Core Sources for D.Min. Research
This subject guide provides tools & hints that will be useful throughout your studies at United Lutheran Seminary. 
Each tab provides insights into finding information from the library catalog, the open web, and the various other tools the library provides you.
Keeping Track of Your Research
There are several useful, freely-available tools to help you manage your research projects. If you start using one of these tools early in your studies, they will become invaluable when it's time to write your dissertation.
  • Zotero  is freely-available web app and desktop software for all stages of your research. It allows you to group your references and downloaded articles around your own topic areas with your own notes so that you can then come back use them in your projects. 
  • Microsoft Office has tools integrated in Word that allows you to cite articles and build a bibliography. While some people find it useful, it makes many mistakes that are hard to fix.
  • eTurabian  from Eksendia offers easy fill-in forms for accurately formatting footnotes.
While these tools can simplify some of your work, it's still important for you to know how cite, format, and build a bibliography manually, as these tools will make mistakes, particularly when they import citations into the database and when presenting the final format in Microsoft Word. 
Citation & Reference Tools
We recommend that you purchase the 7th edition (or newer) of A Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations (Turabian) at the beginning of your studies at ULS so that you can refer to it every time you are completing a research paper.

If you need to cite something more complex, you can also refer to Chicago Manual of Style Online , as Turabian is a simplified version of Chicago.  
Finding and checking out books
Searching the library's book catalog (ECCO: The Eastern Cluster Catalog ) can sometimes be a challenge, as it was designed in a different era. ECCO includes the print collections in Philadelphia and Gettysburg, as well as the print collection at Lutheran Theological Southern Seminary in South Carolina.

In addition, you can find all our books (print and ebook) inside of WorldCat Books . WorldCat also shows you what other libraries own a title, and if you live near either campus, you may want to visit one of our partner libraries in person. Books found in ECCO or WorldCat can be delivered to your local campus (or, in some cases, to your home--ask us for more info).

Cluster Requests and Home Delivery

The ULS Library now offers easy delivery of books between all three libraries as well as to your home. If the book you want is actually on another campus, you can now click on "Place hold" in the book catalog to make a direct request for delivery between campuses. In order to use this feature, you need to have a print book circulation account. You can sign up for one by emailing the library or by coming to the library's circulation desks to fill out the form.

If you live more than 30 miles from the Gettysburg of Philadelphia campus, you can have up to five books delivered to you via USPS at a time. While the library pays to ship the materials to you, you are responsible for returning them. More library policies for print books can be found here.

Reading eBooks
All ebooks the ULS Library provides can either be read on the web or downloaded as PDF. Whenever possible, the resources are designed for online reading or for printing out. No special software beyond a web browsser and Adobe Acrobat Reader should be needed. At this point, nearly all the library's ebooks are in the ECCO catalog. Search the catalog to find ebooks, click the link that says one of two things: "Free internet resource open to all" or "ULS Students, Faculty, and Staff: Click here to access." For the latter resources, you will need your ULS email address and password to login. Contact the library staff if you have difficulty accessing resources.
eBook Collections
Eastern Cluster Catalog

Search the Book Catalog Here

Finding Articles
Your research will involve looking through a mountain of books and article to help verify, clarify, or interpret your project. The library provides you with access to over 5,000 scholarly journals through various databases. On this page is a curated collection of those databases, to assist you in your research. 
Finding a particular journal
Have a citation and need to find the full text? There are two ways to find it. First, you can search our ejournal collection by the title of the journal. It will provide you with a link to get to the full text.

If you do not find it there, search ECCO: The Eastern Cluster Catalog  for the title. Please note that you'll want to change the "All Fields" box to "Journal Title."If it appears we still don't have what you want, you can always fill out an interlibrary loan request and we can get the article to you in less than week.

Religion Scholarship
The following databases contain indexing, abstracts, and/or full text of journals focused on the study of religion.
  • ATLASerials Religion PLUS Restricted Resource Some full text available
  • Religion and the Law Restricted Resource Some full text available
    Religion and the Law includes over 2,300 titles, including works on Religion & Freedom, Jewish Law, Canon Law, Religion & Politics, The Bible & Public Schools, and History of Church & State. 
    Note: Access: current faculty, staff, and students
  • Theological Journals Search Unrestricted Resource
    A Google Custom Search geared towards theological journals. A helpful starting-point for those just beginning research. Some content is open access but most is not. Try searching the Library's Catalog or Journals A to Z if the article is behind a paywall.
    Note: Open Access
  • Index Theologicus Unrestricted Resource
    IxTheo is a free, comprehensive bibliography of articles, books, and related resources for theology and religious studies. Created by the University of Tubingen Library, as well as its protestant & catholic faculty of theology.
General Scholarship
One general-purpose library database is available to students, which contain the full text of journals in nearly all fields of research, from Archaeology to Zoology.
  • JSTOR  includes the full text of over 600 journals, beginning with their first issues (many do not have full text of the current one to five years available, but are indexed).
  • OmniFile Full Text Select  offers full text of hundreds of journals and magazines in a very broad variety of subject areas, including social sciences and medicine.
  • PubMed  includes references to medical literature, some of which may include resources for pastoral care and counseling.
Biblical Studies Scholarship
The following databases contain indexing, abstracts, and/or full text of journals focused on the study of the Bible.
Accessible Archives
The Library has access to the complete collection of materials available through Access Archives. This collection has coverage of much of the 19th century in the United States, with a special focus on Africa American Newspapers, Pennsylvania, the Civil War, and Women's Suffrage.
  • Accessible Archives Restricted Resource Some full text available
    Access to the complete collection of materials available through Access Archives. This collection has coverage of much of the 19th century in the United States, with a special focus on Africa American Newspapers, Pennsylvania, the Civil War, and Women's Suffrage.
  • African American Newspapers (Accessible Archives) Restricted Resource Some full text available
    The African American Newspapers collection includes the full text of eleven early African American newspapers, including The Christian Recorder, Frederick Doublass' Paper, The North Star, and Freedmen's Record.
  • Civil War Collection (Accessible Archives) Restricted Resource Some full text available
    Accessible Archives has compiled an eclectic collection of original source material related to the Civil War. Included in this collection are perspectives from newspapers, generals, soldiers, and others. In addition, it includes a collection of abolitionist era reference materials, compiled by the Abraham Lincoln Memorial Library, Springfield, IL.
  • Women's Suffrage Collection (Accessible Archives) Restricted Resource Some full text available
    The collection covers the period 1840-1920, including various women's rights movements during that era. In particular, abolitionist movements up to and during the Civil War, temperance, and women's suffrage movments thereafter.
American Antiquarian Society Periodicals
The library has purchased a collection of over 5,000 periodicals, fully indexed & digitized for reading online. This collection covers the 17th thru the beginning of the 20th century. We've broken the collection up by areas of interest so that you may more easily find content connecting to your research. To search the full set, use the following link. To search a subset, browse the rest of this page.
Finding the numbers

Since the early days of religion in North America, denominational and missionary groups have collected data on their membership and activities. Throughout the 20th and 21st century, the sociological study of religion has led to further and more nuanced research into religious beliefs, customs, and communities in the United States. The ARDA has compiled much of this research, but denominationally-specific data can more likely be found on a denomination's own website (or archives).

For instance, the ELCA gathers data at the congregational, synodical, regional, and national level. The Lutheran World Federation compiles national statistics, as does the World Council of Churches. If you're having difficulty finding information about a particular denomination, contact the librarian for more help.

Governmental Statistics
Religion Data
Finding Dissertations
When developing a research project, it can be useful to look at the work others may have done to give you suggestions on how to approach methodology or context for your work.

Research in Ministry and WorldCat Dissertations are the best starting places to perform this kind of search.

ULS Dissertations

To see old ULS dissertations and theses, click this link. To see D.Min. only, click this link.
Dissertations & Theses databases