                                       German language. Feb. 6, 1830. 
                                       And Newspaper clipping (newspaper not identified with
                                       Schmucker's letter to the editor. It is concerned with
                                       his insistence that he has given no cause for the
                                       suspicion that he has rejected the German language.
                                       Printed in German (no translation, no date.)
 
3138.0222       Letter          From Schmucker to Rev. Milton Badgen, Cor. Sect.
                                       of the American Home Missionary Society, New York,
                                       concerning a variety of matters, including a
                                       recommendation of Jesse Hoover, a former student
                                       at the Seminary, and mention of a plan for Christian Union,
                                       to appear in the next Repository. Feb. 22, 1838. 
                                       Photocopy: original in Archives of the American
                                       Home Missionary Society.
 
3139.0501       Letter          From Schmucker to Rev. Charles Mace, New York,
                                       concerning missionary operations supported by the
                                       Branch. Includes a Report of the Lutheran Branch
                                       of the American Home Missionary Society for 1837‑8,
                                       signed by S. S. Schmucker, Cor. Sect., May 1, 1839. 
                                       Photocopy: original in Archives of the American Home
                                       Missionary Society.
 
3140.0915       Letter          From Schmucker as recommendation for Mr. Henry Bishop,
                                        student at Seminary. Sept. 15, 1840.
 
3148.1028       Letter          From Schmucker to his son, Beale M. Schmucker,
                                       discussing German Hymnbook, turning down call for
                                       Beale, size of college enrollment, and tombstone for
                                       his wife's grave. Oct. 28, 1848.  Letter to S. S.
                                       Schmucker from the vestry chairman of the
                                       Evangelical Lutheran Church, Savannah, Georgia, requesting
                                       that Schmucker relay to "your son" the call from this
                                       congregation to serve as its pastor (Sept. 21, 1848)
                                       included by S.S.S. in letter to Beale.
 
3159.0414       Letter          From Schmucker to ? (no name given), in reply to a
                                       letter received, concerning the subject of the future
                                       destiny of man and the appropriate way of regarding
                                       difficult Scripture passages. April 14, 1859. 
                                       Photocopy: original in Adams County Historical Society.
 
3164.0809       Letter          From Schmucker to the Board of Directors of Gettysburg
                                       Seminary giving notice of his resignation, effective
                                       September 21, 1864, with reasons for his action. Aug. 9, 1864.
 
3165.0708       Letter          From Schmucker to Rev. J. I. Burrell advising him about
                                        working with divided congregation, especially
                                        matters of discipline. July 8, 1865.
 
3170.0714       Letter          From Schmucker to his son, Beale M. Schmucker,
                                        congratulating him on receiving D.D. Speaks of Beale's
                                        lack of interest in the college and defeat of efforts to
                                        compromise synodical difficulties. July 14, 1870.
 
3218.0508       Letter          To Schmucker from E. (Ebenezer) Porter (Professor of
                                        Sacred Rhetoric) at the Theological Seminary,
                                        Andover, giving details of curriculum and costs of
                                        attending the Seminary. Written on the reverse side
                                        of an Andover catalogue. May 8, 1818. 
                                        Also included: a carbon copy of a typed copy of letter,
                                        with identification of Porter.
 
3218.0726       Letter          To Schmucker from Archibald Alexander of Princeton Seminary
                                        answering inquiries about courses, requirements, and costs. 
                                        July 26, 1818.
 
3222.0807       Letter          To Schmucker from Moses Stuart commending his translation of
                                       Storr and Flatt (Elementary Course of Biblical Theology). 
                                       Aug. 7, 1822.
 
3226.1026       Letter          To Schmucker from Ernest Hazelius commending beginning of
                                        Seminary and discussing relations of New York Ministerium
                                        and General Synod, and news of Hartwick Seminary. 
                                        Oct. 26, 1826.
 
3227.0707       Letter          To Schmucker from Johann Jacob Haring, July 7, 1827, in
                                       German script (no translation).
 
3227.0914       Letter          To Schmucker from Henry Kurtz, Canton, Ohio, Sept. 14, 1827,
                                       in German script (no translation).
 
3228.0401       Letter          To Schmucker from Lewis Medtart, Frederick Town
                                       (i.e.Frederick, Maryland), April 1, 1828, concerning
                                       the proposed new edition of the hymn book.
 
3229.0224       Letter          To Schmucker from William Nast, Millersburg(?), Feb. 24, 1829,
                                       in German script (no translation).
 
3230.0522       Letter          To Schmucker from Heinrich Kurtz, May 22, 1830.
                                       Kurtz would like to sell part of his library and wonders if 
                                       Schmucker or any student might be interested in purchasing
                                       some of the books. In German, translation accompanies.
 
3231.0411       Letter          To Schmucker from Samuel How soliciting support for
                                       Dickinson College and discussing "Common School Education." 
                                       April 11, 1831.
 
3231.0615       Letter          To Schmucker, at Germantown, Pa., from Thaddeus Stevens,
                                       Gettysburg, June 15, 1831, concerning business that
                                       Stevens would do on Schmucker's behalf on an upcoming
                                       trip to Harrisburg. (The names of the other parties are unclear,
                                       except "Mr. Elder.")
 
3232.0926       Letter          To Schmucker from John Knox, indicating Rutgers College
                                       has conferred D.D. on Schmucker, and discussing promotion
                                       of learning and religion in Adams Co., Penna. Sept. 26, 1832.
 
3233.0226       Letter          To Schmucker from Rev. Daniel Scherer (in German) requesting
                                        preacher for immigrants to St. Louis and Illinois. Feb. 26, 1833.
 
3234.0521       Letter          To Schmucker from William Patton and (reverse) John Owen inviting
                                       closer cooperation between Presbyterian and Lutheran Education
                                       Societies, and pledging help for Lutheran students. May 21, 1834.
 
3236.0210       Letter          To Schmucker from 14 of his students asking for a lecture on
                                       Animal Magnetism. Feb. 10, 1836.
                               
3237.0213       Letter          Fragment of letter to Schmucker "New Windsor, January 23, 1837,
                                       Dr. S. S. Schmucker. Dear Sir" Another side: "Recommendation
                                       of vindication of Amer. Luth." May be Schmucker's writing.
 
3237.1110       Letter          To Schmucker from W. D. Strobel of New York (Strobel was a
                                       Lutheran pastor serving at various times in Maryland, New York
                                       and South Carolina), November 10, 1837. The letter was written
                                       about the Rev. Lutgen, former Roman Catholic priest who was
                                       excommunicated by Bishop Dubois. Strobel wished Schmucker to
                                       keep Lutgen at the Seminary for a season to analyze his worthiness
                                       and to see if he could be of some service to the Lutheran church.
 
3239.0000       Letter          To Schmucker from John Knox praising "Appeal to the Churches" and
                                        commenting on need for ecumenical efforts. No date (probably 1839).
 
3239.0222       Letter          To Schmucker from Charles Hodge criticizing Schmucker's "Appeal to
                                        the American Churches." Feb. 22, 1839.
 
3240.0113*      Letter          To Schmucker from Jacob Williamson, Rockingham, Jan. 13, 1840. 
                                        Mentions failure of J. Beale Steenbergen for $400,000. Fire on
                                        his estate on the Wabash in Indiana (Laporte) $40,000 more.
                                        Friends & relatives had endorsed for him for $650,000. Some
                                        were James M. H. Beale, D. Blackford, Ben Blackford, John Morgan,
                                        Charles Beale, R. Allen, Samuel Coffman, Col. A. Bierne and
                                        Erasmus Coffman. Above will delay payment of Catherine's legacy.
 
3240.0128*      Letter          To Schmucker from Dr. Thomas Blackford, Mt. Airy, Virginia,
                                        January 28, 1840. Says S.S.S. has been misinformed of true
                                        state of affairs of Mrs. Steenbergen. Beale's failure involved in
                                        ruin all his friends who endorsed for him in Bank of U.S. 
                                        He will be fortunate if he escapes prosecution. Elizabeth Beale
                                        Steenbergen was to have use of the entire estate including
                                        Negroes and some personal property.  Beale was to pay to
                                        Mary Catherine Schmucker and Caroline Blackford legacies.
                                        The "old man" (William Steenbergen) had debts which he thought less
                                        than some personal property, but this turned out untrue. Beale's failure
                                        has caused talk against him. Dr. Blackford thinks he has a severe ordeal
                                        to pass through. His angelic wife and devoted mother are objects of
                                        commiseration (Beale's, that is).
 
 
3240.0222*      Letter          To Schmucker from Jacob D. Williamson, Rockingham, New Market,
                                        Virginia, February 22, 1840. He replies to a letter from S.S.S. inquiring
                                        about the estate of Mt. Airy and the debts against it at the time of
                                        William Steenbergen's death. It speaks of the raising of money by
                                        John Beale Steenbergen and mentions a debt due to the Seminary.
 
3240.0410*      Letter          To Schmucker from Dr. Thomas Blackford, Luray, Virginia, April 10,
                                        1840. Regrets he cannot tell S.S.S. more about their interests in
                                        Mt. Airy estate. Yesterday took leave of Beale who started for
                                        the far west (Laporte?) avowing a determination to return to
                                        Virginia. Dr. T.B. does not expect to see Beale again--a man of
                                        generous impulses and liberality, not destitute of virtues, but
                                        with many faults, originating in a defective education and from bad
                                        associations. The parting from wife, mother and family truly distressing.
                                        Hurried Beale away lest the bank put him in jail. Beale has surrendered
                                        the property, now in the hands of S. A. Miller who cleared himself in
                                        court. Administrators had a sale at Mt. Airy. Mrs. Steenbergen bought
                                        the negroes at valuation. Parted with William to Col. Huston (see letter
                                        from Anthony to E.B.S. asking for help to purchase his sons and brother
                                        from Col. Huston's estate ‑ 3245.0114* at end of Letters). Quotes Beale
                                        saying he has turned over to trustees more than the amount of legacies
                                        to Caroline and Mary Catherine, but he will employ council to protect
                                        their interests. Mrs. S. (E.B.S.) would like to sell her dower rights
                                        so as to receive cash and get more for the estate if unencumbered
                                        by the dower rights. Dr. T.B. tells her to avail herself of all the rights
                                        and enjoy them to the end of her days. He will look over old
                                        Mr. Steenbergen's papers, as Beale was not communicative on
                                        the subject. He thinks Caperton wishes to force the sale of
                                        Mt. Airy that he may purchase it. Thinks Col. Beale (James M. H. Beale)
                                        will go west. According to Beale Family he did, settling in what is
                                        now Point Pleasant, West Va. He thinks U.S. Bank will not hold
                                        Steenbergen real estate. Wishes Mary Catherine could spend
                                        some time at Mt. Airy that summer before her mother goes west. 
                                        They want company to cheer them up.
 
3240.0612*      Letter          To Schmucker from Dr. Thomas Blackford, Mt. Airy, Virginia,
                                        June 12, 1840. Sends Thomas to him to keep him at school for
                                        a year. He has made so little progress. Would like him kept to
                                        the elementary branches of a good English education and prepare
                                        him for business. The writer's means cannot provide a classical
                                        education ‑ asks S.S.S. to direct his studies. Encloses 50 dollars
                                        for Thomas' needs for clothes, bedding, spending money.
 
3241.0118*      Letter          To Schmucker from J. Marshall, Jr., Winchester, Virginia,
                                        January 18, 1841, telling him a suit has been instituted by
                                        Hugh Caperton against the legatees of William Steenbergen,
                                        trying to force the sale of Mt. Airy to cover a debt of $15,000.
                                        Thinks Mrs. Steenbergen's dower rights would have to be sold
                                        with it, and to do this, Elizabeth Beale Steenbergen would have to
                                        sell it herself. The persons interested have great confidence in
                                        S.S.S. Will he come to Mt. Airy and look after his wife's interests,
                                        and come as soon as possible after the adjournment of the Virginia
                                        Legislature, as then Mr. Conrad will beat home.
 
3241.0225*      Letter          To Schmucker from A. S. Tidball, February 25, 1841. Saying
                                        Mr. Meem had come to an understanding with Mrs. Steenbergen
                                        (Elizabeth Beale) for her life estate if he could buy Beale's place and
                                        the Allen farm from the trustees. "We" agreed to take for the farms
                                        $50,000. Requests a letter to "New York care of J. P. Stagg ___ " informing
                                        him at what price the legatees will consent to a sale of Mt. Airy
                                        farm. (Letter falling apart.)
 
3241.0306*      Letter          To Schmucker from John G. Meem, New York, March 6, 1841. 
                                        He thinks the heirs are asking too high a price for Mt. Airy. He has
                                        made an offer to the trustees for the other two parts. Quotes
                                        Mrs. Blackford that decisions should be made pretty soon because of
                                        the necessity of making arrangements for cropping.
 
3241.0320       Letter          To Schmucker from Daniel Alexander Payne, introducing
                                        Payne's new "Male and Female Seminary" in Philadelphia. 
                                        March 20, 1841.
 
3241.0325*      Letter          To Schmucker from Caroline Blackford (sister of Mrs. S.S.S.
                                        and wife of Dr. Thomas Blackford), Mt. Airy, Virginia, March 25,
                                        (1841). She rebukes him for misdirecting his letters to Mt. Airy,
                                        sending them to Shenandoah County instead of Mt. Jackson. 
                                        Mentions the distrust of the family, of the advisability of an
                                        annuity for her mother (Elizabeth Beale Steenbergen) for her
                                        dower rights to Mt. Airy and of her having written to Mr. Meem
                                        about it. Mentions their afflictions with pious comments. Also
                                        speaks of her son, Thomas, complaining of being whipped
                                        very often by his teacher. She asks S.S.S. to look into the matter.
                                        Her sister Betsy is with her. Invites the Schmuckers to visit
                                        this spring.
 
3241.0526*      Letter          To Schmucker from A. S. Tidball, May 26, 1841. The day
                                        before an agreement had been reached with Mr. Meem to
                                        buy Mt. Airy for $23,000. Asks S.S.S. to sign it--and
                                        Mary Catherine also. Mr. Williams thinks the court will sanction
                                        the sale at the Sept. term. Will write Mr. Samuels to employ him
                                        for Mrs. Blackford. Note by S.S.S. He and Catherine had signed
                                        May 30, 1841.
 
3241.0528*      Letter          To Schmucker from G. B. Samuels, Woodstock, Virginia,
                                        May 28, 1841. He is not aware that any impediment exists to
                                        his attending the interests of the legatees in settling the charges
                                        upon Mr. Steenbergen's land. However, a conflict could occur if
                                        the legatees deny that Mr. Steenbergen the elder was a principal
                                        debtor to Col. Beirne (Bierne?) and J. J. Allen, since he was previously
                                        hired to represent those gentlemen.
 
3241.0605       Letter          To Schmucker from Romeo Elton expressing enthusiasm for
                                        "Fraternal Appeal." June 5, 1841.
 
3241.0608       Letter          To Schmucker from James Murdock praising Portraiture of
                                        Lutheranism, though disagreeing with his interpretation of
                                        Luther's view of Lord's Supper. June 8, 1841.
 
3241.0610*      Letter          To Schmucker from G. B. Samuels, Woodstock, Virginia,
                                        June 10, 1841. He has examined the question of conflict between
                                        his present clients and the legatees of Wm. Steenbergen. He will
                                        inform Mr. Tidball and, assuming there will be no objection, then
                                        take charge of the case.
 
3241.1103       Letter          To Schmucker from M (?) Brown introducing his nephew
                                        James Allen Brown who desires to enter the college. Nov. 3, 1841.
 
3241.1201*      Letter          To Schmucker from Jacob Williamson, Rockingham, New Market,
                                        Virginia, December 1, 1841. Talks of the case between Bank of
                                        U.S. and John B. Steenbergen's creditors being transferred and
                                        then delayed. He is sure Mrs. Schmucker's legacy is secure. 
                                        Various small suits amounting to over one million dollars thrown
                                        out of court. Bank of U.S. claim was $750,000. Beale living
                                        in style in Laporte.
 
3241.1209*      Letter          To Schmucker from A. S. Tidball, Winchester, Virginia,
                                        December 9, 1841. Says he is answering for Mr. Marshall. 
                                        Says the Bank of the U.S. in trying to recover its debt from J. B.
                                        Steenbergen sued the endorsees of his notes and filed a bill
                                        against the trustees to recover the property in Shenandoah. 
                                        He judges Mr. Caperton will accept the offer made him, in which
                                        case M. C. Schmucker's legacy will be secure.
 
3242.0127       Letter          To Schmucker from Reuben Weiser asking him to authorize a
                                        Lutheran Depository at Bedford for sale of books and catechisms.
                                        Jan. 27, 1842.
 
3242.0517*      Letter          To Schmucker from Dr. Thomas Blackford, Mt. Airy, Virginia,
                                        May 17, 1842. Tells of his hope of obtaining the legacies
                                        (Caroline Blackford's and M. C. Schmucker's). Speaks of Caperton
                                        claims ‑ a sum of money offered to Ruben Moore to buy land. 
                                        This was to prove the debt was a bond in the handwriting of
                                        John Beale Steenbergen with his father's name affixed in the same
                                        ink but with no witness. But Old William's name was in an
                                        entirely different color of ink. He may be unjust to Beale. 
                                        Mrs. Steenbergen preparing to leave. All will be anxious
                                        until she arrives at Laporte. Wishes S.S.S. would come to
                                        Mt. Airy so they could consult about their affairs. Fears S.S.S.
                                        is no judge of horseflesh because the handsome mare he bought
                                        for Mrs. Steenbergen is unsound.
 
3242.0621       Letter          To Schmucker from William Hallock requesting his opinion about
                                        the publishing of certain books and tracts. June 21, 1842.
 
3242.0629       Letter          To Schmucker from William Hallock, discussing Johann Arndt's
                                        True Christianity with a view toward publication. June 29, 1842.
 
3242.1112       Letter          To Schmucker from Guistiniani reporting on money he has
                                        raised for "the soul's salvation of the Germans and Italians." 
                                        Nov. 12, 1842.
 
3242.1205*      Letter          To Schmucker from Jacob Williamson, Rockingham,
                                        Virginia, December 5, 1842. Mentions that the Old Lady
                                        (Mrs. William Steenbergen) left $35 to be paid to Mary Catherine
                                        Schmucker. Mentions a claim on Mr. Meem for $4000, the interest
                                        to be sent to her at Laporte. The bond will go to Mrs. Schmucker
                                        and Mrs. Blackford at her death. Mentions disposal of her slave,
                                        Anthony. Talks negatively of Dr. Blackford's removal to Lynchburg. 
                                        U.S. Bank appealing Judge Scott's decision.
 
3243.0115*      Letter          To Schmucker from Jacob Williamson, New Market, Virginia,
                                        January 15, 1843. Mentions the safety of the debts of Mr. Meem to
                                        the "Old Lady" (Mrs. William Steenbergen) and the advisability of
                                        not pushing Mr. Meem about payment. He also wonders about the
                                        possibility of Mrs. Williamson's visiting Dr. Schmucker and his
                                        family the next summer.
 
3243.0204*      Letter          To Schmucker from Jacob Williamson, New Market, Virginia,
                                        February 4, 1843. Has received a letter from the "Old Lady"
                                        telling of the failure of Mr. Meem's security. The other members
                                        of the family had not mentioned it. Deals with E.B.S. interest in
                                        bonds and money due from her life interest in Mt. Airy.
 
3243.0313*      Letter          To Schmucker from Jacob Williamson, Rockingham, New Market,
                                        Virginia, March 13, 1843. Mr. Meem returned from Lynchburg and
                                        brought a letter from Dr. Blackford, in which B. acknowledged that
                                        he had heard rumors of Mr. Yory's credit and told these to Caroline. 
                                        She, in turn, told her mother. Gilbert Meem, who is in a position to
                                        know, says Yory has more property now than ever in his life, and that
                                        his fortune has increased through a recent marriage into wealth. 
                                        The letter expresses confidence in Mr. Meem and the future. 
                                        Dr. Blackford thinks John Beale Steenbergen will not remain long in
                                        Indiana and may locate himself in New York.
 
3244.0114*      Letter          To Schmucker from J. D. Williamson, New Market, Virginia,
                                        January 14, 1844. Tells of receiving letter from E.B.S. in which she
                                        says she is trying to collect $2000 from Mr. Meem for S.S.S.'s benefit. 
                                        He thinks this will be accomplished when Mr. Meem's payments
                                        become due. He expects that Catherine's legacy should be paid
                                        and also the Seminary debt. He expects the Court of Appeals to
                                        uphold Judge Scott's decision. Says the "Old Lady" intends to visit
                                        Gettysburg next summer. Mrs. B. Steenbergen has suffered recent
                                        loss including a mill burned with a great deal of grain in it
                                        and the crop of wheat ruined by rust.
 
3244.0120*      Letter          To Schmucker from S. Chitton, House of Representatives,
 
                                        Washington, January 20, 1844. Says it would give him great
                                        pleasure to attend to S.S.S.'s claim if terms can be agreed upon.
 
3244.0201*      Letter          To Schmucker from Samuel Chitton, House of Representatives,
                                       Washington, February 1, 1844. Mentions that his services in
                                       prosecuting a claim against Steenbergen cannot possibly exceed
                                       $20.
 
3245.0101*      Letter          To Schmucker from J. Beale Steenbergen, New York,
                                       January 1, 1845. Has decided to make New York City his home.
                                       Thinks he can succeed in the introduction of American provisions
                                       in England. Has written to Mary, his wife, to join him. 
                                       Ellen (daughter) has gone to school. He suggests the other girls
                                       stay with S.S.S.
 
3245.0114*      Letter          To Elizabeth Beale Steenbergen from Anthony Smith
                                      (her former slave), New York, January 14, 1845. (see 3240.0410*)
                                      Asking help to purchase two sons and his brother William from
                                      the estate of Col. Huston.
 
3245.0119*      Letter          To Schmucker from John Beale Steenbergen, New York, January 19,
                                      1845. Mentions that there is no cause for fear into scrutiny of his past.
                                      Hopes to prove that he is an honest man.
 
3246.0113       Letter          To Schmucker from Charles Martin reporting on the suspect
                                      liturgical practices and negative attitude toward the "allegiance"
                                      of Dr. Guistiniani. Jan. 13, 1846 (1847?).
 
3246.0216       Letter          To Schmucker from Henry Pohlman expressing gratitude that
                                     he can attend the Evangelical Alliance meeting in London and
                                     sending his delegate's certificate. Feb. 16, 1846.
 
3246.0629       Letters        To Schmucker from members of his family, written
                                      to him while he was in Europe. June 29 and 30, 1846.
 
3246.0630           (2)             
   
3248.0508       Letter          To Schmucker from William Sprague requesting a
                                      promised contribution to his work (Annals of the American Pulpit).
                                      May 8, 1848.
 
3248.1229       Letter          To Schmucker from H. Ziegler seeking advice about promoting
                                      the cause of missions. Dec. 29, 1848.
 
3249.0219       Letter          To Schmucker from Jacob Miller (in German) announcing a
                                      meeting of the hymnal committee. Feb. 19, 1849. Reverse side:
                                      notes relating to hymnbook and instruction for publisher.
 
3249.0514*      Letter          To Schmucker from R. E. Scott, Warrenton, Virginia,
                                      May 14, 1849. Has been too busy to look into the matter of
                                      the legacy of Mary Catherine. Must be away from home to
                                      Richmond for some time, but will examine the case upon his return.
 
3249.0911       Letter          To Schmucker from Philip Mayer stating he will not enter debate
                                      between Lutheran Observer and Evangelical Review and commenting
                                      on required subscription to symbolic books. Sept. 11, 1849.
 
3249.1202       Letter          To Schmucker from J. Selmser applauding Schmucker's articles
                                      and position on American Lutheranism. Dec. 2, 1849.
 
3249.1203       Letter          To Schmucker from Ernest Hazelius expressing his views
                                      contrary to Schmucker's on symbolic books, meaning of
                                      American Lutheranism. Dec. 3, 1849.
 
3249.1229       Letter          To Schmucker from D. S. Altman sending money to help needy
                                      students and urging him to stand high ground against his opponents.
                                      Dec. 29, 1849.
 
3250.0205       Letter          To Schmucker from Benjamin Kurtz commenting on Schmucker's
                                      newspaper debate with William Reynolds and opposing Charles Philip
                                      Krauth's election to Seminary faculty. Feb. 5, 1850.
 
3250.0228       Letter          To Schmucker from Charles Kugler expressing appreciation of
                                      his articles on American Lutheranism. Feb. 28, 1850.
 
3250.0318       Letter         To Schmucker from Henry Pohlman expressing his views
                                      on the position of the New York Ministerium regarding confessional
                                      subscription and doctrinal basis for General Synod. March 18, 1850.
 
3250.0330*      Letter          To Schmucker from R. E. Scott, Warrenton, Virginia, March 30, 1850. 
                                      Mentions the claim for Mary Catherine's legacy. He was ordered to take
                                      account of all the claims. Nothing can be done at present. He will keep
                                      in touch.
 
3250.0401       Letter          To Schmucker from William Hallock inviting his presence at
                                      meeting of American Temperance Society and reaction to
                                      enclosed document. April 1, 1850.
 
3252.0511       Letter          To Schmucker from John Hoffman from Carlisle reminding him
                                      of a Whitsunday preaching engagement.  May 11, 1852.
 
3252.0520       Letter          To Schmucker from Romeo Elton with letter from Mrs. Elton
                                      enclosed applauding Schmucker's efforts toward Christian union. 
                                      May 20, 1852.
 
3252.0912       Letter          To Schmucker from Dr. G. A. Fischer, Portsmouth, Ohio,
                                      Sept. 12, 1852, in German script (no translation).
 
3252.0928       Letter          To Schmucker from J. C. Brigham, Corresponding Secretary
                                      of the American Bible (Society?) asking his advice on the printing
                                      of a German Bible requested by the German population of
                                      New York City. He wonders if he should combine Luther's Bible
                                      and Von Meyer's Bible. Schmucker's notes for reply are on
                                      the paper.
 
3253.0211       Letter          To Schmucker from Edwards Park acknowledging receipt
                                       of pamphlet by Schmucker and hoping to acknowledge it in
                                       next number of Bibliotheca Sacra. Feb. 11, 1853.
 
3253.0215*      Letter          To Schmucker from Jacob Williamson, Rockingham, New Market,
                                       Virginia, February 15, 1853. Mentions discussing the legacy with
                                       Philip Williams, Esq., who informed him that there has been a
                                       partial decree for the distribution of the funds of John B.
                                       Steenbergen. But Col. Beale's claim is holding things up. He finds
                                       that the debt of the Theological Seminary at Gettysburg has not
                                       all been paid, that the amount still owed to the Seminary is
                                       $360. Asks S.S.S. & family to stay with them when the General Synod
                                       meets in Winchester.
 
3253.0301       Letter          To Schmucker from Benjamin Kurtz (no signature) discussing
                                       transfer of Lutheran Observer from Book Company to Maryland
                                       Synod and his status as editor. March 1, 1853.
 
3253.0612       Letter          To Schmucker from Heron Hoxar (in German) announcing
                                       intention to come to Seminary and praising his article
                                       "Elemental Contrast." June(?) 12, 1853.
 
3254.0311*      Letter          To Schmucker from Jacob Williamson, New Market, Virginia,
                                       March 11, 1854. Mentions some verbal agreements about the
                                       estate some years back involving Williams, Caperton, and Bierne
                                       as well as the Steenbergens.
 
3254.0318       Letter          To Schmucker from the Rev. Naschold, Chambersburg, Pa.,
                                       March 18, 1854, in German script (no translation).
 
3254.0811       Letter          To Schmucker from W. McLain, Colonization Rooms,
                                       Washington City, requesting 10 dollar contribution towards
                                        returning 63 slaves to Liberia.
 
3255.0409       Letter          To Schmucker from Ferdinand Knodel, Secretary, Lutheran Church,
                                        Evansville, Indiana, requesting a pastor. Schmucker's notes for reply
                                        are on the letter. April 9, 1855. In German ‑ translation accompanies.
 
3255.1104*      Letter          To Schmucker from Jacob Williamson, Hardscrabble,
                                        November 4, 1855. Mentions the amount due from the Steenbergen
                                        Trust Fund is being sent and desires a receipt by return letter. Glad
                                        to hear of an expected spring visit.
 
3256.0923*      Letter          To Schmucker from Jacob Williamson, Hardscrabble,
                                        September 23, 1856. Mentions his disappointment over failure
                                        of S.S.S. to make the promised visit in May. Talks about the drought. 
                                        Potatoes $1 a bushel, size of hickory nuts. His wife in her 81st year
                                        and feeble. John Meem saw John B. Steenbergen in New York.
                                        He contemplates (J.B.S.) taking his family to England.
 
3256.1016       Letter          To Schmucker from John Haven requesting an opinion on works of
                                       John Howe and others for publication. Oct. 16, 1856.
 
3257.0805       Letter          To Schmucker from Rev. Kuntze (in German) requesting a paper on
                                       religious conditions in the U.S.A. for the Evangelische Bund and
                                       inviting him to visit Germany. Aug. 5, 1857.
 
3258.0408       Letter          To Schmucker from O. Eastman related to business of American
                                       Tract Society and commenting on tension between North and South. 
                                       April 18, 1858.
 
3258.0907       Letter          To Schmucker from C. F. Schlienz notifying him of the coming of
                                        two students from Switzerland to the Seminary. Sept. 7, 1858.
 
3259.0328       Letter          To Schmucker from G. H. Brandau of Baltimore, Maryland,
                                        sending him the sum of $65.00 approved by the Seminary brothers
                                        from the Maryland Synod. In German ‑ translation accompanies. 
                                        March 28, 1859.
 
3259.0429       Letter          To Schmucker from George Peters regarding the views and
                                        excommunication of two pastors.  April 29, 1859.
 
3259.0711       Letter          To Schmucker from his nephew J. G. Eisenhart of York suggesting
                                        that he consider educating John Patten, an orphan, for the Christian
                                        ministry. July 11, 1859.
 
3260.1001       Letter           To Schmucker from representatives of West Penna. Synod
                                        requesting publication of a sermon he had preached recently. 
                                        Oct.1, 1860.
 
3261.0122       Letter           To Schmucker from Absalom Peters acknowledging receipt of
                                        a sermon of Schmucker's, discussing its publication and his own
                                        writing and relationships with New School Presbyterians. 
                                        Jan. 22, 1861.
 
3261.0226       Letter           To Schmucker from Philip Schaff regarding a correction concerning
                                        Schmucker in Schaff's book, America.   Feb. 26, 1861.
 
3261.0708       Letter           To Schmucker from August Wedekind requesting copy of
                                        synods' debts to Seminary. July 8, 1861.
 
3262.0412       Letter            To Schmucker from Francis Wayland agreeing with Schmucker
                                         and stating his own views on developments in the church. 
                                         April 12, 1862
 
3262.0419       Letter             To Schmucker from Charles Hodge inviting him to be present
                                         for the Semi Centenary anniversary of Princeton Seminary. 
                                         April 19, 1862.
 
3263.0818       Letter              To Schmucker from Quarter Master General's Office explaining
                                          process in vacating and repairing Seminary building used as
                                          Civil War hospital. August 18, 1863.
 
3264.0523       Letter              To Schmucker from M. Sheeleigh requesting recommendation
                                          of young, unmarried man to succeed him in his parish and urging
                                          Schmucker to withhold his resignation until assured of a
                                          liberal successor. May 23, 1864.
 
3265.0503       Letter              To Schmucker from Henry Boynton Smith thanking him
                                          for translation of Luthardt, requesting more such work, asking
                                          for notes on Smith's errors in translation of Hagenback. 
                                          May 3, 1865.
 
3265.1121       Letter              To Schmucker from J. Cottrell Clarke asking for information about
                                          accuracy of text of a translation of Luther's Commentary on Galatians.
                                          Draft of Schmucker's reply on reverse. Nov. 21, 1865.
 
3266.1001       Letter              To Schmucker from J. H. C. Schierenbeck asking his opinion on
                                          material he encloses for projected publication designed to secure
                                          victory over Schmucker's theological opponents. Oct. 1, 1866.
 
3267.0322a      Letter             To Schmucker from Howard Malcom asking for assistance in
                                          preparing a bibliography. March 22, 1867.
 
3267.0322b      Letter             To Schmucker from Henry Boynton Smith repeating request for
                                          notes on Smith's errors in translating Hagenback. March 22, 1867.
 
3268.0304       Letter              To Schmucker from Henry N. Pohlman indicating he has referred
                                           his request to Dr. Lintner and urging that proposed new liturgy
                                           not be introduced to General Synod at this time because of
                                           distracted state of the church.   March 4, 1868.
 
3269.0330       Letter              To Schmucker from Daniel Alexander Payne requesting admission
                                         policies and other administrative practices at Penn.
                                         (Gettysburg) College. March 30, 1869.
 
3269.0707       Letter              To Schmucker from John Gilbert asking for information about
                                         Luther's language and material from Storr to meet arguments of
                                         Campbellites. July 7, 1869.
 
3270.1226       Letter              To Schmucker from W. G. Olinger asking if he would accept
                                          a professorship, say that of moral philosophy at Nebraska State
                                          Univ. Schmucker's reply declining is penned at bottom. 
                                          Dec. 26, 1870.
 
N.D.*              Letter              To Schmucker from Allen (J. J.?). Mentions his indebtedness
                                          to Wm. Steenbergen, his father‑in‑law. Itemized. 
                                          (Copy, written by S.S.S.)
 
3344.1633       Sermon           "The Mode of Baptism," sermon and two outlines based on
                                           Acts 16:33. No date.
 
3410.1001       Lecture            "Biblical Geography No. I & No. II," 58 page manuscript. 1826.
 
3410.2001       Lecture             Questions for theological subjects: Biblical Archeology,
                                            Theology or Doctrine, Moral Theology (in German). No date.
 
3410.3001       Lecture             "Compend of Biblical History, prepared for the students of
                                            the Theological Seminary, Gettysburg, 1826" and "
                                            Biblical History" questions from Flood to Solomon.
 
3410.3002       Lecture              Questions and answers on Biblical chronology. No date.
 
3410.4001       Lecture              "Memoranda of Lectures on Matthew's Gospel. Lecture No. III. 
                                            Chap. II.II‑‑III." No date.
 
3410.5001       Lecture              "Questions on Biblical Theology of Storr and Flatt and
                                             then Horne." No date.
 
3410.5002       Lecture              "Lectures on Christian Theology ... The Scriptures" dated
                                             from Aug. 16, 1833 ‑ June 15, 1860.
 
3420.1001       Lecture              "Sketch of Lectures on Encyclopedia and Methodology,
                                             being left unfinished." Also inserts: "Questions on Theological
                                             Encyclopedia" and "Lectures on Theology as a Science"
                                            (questions). No date.
 
3420.2001       Lecture              "Course of Instruction in Didactic Theology." 1842,
                                             about 120 pages.
 
3420.2002       Lecture              "Is natural Depravity seated primarily in the body." 
                                             Feb. 11, 1858.
 
3420.2003       Lecture              "Questions on the Romish controversy." No date.
 
3420.2004       Lecture              "Questions on Theology." No date.
 
3420.2005       Lecture              "Lectures on Selected Topics of Theology," covering:
                                            Atonement, Justification, Dogmatic History of Baptism,
                                            Dogmengeschichte of the Lord's Supper, Final Perseverance,
                                            Slavery, Infant Baptism, Symbolic books of Evangelical
                                            Lutheran Church.
 
3420.2006       Lecture              "Skeleton of Theological Lecture ... On the Locus de Deo."
                                            Dates from 1834‑1857.
 
3420.2007       Lecture              "Lecture on the Dogmatic History of the Article, De Deo." 
                                             1860.
 
3420.2008       Lecture              "Dogmatic History of the Trinity" and "Lectures on Dogmatic
                                             History Articles Providence, Theodicee, and Predestination." 
                                             No date.
 
3420.2009       Lecture              "Lecture on the Doctrine of Creation." 1842.
 
3420.2010       Lecture              "Lecture on the Locus De Angelis, in connexion [sic]
                                             with Storr." 1858, 1860.
 
3420.2011       Lecture              "Notes of a Lecture No. 1 in connection with Chapter IX
                                             of Popular Theology, ‑‑ On the Origin of the human family." 
                                             1858‑63.
 
3420.2012       Lecture              "Questions on Theology." No date.
 
3420.2013       Lecture              "Theology, strictly so called." No date. 70 p.
 
3420.3001       Lecture              Sketchy notes relating to the Lord's Supper. No date.
  
3420.3002       Lecture              "Addenda, to the article on the Eucharist in my
                                           American Lutheran Church." No date.
 
3420.4001       Lecture              "Questions on the Different Forms of Modern Infidelity. 
                                          See Buchanan's Atheism." No date.
 
3420.4002       Lecture              Notes on "Philosophy of Religion" and list of topics for
                                           system of theology. No date.
 
3420.5001       Lecture              "Lecture on the eminent Man of God, Dr. Martin Luther." 
                                           No date.
 
3420.5002       Lecture              A study of Luther; a study of German church history
                                           prior to Luther; and a single inserted page, "Part
                                           Second. The Doctrines of the Lutheran Church." No date.
 
3430.0001       Lecture              Lecture notes on Intellectual or Mental Philosophy. 
                                           Inserts of questions, scattered notes, and newspaper
                                           clippings on same subject. No date.
 
3430.0002       Lecture              "(Introductory) Lecture, To be delivered to the Junior
                                            Class, before they begin the review of Mental Philosophy." 
                                            1844‑1856.
 
3430.0003       Lecture              "Lecture on the various phenomena of religious experience,
                                             with a particular reference to the narratives of their experience
                                             given by the students." 1828‑1862
 
3440.0001       Lecture              "Lectures on Homiletics delivered in the Theological Seminary
                                             at Gettysburg, by S. S. Schmucker, 1834."
                                              *Includes one on slavery
 
3440.0002       Lecture              Newspaper clippings found in "Lectures on Homiletics." 
                                             15 clippings.
 
3440.0003       Lecture              Some notes on "Introduction" to homiletics.
 
3440.0004       Lecture              Scattered notes on homiletics on 15 pages.
 
3440.0005       Lecture              Notes on Homiletics on reverse side of letter from
                                            A. S. Morrow relating to Schmucker as Executor of J. G.
                                            Schmucker, D.D. Letter dated April 7, 1864.
 
3440.0006       Lecture              Notes on homiletics on reverse side of letter from
                                            William Hallock inviting him to serve as Director on
                                            the anniversary of the American Tract Society. 
                                            April 2, 1853.
 
3440.0007       Lecture              "Texts assigned to the Seniors for Skeletons." 
                                             No date.
 
3440.0008       Lecture              "Questions on the Lectures on Homiletics." 
                                             No date.
 
3440.0009       Lecture              "Exegetical Exercises of 15 ‑ 20 minutes, Speeches
                                              from 6 ‑ 10 minutes, Debates 10 minutes." 
                                              Dates from 1843‑1863.
 
3440.0010       Lecture              “Lectures on Homiletics” – Handwritten – bound book. 
                                              No date. Signature in book was John W. Kregelo, 
                                              1827 – 1854, who was a student at the Seminary
                                              1852–1853. George Benner of Taneytwon used it
                                              for a day book beginning 1857.
 
3450.0001       Lecture              "Notes of Lectures on Pastoral Theology. 1842." 1
                                              Inserts: Schmucker's printed pamphlet,
                                              "The Christian Pulpit, The Rightful Guardian of Morals,
                                              in Political No less than Private Life," Notes on Revivals,
                                              on New Measures, newspaper clipping publishing
                                               "By‑Laws & Constitutions for Congregations and
                                              Council  Associations."
 
3450.0002       Lecture               "Pastoral Theology" (in German). No date.
 
3460.0001       Lecture               "Notes of Lectures on Practical Theology" (moral theology).
                                             1831.
 
3470.0001       Lecture               On Church Government delivered to the Middler Class
                                              in Theological Seminary in connection with the study of
                                              the Formula of Government and Discipline of General Synod.
                                              Nov. 1840‑1841. 11 pages handwritten--probably S.S.S.'s
                                              hand. With 2 separate pages:
                                           1. Bishop Onderdonk's Arguments for Diocesan Episcopacy,
                                                   Syllogistically arranged.
                                           2. Printed tract of Schmucker dated 1835, Philadelphia,
                                                    with notes on Church Government on back.
 
3599.0218+      Document           "Geburt und Taut‑Schein." Certificate of birth and
                                               baptism , showing birth Jan. 28, 1799 and
                                               baptism March 7, 1799. Oversize (+)
 
3518.0812       Document              Letter of recommendation of Schmucker from
                                               York County Academy after his teaching there.
                                               August 12, 1818.
 
3519.0729+      Document            Certificate of Baccalaureate Degree from the
                                               University of Pennsylvania. July 29, 1819. 
                                               Oversize (+)
 
3520.0313       Document        Certificate that Schmucker was a student at Princeton Seminary and at own request is dismissed in
  good standing. March 13, 1820.
 
3520.0531+      Document       License as "Candidaten" (printed in German). May 31, 1820. Oversize.
 
3521.0212       Document        Document of the Court of Shenandoah County, Virginia, authorizing Schmucker to perform marriages
   in that state. Feb. 12, 1821.
 
3521.0905+      Document      Ordination Certificate, Evangelical Lutheran Ministerium of the States of Maryland and Virginia. 
  Sept. 5, 1821. Oversize
 
3525.1107+      Document      Document carrying the certification and letter of introduction of Benjamin Kurtz as an agent of the
  General Synod to solicit support in Europe for the projected Seminary. Endorsed by Schmucker. 
  Nov. 7, 1825. Oversize.
 
3526.0905       Document        Two copies of the printed program for Schmucker's inauguration as professor of "Christian Theology"
                                                   at the Seminary. Sept. 5, 1826.
 
3546.0000a      Document        "Map of My Route through England and Scotland in 1846."
 
3546.0000b      Document        Small map depicting Schmucker's journey through Europe in 1846.
 
3546.0314       Document         Passport issued to Schmucker by Department of State of the U.S. Government. March 14, 1846.
 
3610.1001       Luth. Church    Formal endorsement of Schmucker's efforts to raise funds for Seminary by Presbyterians of
                                                   Philadelphia. April 11, 1829.
 
3610.1002       Luth. Church    Testimonial letter from Princeton Seminary supporting Schmucker's efforts to raise funds for Seminary.
   April 28, 1829.
 
3610.1003       Luth. Church    Testimonials regarding Schmucker's efforts to raise funds for Seminary from several persons at
                                                    Princeton Seminary and New York City. On reverse side brief notes of Schmucker relating to a
                                                    presentation on revivals. April 28 and 29, 1829.
 
3610.1004       Luth. Church    Testimonial note from John Knox supporting Schmucker's efforts to raise funds for Seminary, with
                                                    several concurring signatures. April 29, 1829.
 
3610.1005       Luth. Church    Printed testimonials for Schmucker's efforts to raise funds for Gettysburg Seminary. April 28, 29, 1829. 
                                                    Reverse side sermon notes on III John 4. No date.
 
3610.1006       Luth. Church    General letter endorsing fund‑raising efforts of Rev. Geortner of Virginia for Seminary, by several
                                                    signers in Boston. August 18, 1835.
 
3610.1007       Luth. Church    Letter to assembly at Old South Church, Boston, from Moses Stuart supporting Schmucker's
    fund ‑ raising efforts for Seminary. June 29, 1836.
 
3610.1008       Luth. Church    Printed letters of endorsement of Schmucker's efforts to raise funds for Seminary. 1835, 1836.
 
3610.1009       Luth. Church    Letter to Schmucker from D. W. M'Conaughy responding with endorsement to request for assistance in
                                                   promoting campaign on behalf of Seminary. Nov. 27, 1835.
 
3610.2001       Luth. Church    Extract from will of Geo. G. Woelpper bequeathing a sum of money to be used to aid ministerial
                                                   students. Reverse side: notes of Schmucker taken on visit to Dr. Quitman in 1826.
 
3610.2002       Luth. Church    Scraps of notes on call and conversion, items to be taken care of including some student discipline
   matters, class procedure used at Seminary. No dates.
 
3610.2003       Luth. Church    Fragments, 2 pieces: 1) concerning a legacy given to the Seminary by Mr. Sell of Indiana, some
                                                    recommendations of investment of Seminary funds in U.S. bonds, and mention of a report on the
                                                    condition of the Seminary to the General Synod; 2) begins with the end of an account sheet, continues
                                                    with material concerning S.S.S.'s resignation from the Chair of Didactic Theology and a copy of a public
                                                    announcement of the same, signed by F. W. Conrad, President of the Board of Directors of the
                                                    Seminary.   Photocopies.
 
3620.0001       Luth. Church    Autograph original of Formula for Government and Discipline of the Evangelical Lutheran Churches
                                                    adopted by the General Synod.
 
3620.0002       Luth. Church    Extracts from Schmucker's lectures on the history of the General Synod delivered at the Seminary.
 
3620.0003       Luth. Church    Notes of student George Parson on lectures by Schmucker at Seminary. Includes: Biblical History,
                                                    Systematic Theology, Church Government (which contains account by Schmucker of founding and
                                                    saving of General Synod), Biblical Archeology, Apologetic Theology.
 
3620.0004       Luth. Church    Letter to Schmucker and other members of the Centenary Committee from Benjamin Kurtz urging
                                                    regular payments to the Book Establishment, especially for printing the Hirtenstimme.
 
3620.0005       Luth. Church    Report of the Committee on doctrines and usages of the Lutheran Church in the U.S. to the General
                                                   Synod. Schmucker member of committee.
 
3620.0006       Luth. Church    Definite Synodical Platform, 1855. 7 copies, one containing Schmucker's handwritten order for
    marriage on last three pages.
 
3620.0007       Luth. Church    "Explanatory Declaration of the General Synod ... on the import of her doctrinal basis" by Schmucker.
     May, 1857.
 
3620.0008       Luth. Church    Several drafts of resolutions pertaining to a clarifying statement of doctrinal basis and belief of General
                                                    Synod, especially relating to Augsburg Confession. No date.
 
3620.0009       Luth. Church    "Misrepresentation of the Professor of the Seminary at Gettysburg" by Schmucker (a letter to an
     editor). No date.
 
3620.0010       Luth. Church    Resolutions written by Schmucker at York in 1823, when he, Dr. George Schmucker, and Rev. John
                                                   Herbst held consultation together there. Sec. Minutes of the Special Conference held at York,
   October 6th and 7th, 1823.
 
3620.0011       Luth. Church    Proceedings of a special conference held at Greencastle, the 7th, 8th and 9th November 1824, John G.
                                                   Schmucker, presiding, John Herbst, secretary. Handwritten translation, from the original German by D.
   H. (David Henlein) Focht.  (This meeting was preliminary to the organization of the Synod of West
   Pennsylvania.)
 
3620.0012       Luth. Church    Circular letter addressed to the United Church of Prussia, prepared in advance of Schmucker's trip to
    Germany in 1846. Signed by S.S. Schmucker, B. Kurtz, H.N. Pohlman, J.G. Morris, and H.I. Schmidt,
    Gettysburg, Nov. 10, 1845. Handwritten note on one copy identifies it as "The much denounced
    circular" from the General Synod to the Lutheran and United Churches of Europe. 
    Printed, German, 4 p. (2 copies)
 
3630.0001       Luth. Church    "Contracting about General Synod Hymnbook, First Edition‑‑1827." Letter to printer. Nov. 24, 1827.
 
3630.0002       Luth. Church    "Hymn Book." A notebook with a plan for a hymn book written in it, probably the plan for the first
                                                     hymn book of the General Synod, reflecting the work of Schmucker and the Hymnbook Committee.
 
3630.0003       Luth. Church    Two letters from publisher D. L. Billmeyer to Schmucker regarding the price and quality of publication
                                                    of General Synod Hymnbook. 1828.
 
3630.0004       Luth. Church    Letter to Schmucker from L. Johnson regarding making of proofs and plates for hymnbook. 1828.
 
3630.0005       Luth. Church    Copyright by "Eastern District of Pennsylvania" in name of Schmucker for: "Hymns, selected and
    original, for public and private worship." Published by General Synod. 1828.
 
3630.0006       Luth. Church    "Memorandum of an Agreement" between Hymnbook Committee and Lutheran Book Company for
                                                     publication and sale of General Synod hymnbooks and catechism.
 
3630.0007       Luth. Church    Letter to Schmucker from Lucas & Deaver requesting payment of money due on printing of
    hymnbooks. 1841.
 
3630.0008       Luth. Church    Letter to Schmucker from J. N. Hoffman urging addition of 200 hymns to General Synod hymnbook and
    other changes. 1844.
 
3630.0009       Luth. Church    Eight articles of agreement relating to establishment of book depositories by Hymnbook Committee.
 
3630.0010       Luth. Church    Proposed Liturgy of the Evangelical Lutheran General Synod.  Printed document. Reported by
                                                    Sub‑Committee of General Liturgic Committee of General Synod. 1864.
 
3630.0011       Luth. Church    Letter to Schmucker from Henry I. Schmidt stating his views as chairman of the Committee on the
                                                   liturgy regarding translation of German liturgy for General Synod congregations. 1865.
 
3630.0012       Luth. Church    Hymn (in German) which may be Schmucker's own composition. Uses first lines of familiar German
                                                    hymns through the hymn. No date.
 
3640.0001       Luth. Church    "Formula for the Government and Discipline of the Evangelical Lutheran Churches in Maryland and
                                                    Virginia, the original handwritten manuscript of the same." No date.
 
3640.0002       Luth. Church    "Constitution" for a confederation of denominations with an outline of same. "Milk and Water Plan."
     No date.
 
3640.0003       Luth. Church    "Resolutions for the Missionary Convention, to be held at Baltimore," calling for plan to raise money
                                                    for mission work (home missions) and for various agencies. No date.
 
3640.0004       Luth. Church    "Circular of the Executive Committee of the Education Society of the Synod of West Penna." No date.
 
3640.0005       Luth. Church    Fragment of page outlining discussion of Parents Education Society. Notes "On Parent Education
                                                   Society and conflict about it." The latter reflects Schmucker's views on theological education. On
   reverse of one page a letter to the faculty of Seminary from 14 students requesting a Christmas‑New
   Year holiday.
 
3710.0001       Misc.                Annotated bibliography covering 16th, 17th, and 18th centuries, and also "analysis of dissertation,"
  possibly plan for future publication.
 
3710.0002       Misc.                Bibliography of books on Theology and Biblical Criticism with lengthy appendix of one book.
 
3710.0003       Misc.                Bibliography (probably not Schmucker's writing).
 
3710.0004       Misc.              "Analysis of works" of William Magee, John Leland, John Dick, and Joseph Butler.
 
3720.0001       Misc.              Lecture notes taken by Schmucker on Samuel Mills' lectures at Princeton on Church Government. 1820.
 
3720.0002       Misc.              Lecture notes taken by Schmucker on A. Alexander's lectures on Polemics at Princeton. 1820.
 
3720.0003       Misc.              Lecture notes taken by Schmucker, "Compend of Church Government by Dr. Miller of Princeton." No date.
 
3730.0001       Misc.              "Prospectus for Publishing a Work on Christian Doctrine, entitled: Elements of Popular Divinity, on the
 basis of the Augsburg Confession, by S. S. Schmucker, D.D."
 
3730.0002       Misc.             "Register of Names supplied with the Appeal to the American Churches. Dec. 1838." (Approving
                                                Schmucker's plan of Christian union.)
 
3730.0003       Misc.             Five newspaper clippings concerning Schmucker's book, American Lutheranism Vindicated. 1856.
 
3730.0004       Misc.             Account book showing income and expenditure in regard to first and second editions of Schmucker's,
                                                Discourse on the Reformation. 1838‑40.
 
3730.0005       Misc.           "Prospectus by Salmon S. Miles, For Republishing that Popular and Valuable Work, titled: POPULAR

                                  THEOLOGY ... by S. S. Schmucker, D.D." Fifth edition.
 
3730.0006       Misc.           "Prospectus of the American Lutheran Church, Historically, Doctrinally, and Practically Delineated ... by S. S. Schmucker, D.D."
 
3740.0001       Misc.           Witnesses of the Unity of the Saviour's Body. Pamphlet containing letters and reviews expressing approval
                                              of Schmucker's, Appeal to the Churches. Containing also Schmucker's, "Proposals by the Author," urging
                                              more support for his unity proposals. 1839.
 
3740.0002       Misc.           "Overture for Christian Union submitted for the consideration of the Evangelical Denominations, in the

                                  United States." Printed circular letter from Committee on Christian Union of General Synod, including 

                                  Schmucker. Also contains copy of, "The United Apostolic Protestant Confession." No date.
 
3740.0003       Misc.           "Fraternal Appeal to the Friends of the Evangelical Alliance and of Christian Union Generally." Printed

                                  letter circulated to win support for the Evangelical Alliance. No date.  (Between 1870 and 1873.)
 
3740.0004       Misc.           Unsigned note to Schmucker. A. R. Wentz suggests that note was given to him at Evangelical Alliance
                                             meeting in London, 1846, and that initials of writer are those of Edward Steane, British Baptist.
 
3750.0001       Misc.           "Memorial of Professor S. S. Schmucker Relative to binding out Minor Colored Children. Read in the House
                                              of Representatives, March 7, 1839" by Schmucker. Also contains, "An act concerning the Minor Colored
                                              population of this commonwealth." March 2, 1839.
 
3750.0002       Misc.           Second copy of 3750.0001 (above).
 
3750.0003       Misc.           "Of Slavery." A set of 15 "Propositions on the subject of Slavery." 1840.
 
3750.0004       Misc.           Newspaper clipping from the Clarion of Freedom, Indiana, Penna., 1847, with lead article devoted to slavery.
 
3760.0001       Misc.           Miscellaneous pictures, including Schmucker. (Includes copperplate of engraving of early photo).   
 
3760.0002       Misc.           Newspaper clipping (in German) with reference to the aged S. S. Schmucker.
 
3760.0003       Misc.          Two newspaper clippings concerning Schmucker's resignation from his professorship at the Seminary. 1864.
 
3760.0004       Misc.          Book of clippings on S.S.S. assembled by J. G. Morris, Jan. 20, 1890.
 
3760.0005       Misc.          Newspaper clipping. A review of S.S.S.'s Psychology, or a New System of Mental Philosophy (2nd ed.).

                                            From the New York Observer (or reprinted from it).  Reviewer: Rev. Dr. Aydcott, President, Woodward 

                                 College, Cincinatti, Ohio, July 14, 1843.
 
3770.0001       Misc.          List of Lutheran families in Georgetown, D.C., made for Schmucker by John Stull. 1823.
 
3770.0002       Misc.          List of lecture (?) titles written on paper by Schmucker.
 
3770.0003       Misc.          Flyleaf inscribed by S.S.S., from a book given to his daughter, Caroline Elizabeth.
 
3770.0004       Misc.          Taped interview with Miss Elizabeth M. Woods, Gettysburg, great‑granddaughter of S.S.S. June 21, 1979. 
Interviewer: Elaine Matthews, Archives, A. R. Wentz Library. Cassette tape and typed manuscript of
interview.
 
3770.0005       Misc.           Slides of a page in S.S.S.'s Bible, in which a rebel soldier wrote, along with S.S.S.'s notation. Bible is in vault 

                                  with Schmucker library. (2 slides.)
 
3770.0006       Misc.           Note by Schmucker, Oct. 10, 1863, acknowledging money received from Rev. P. Rizer (?), Wolfgang's 

                                  Church, for repairing Seminary buildings damaged in the battle at Gettysburg.
 
3770.0007       Misc.           Envelope addressed to Rev. S. Schmucker, postmarked Feb. 18 (illegible) Middletown. Note written on 

                                  outside begins "A classical school for 5 yrs" ‑ partly legible.
 
3770.0008       Misc.           Printed flyer. Side 1 describes the Gettysburg Gymnasium; issued on behalf of the Trustees by S. S.

                                             Schmucker.  Side 2 names the teachers (Rev. David Jacobs and Mr. M. Jacobs) and details the course of studies. No date.
 
3780.0001       Misc.           Envelope titled, "Diplomas and Certificates of Licensure and Ordination and Doctorate in Divinity," written in Schmucker's hand.
 
3780.0002       Misc.           Envelope, "Constitution and Minutes of Am. Prot. Union (Society) with interesting let(ters)." Handwriting may be Schmucker's.
 
3780.0003       Misc.           Correspondence related to Schmucker collection. Letters indicating gifts of Schmucker material and letters of inquiry.
 
3780.0004       Misc.           Frederick K. Wentz correspondence file. Generated from 1988 to 1990 in preparing "An Inventory of 

                                  Materials Related to Research in Samuel Simon Schmucker" (April 1990).
                                                                3 parts:   1. Correspondence with repositories;
                                                                                2. Correspondence with Schmucker's descendants;
                                                                                3. General correspondence and notes. (Plus later additions.)
 
3780.0005       Misc.           Frederick K. Wentz file of copied letters and manuscripts, assembled during research for the Samuel Simon 

                                  Schmucker Inventory (1988‑1990).
 
3780.0006       Misc.           Photocopies of bookcovers. Books that belonged to S. S. Schmucker, presently located in the Henry H. 

                                  Fowler Collection and Roanoke College Archives, Salem, Virginia. 57 books. From F. K. Wentz.
 
3780.0007       Misc.           Papers related to the S. S. Schmucker research project:
                                                                 End of Year Report, December 20, 1988, on the Samuel Simon Schmucker Research Project, by
                                                Frederick K. Wentz;
"A Preliminary Inventory of Materials Related to Research on Samuel Simon Schmucker," February 1990, by Frederick K. Wentz, (note to Donald Matthews attached);
Letter from Charles H. Glatfelter to Messers Hedrick, Matthews, and Stuempfle, concerning the S. S. Schmucker initiative, October 2, 1990.
                                  
3780.0007a      Misc.          "Samuel Simon Schmucker Research Project Final Report" April 1990, by Frederick K. Wentz.
 
3780.0008       Misc.           Letter from Paul Henkel to his son, David, Jan. 20, 1820(?). In German. No translation. References to 

                                  Georg Schmucker and his son (S.S.S.?) and to the General Synod. Photocopy of typed copy of letter. 4 l. From F. K. Wentz.
 
3790.0001       Scrapbook     Scrapbook containing cuttings taken from a bundle of old church papers found among the relics of
S.S.S. given to the Lutheran Historical Society. Clippings presumably were inserted in the book by John G.
Morris. Includes A Safe and Practicable Plan for an Advisory Union among All Evangelical Denominations
(Caption title: "Fraternal Appeal to the Friends of the Evangelical Alliance and of Christian Union
Generally.")
 
3790.0002+      Scrapbook    Personal scrapbook of S.S.S. Oversize.
 
Most of the "Oversize" items are kept with the Vault Oversize Documents, located in the box on the shelf in the Vault.
 
Note: S. S. Schmucker's handwritten reports to the Board of Directors of Gettysburg Seminary are with similar reports of this type in the Seminary Archives.
 
                See:    Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
                            Lutheran Theological Seminary
                            Report to the Board of Directors
 
Note 2: Important information was written on the outside of the envelopes
originally used to store the S.S.S. papers. When the papers were transferred to
acid‑free envelopes, this information was photocopied onto acid‑free paper and
placed inside of the new envelopes, with the papers.

 

 *******
Preliminary inventory of photocopied letters an manuscripts collected by Frederick K. Wentz during research for the Samuel Simon Schmucker Inventory in 3780.0005. 
Numbering corresponds to Wentz’s Inventory in “Samuel Simon Schmucker Research Project: Final Report” April 1990.
 
Non – Local Repositories: locations of originals
 
1.        Lutheran Archives Center at Philadelphia (Krauth Library)
 
a.1.1                        Letter from S. S. S. to (unnamed), Feb. 17, 1823, from Newmarket,
                                                Shess. Co. __.
     .2                        Letter, sender and address see unnamed. March 11, 1831 (?), from Carlisle.
     .3                        Letter from S. S. S. to Krauth, Baugher, Jacobs, and Reynolds, March 10,
                                                 1840? (1846?), from Gettysburg.
     .4                        Letter from S. S. S. to (unnamed), Feb. 15, 1848. Co – signed by Krauth
                                                 or else written to Krauth.
     .5                        Letter from S. S. S. to Krauth, April 12, 1848.
     .6                        Letter from S. S. S. to Krauth, Dec. 15, 1848, from Gettysburg.
     .7                        Letter from S. S. S. to Krauth, Sept. 28, 1852, from New York.
     .8                        Letter from C. P. Krauth to S. S. S., May 9, 1853, from Gettysburg.
     .9                        Letter from S. S. S. to Krauth, May 11, 1853, from Gettysburg.
     .10                      Letter to Krauth from S. S. S., Oct. 3, 1862.
     .11                      Letter from C. P. Krauth to S. S. S., Oct. 4, 1862, from Gettysburg.
     .12                      Letter to S. S. S. from C. P. Krauth. No date.
     .13                      Letter from C. P. Krauth to (unnamed). No date.
 
   2.1                        Letter from H. (?) S. Miller to S. S. S., June 21, 1842, from Trappe (?).
 
   3.1                        Letter from F. Newton Kurtz to S. S. S., Nov. 8, (1861?), from Baltimore.
 
b.1.1                        Letter from J. C. W. Jaeger to Dr. Schmucker, April 24, 1821,
                                                 from Philadelphia.
 
   3.1                        Letter containing historic recollections of the Lutheran Church in
                                                 United States by J. Georg Schmucker, with a note
                                                 identifying it by S. S. S.
 
   4.1                        Sketch of the Ev. Lutheran church in Frederick Town, MD. 
                                                 By David F. Shaeffer.
     .2                        History of the Lutheran Congregation at Frederick, MD. No author listed.
 
2.        Lancaster Archives of the Evangelical and Reformed Church (Schaff Library)
 
a.1                          Letter from S. S. S. to Schaf (sic), Oct. 5, 1846 (?), from Gettysburg
 .2                           Letter from S. S. S. to (unnamed), Nov. 27, 1847, from Gettysburg.
 .3                           Letter from S. S. S. to (unnamed), Sept. 22, 1849, from Theol. Seminary. Co.--
                                                signed by Schaff or else written to Schaff.
 .4                           Letter from S. S. S. to Scaf (sic), Mar. 26, 1851 (?), from Gettysburg.
 .5                           Letter from S. S. S. to Schaff, Sept. 4, 1855, from Gettysburg.
 .6                           Letter from S. S. S. to Schaff, Feb. 5, 1866, from Gettysburg.
 
b.1                         Newspaper article from the Weekly Messenger of the German Reformed
                                               Church, De. 2, 1846.
 
3.     Princeton University and Theological Seminary Archives
               
a. Speer Library
.1                           Letter from S. S. S. to L. Johnson, Feb. 21, 1832, from Gettysburg.
.2                           Letter from S. S. S. to L. Johnson, Feb 15, 1832, from Gettysburg.
.3                           Letter from S. S. S. to L. Johnson, date illegible.
.4                           Letter from Geo. Diehl to B. M. Schmucker, Oct. 30, 1873, from Frederick.
.5                           List of publications of S. S. S.
.6                           Not assigned a number on Wentz’s list: Letter from J. G. Schmucker,
                                               Feb 28, 1833, from York, in German.
b. Firestone Library
.1                           Letter from S. S. S. to Mr. Bartlett, Dec. 28, 1843, from Gettysburg.
 
4.     Burke Library, Union Theological Seminary, New York
 
.1                            Letter (two copies) from Philip (?) Schaff to S. S. S., July 2, ??.
.2                            Letter from S. S. S. to Schaff, Dec. 22, 1870, from Gettysburg.
 
8.     John Hay Library, Brown University
 
.1                            Letter from A. Wilson (?) to Prof. Elton (?), Oct. 27, 1840, from Bangor.
INFO AND CONTACTS
As of March 27, 2020, Ms. Sheila Joy is no longer the Assistant Archivist, as she accepted a new position at the Lutheran Archives Center in Philadelphia. 

During this transition period all communications will be forwarded to Library Director Evan Boyd until the position is filled. Requests should expect a response this Fall after the position is filled.

Please make an apointment before visiting. We are only occasionally able to accommodate walk-in requests.

Evan Boyd, Library Director and Archivist
eboyd@uls.edu
Artifacts Collection
Medallion Collection

Communion Set
  • Belonged to Austin Augustus Kelly (1870–1956), Lutheran clergyman in Pennsylvania and Virginia

Muslim Prayer Ritual
  • Dates 17th century, In the Central Asian Turkic language (Persian dialect)

Rev. Leopold Caban Pectoral Cross, 1933

Wooden Building Replicas Collection | Container List

Lutheran Theological Seminary at Philadelphia Presidential Cross

Lutheran Theological Seminary at Philadelphia Ornament Collection

Various ornaments depicting buildings on LTSP campus accompanied with short histories.
  • Entrance Marker 
  • Gowen Mansion (renamed Gowen Building, Hagan Hall in 1947 and Hagan Center in 1976)
  • The Refectory (2 pieces)
Textiles Collection
Eleanor Geiger Sampler
  • Geiger was Samuel Simon Schmucker's wife
  • Contains her maiden name sewn on the top with a squirrel. There is a border of leaves and vines with a poem stitched in red. It measures 16 x 18 inches.

Rev. Carl C. Rasmussen Sr. Quilt 
  • Contains over 900 names of pastors and laypeople 

United Lutheran Seminary Memorabilia Clothing
  • "Ugly Christmas Sweater" Sweatshirt with Charles Porterfield Krauth and Samuel Simon Schmucker
  • Luther Bowl 2017 T-Shirt (Size medium and large)