Search the catalog
 
Need help searching the catalog? Click here.
Library & Archives Staff

Evan Boyd

Sheila Joy

Cody Swisher

HTH201: Christianity Becomes a World Religion Resources
Welcome to the course guide for HTH201: Christianity Becomes a World Religion. It is designed to provide access to important sources for your research topics. If you would like additional assistance, please contact a staff member below.
Select:

Subject

Topic

HTH201 Christianity Becomes a World Religion
Welcome to the course guide for HTH201, Christianity Becomes a World Religion with Dr. Erling. This guide has been designed to help you find primary and secondary materials for your research in this class. If you need assistance finding anything contact me directly, Sheila Joy at sjoy@uls.edu.
Archival Collections
Here you will find a listing of archival collections selected for the class along with its finding aid, brief summary of the collection, and potential research questions to help you decide on your research topics.

To access the collections please contact Sheila Joy to set up an appointment at sjoy@uls.edu  
John Aberly Diaries

John Aberly Diaries

Click here to view the finding aid to the collection.

Summary: This collection documents the activities of Rev. John Aberly, former president of Lutheran Theological Seminary at Gettysburg, missionary to India, and former principal of Andhra Christian College in Guntur, India. Included are LTSG presidential papers and diaries kept while in India.

Research Questions to Explore
  • What was the type of education that Aberly had in mind while he was principle at Andhra Christian College? How did he shape the future of education at the institution?
  • How does Aberly talk about the students verses the other missionaries in his private journals?
  • How does Aberly handle the transition from educator to pastor and vice versa from St. Matthews to Andhra Christian College? 
Rev. Efraim Ceder Papers

Rev. Efraim Ceder Papers

Click here to view the finding aid to the collection.

Summary: This collection documents the activities of Rev. Efraim Emil Ceder, concerning his call to Buenos Aires, Argentina for the Pan-Lutheran Society for Mission Work in Latin America from 1916-1919. Most of the 107 copies and original letters are to Efraim Ceder with a few from him.  The artifacts are in English, Swedish, and Spanish.

Research Questions to Explore
  • How do you think Ceder’s ministry was affected by his wife’s death? What were his views on being a minister and a single parent trying to rear two young children? 
  • What was it like to switch to the church of Sweden? Was the switch smooth or was the controversy? 
  • What are the kinds of letters that were not written to or by Ceder that he retained in his possession? How did these influence his ministry? 
Silas Daugherty Diaries

Silas Daughtery Diaries

Click here to view the finding aid to the collection.

Summary: This collection documents the activities of Rev. Silas D. Daugherty. Included are diaries dating between 1890-1927, mostly chronicling his time as a foreign missionary.

Research Questions to Explore
  • What lead up to the Panama Congress and what role did it play on the missionary field?
  • What was some of the work that Rev. Daugherty did that led up to the congress?
  • What role did Rev. Daugherty play in working with Efraim Ceder in Argentina?
  • What were some of the ways in which Rev. Daugherty convinced the General Synod and General Council to found an Argentinian Mission?
  • What is the view of Rev. Daugherty from the perspective of the General Synod? How does the Argentinian Church view him?
Harold A. Dunkelberger Sr. Family Papers

Harold A. Dunkelberger Sr. Family Papers

Click here to view the finding aid to the collection.

Summary: This collection documents the activities of Dr. John Aberly, his daughter Amy and son-in-law Rev. Roy M. Dunkelberger, and grandson Dr. Harold A. Dunkelberger. It includes handwritten biographical accounts, family geological information, and a journal written by Dr. Aberly; documentation regarding missionary work in India, coursework notes and information, and photographs pertaining to Rev. Roy Dunkelberger’s work, as well as newspaper clippings, wills, life insurance paperwork, and various estate papers pertaining to Rev. R.M. Dunkelberger’s death; a song book entitled “Federation Literary set to Music” with Amy Dunkelberger’s name; and coursework notes and Aberly Hall dedication speech notes written by Harold A. Dunkelberger.

Research Questions to Explore
  • What was the working relationship like of the three missionaries together in the field?
  • How did the work of Roy Dunkelberger differ from that of Rev. John Aberly?
Dr. Anna Kugler Papers

Dr. Anna Kugler Papers (Microfilm Reel 1)

Click here to view the library record for the collection.
Click here to view ELCA Archives finding aid for the collection.

Summary: This collection contains the microfilmed diaries of Dr. Anna S. Kugler, doctor for the Guntur Mission in India, covering the years 1877-1900. 

*Please note that the A.R. Wentz Library only has Reel 1 of this collection. The remaining collection is located at the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America Archives.

Research Questions to Explore
  • What was it like to be a doctor of a Mission Hospital in India?
  • Was Dr. Kugler treated different by other missionaries because she was a female doctor in the 19th century? Was this difference because she was a doctor or because she was a woman?
  • What was Dr. Kugler's relationship with the other missionaries who were in charge like?
  • What were some of the innovations that Dr. Kugler brought to the medical field, and to the area that she was practicing in?
Rev. Morris Officer Diaries

Rev. Morris Officer Diaries

Click here to view the finding aid to the collection.

Summary: This collection documents the activities of Rev. Morris Officer during his years as a missionary in Liberia. Included are Rev. Officer’s original diaries and typed transcripts, newspaper clippings, and correspondence relating to the collection that provides information on the collection’s provenance.

Research Questions to Explore
  • What was Rev. Officer’s opinions on behaviors of other missionaries?
  • What are some of the reasons that Rev. Officer chooses the location that he did for the Liberia Mission?
  • What was Rev. Officer's treatment of other major national events that happened around him while he is in the area? What was some of the effect that such events had on his ministry?
  • How did Rev. Officer's poor health affect his ability to participate in mission work, and later on his ability to run the mission?
Annie Sanford Collection

Annie Sanford Collection

Click here to view the finding aid to the collection.

Summary: This collection includes the papers and photographs of Annie Sanford, a Lutheran Missionary who served in India from 1895-1940. Miss Sanford completed a rotating schedule of seven years in India, followed by a two-year furlough in the United States.

Research Topics: 19th century travel systems, life in India, and the missionary experience, local customs, the rigid Indian caste system, the weather, traveling throughout India, and current events in India and in the U.S. (Each time Miss Sanford would travel between the U.S. and India She would take a different route to tour parts of North Africa, Asia, and Europe.)

Research Questions to Explore
  • What are some of the differences that are noticed in ports of entry under colonial Governments? Are there some that seemed better than others?
  • W​hat are the differences that Miss Sanford might have noticed as a white female in the India Caste system?
  • What was it like as a teacher traveling around India in the Mission School system?
  • What are some of the major world changes that Miss Sanford notes in her travels?
  • What are some of the differences between what is shown in Miss Sanford's pictures of her travels, and her written descriptions of what she sees?
Wesley L. Sadler Literacy Collection

Wesley L. Sadler Literacy Collection

Click here to view the finding aid to the collection.

Summary: This collection documents the activities of Wesley L. Sadler, mostly during his time as a missionary. Included are predominantly correspondences, newsletters, manuscripts, and other various published materials.

Research Questions to Explore
  • Sadler was the commissioned missionary for the church. Though his wife was with him, what seems to be her relationship to his work?
  • What seems to be the relationship of the Sadlers to the Native populations that they work with?
  • What roles do the natives play in the Sadler’s work? Are they just part of the process, or do they play and active role in helping the Sadlers to develop and teach as well as use the written languages that they made together?
  • How does Sadler bring skills he learned from other professions into his missionary work? How does his wife, Roslyn adapt her skills to be a part of the mission?
  • What are some of the differences in his approach to Christian teaching than the other missionaries and understandings that Sadler gains of the people that allow him to do the work that he is doing?
Wesley L. Sadler Missionary Collection

Wesley L. Sadler Missionary Collection

Click here to view the finding aid to the collection.

Summary:
This collection documents the activities of Wesley L. Sadler, mostly during his time as a missionary. Included are materials relating to his manuscript, Untangled Loma, correspondence, manuscripts, research notes, journals, correspondence, sermons, lectures, bible studies, publications, audio cassettes, certificates, and objects.

Research Questions to Explore
  • What seems to be Sadler's prospective to the indigenous peoples that he meets?
  • Why is language of the native tongue so important to Sadler? What are his driving points for doing what the is doing?
  • Does his view of the natives differ from others? Are there insights that he has gained from the interactions that other missionaries have with Loma Peoples?
Rev. Samuel William Schmitthenner Collection

Rev. Samuel William Schmitthenner Collection

Click here to view the finding aid to the collection.

Summary: This collection documents the activities of Rev. Samuel William Schmitthenner, India missioanry who served the Andhra Evangelical Lutheran Church (AELC) in India for 30 years. Rev. Schmitthenner served as a parish pastor, evangelistic missionary, and a surveyor of parishes throughout the five synods of the AELC. He also served as President of the AELC from 1969-1981.

Research Questions to Explore
  • What is the perspective on the history of the Andhra Evangelical Lutheran Church as told by the various sources in the collection?
  • Is there a particular historical narrative that is being framed about its origins, whose perspective is told, whose is left out?
    How did the voices in India change after the formation of the ULCA? 
  • What was the AELC’s response to communism? 
Rev. Charles Schnure Correspondence

Rev. Charles Schnure Correspondence

Click here to view the inventory list to the collection.

Summary: This collection contains correspondences of Rev. and Mrs. Charles Schnure and other entities regarding accusations against the Rev. E. Unangst. Missionary figures involved include Rev. Dr. Uhl to Kate Boggs. The correspondence are part of a typed collection of the material from older sources (location of originals is unknown.)

Research Questions to Explore
  • What group was in charge of the Mission?
  • What happens when procedures aren’t followed through with?
  • What was the reaction when other denominations didn’t seem to follow the arranged border areas, and when the Baptists started to move into Lutheran territory?
  • Despite arguments that may have occurred, what was the treatment of each side toward the other? Did either side bash the other publicly outside of the mission? How did their differences impact their working relationship?
India Missions Photographs

India Missions Photographs


Research Questions to Explore
  • How are the indigenous peoples shown in comparison to the white missionaries?
  • What are some of the traditions that the missionaries appear to participate in i.e., fashion, food? Do these seem to follow certain conceptualized stereotypes? Does it appear to have almost a mocking tone?
  • What are some of the changes in the land that stand out as a result of European occupation of the area, i.e. how has some of the architecture and infrastructure noticeably been changed?
General Synod

General Synod Record Group (1820-1918)

Click here to view the inventory list to the record group.


Summary: This record group contains materials relating to the General Synod. The record group is arranged into series by departments such as Board of Foreign Missions. Contents include correspondence, meeting minutes, reports, pamphlets, histories, etc.

Research Questions to Explore
  • What was the first board established and what was its function? How did this board change in function throughout the course of the General Synod?
  • When did the General Synod start hiring professional secretaries for boards and what was their function in doing so?
  • When the General Synod formed what where some of the fears of a general body and what were some of the strengths? Why was its formation so controversial?
United Lutheran Church in America (ULCA)

United Lutheran Church in America Record Group (1918-1961)

Click here to view the inventory list to the record group.


Summary: This record group contains materials relating to the ULCA. The record group is arranged into series by departments such as Board of Foreign Missions. Contents include correspondence, meeting minutes, reports, pamphlets, histories, etc.

Research Questions to Explore
  • What were the characteristics of predecessor bodies that were carried over during the merger and what changed or was left out?
  • Did the functions of the boards change?
  • What was the difference of appearance between the executive board of the ULCA and the General Synod or General Council?
Lutheran Organizations Record Groups
These are record groups of information on ULCA, LCA, and ELCA organizations as well as other organizations outside the ELCA.

Click here to view the record groups.
INFO AND CONTACTS
Sheila Joy, Archivist
sjoy@uls.edu
717-339-1317
M-F: 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Please make an apointment before visiting. We are only occasionally able to accommodate walk-in requests.

Evan Boyd, Library Director and Archivist
eboyd@uls.edu
INFO AND CONTACTS
Sheila Joy, Archivist
sjoy@uls.edu
717-339-1317
M-F: 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Please make an apointment before visiting. We are only occasionally able to accommodate walk-in requests.

Evan Boyd, Library Director and Archivist
eboyd@uls.edu
INFO AND CONTACTS
Sheila Joy, Archivist
sjoy@uls.edu
717-339-1317
M-F: 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Please make an apointment before visiting. We are only occasionally able to accommodate walk-in requests.

Evan Boyd, Library Director and Archivist
eboyd@uls.edu
Suggested Books
Here you will find titles of books recommended as secondary resources to supplement your archival research. Provided are title and author name along with the location and call number. If you need assistance locating a book please email us at library@uls.edu or call 717-338-3014.

Note On Locations:
GENERAL: Open stacks
HISTORICAL: Closed stacks, ask for assistance
SP1 (Special Collections): Closed stacks, ask for assistance
THESIS: Closed stacks, ask for assistance
 
General Synod

 

TITLE AUTHOR LOCATION CALL #
Report of the Board of Foreign Missions of the General Synod of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in the United States of America   HISTORICAL BV2540.A1 G4 H
       
Missions-General

 

TITLE AUTHOR LOCATION CALL #
       
Home Missionary Organization in the General Synod Officer, Morris HISTORICAL BX8066.1 .O325 Ho
An Outline of Missions Aberly, John GENERAL BV2100 .A2
Missionaries

John Aberly

 
TITLE AUTHOR LOCATION CALL #
The Diary of Rev. Dr. John Aberly: the India Years 1889 to 1923 Aberly, John, compiled by Samuel Schmitthenner GENERAL BX8066.A3 A23 2005
 

Anna Kugler

 
TITLE AUTHOR LOCATION CALL #
Indian Goddess: The Story of Anna S. Kugler Margaret Seebach HISTORICAL BX8066.1 .S449In H
 
Morris Officer
 
TITLE AUTHOR LOCATION CALL #
The Life of Rev. Morris Officer, A.M.  Imhoff, Alex. J. GENERAL BX8080.O2 I6
Morris Officer Eaton, Olney THESIS AA5 V.71
 

General

TITLE AUTHOR LOCATION CALL #
Glimpses of the Lives of Great Missionary Women Kretzmann, Paul E. PHILA BV3703 .K7 STORAGE BOX 3, 248
Missionary Heroes of the Lutheran Church Wolf, Luther Benaiah GENERAL BV2540.W75
North American Foreign Missions, 1810-1914: Theology, Theory, and Policy Shenk, Wilbert R. GENERAL BV2121.U6 N67 2004
 
Africa

 

TITLE AUTHOR LOCATION CALL #
African Bible Pictures : Scripture Scenes and Customs in Africa Officer, Morris GENERAL DT14 .O32
Light on Darkness? Missionary Photography of Africa in the Nineteenth and Early Twentieth Centuries Thompson, T. Jack GENERAL BV3520.T56 2012
Lutheran Mission in Liberia Whetstone, Harold Vink GENERAL BV3625 .L5 W45
A Plea for a Lutheran Mission in Liberia Officer, Morris HISTORICAL BX8066.1 .O325 Pl
The Spiritual in the Secular: Missionaries and Knowledge About Africa Harries, Patrick and David Maxwell GENERAL BV3500 .S64 2012
Studies in the History of Christian Missions Frylenberg, R.E. and Brian Stanley GENERAL BV3520 .T56 2012

Western Africa, a Mission Field, or the Moral and Physical Condition of Western Africa Considered with Reference to the Founding of Mission Settlements of Colored People
Officer, Morris GENERAL BV3540 .O35
India

 

TITLE AUTHOR LOCATION CALL #
After Fifty Years or An Historical Sketch of the Guntur Mission on the Evangelical Lutheran Church of the General Synod in the United States of America Wolf, Rev. L.B. GENERAL BV2540 W74
The Andhra Evangelical Lutheran Church: A Brief History Dolbeer, Martin Luther GENERAL BX8063.I3 A5
Biographical record of the pastors, Missionaries and Prominent Laymen of the United Lutheran Church Mission and the Andhra Evangelical Lutheran Church Swavely, Clarence H. GENERAL BX8079 .S92
Caste, Gender, and Christianity in Colonial India: Telegu Women in Mission Taneti James Elisha GENERAL BV3265.3
Centennial Celebrations of the United Lutheran Church Mission: Guntur, July 30th to August 1st, 1942 Schmitthenner, A. F. GENERAL BX8066.1 .S355 Ce
Christian Missionaries in India Massey. S. GENERAL BR1155.M376 2007
Gettysburg and the Call to Mission in India  Schmitthenner, Samuel W. GENERAL BV3269.A1 S33 2012
Guntur Mission Hospital: Guntur, India Kugler, Anna S. GENERAL BV3290.G8 K8
A History of the Guntur What Hath God Wrought?: United Lutheran Church India Mission, Centennial, 1842-1942Mission: a Brief Account of the Rise and Progress of the General Synod's Mission in India.   GENERAL BV3265 .G6
       
INFO AND CONTACTS
Sheila Joy, Archivist
sjoy@uls.edu
717-339-1317
M-F: 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Please make an apointment before visiting. We are only occasionally able to accommodate walk-in requests.

Evan Boyd, Library Director and Archivist
eboyd@uls.edu
Journals
These journal titles can be found in the open and closed periodicals section of the library. If you need assistance locating or accessing a periodical, please contact the front desk at 717-338-3014.

American Lutheran, 1918-1966
The Evangelical Quarterly Review, 1863-1970
Lutheran Church Work, 1912-1915
Lutheran Evangelist, 1877-1909
Lutheran Herald, 1912, 1916-1930
The Lutheran Observer, 1833-1915
Lutheran Woman's Work, 1908-1960
Search the catalog
 
Need help searching the catalog? Click here.
Gettysburg Contacts
Evan Boyd, Library Director and Archivist
eboyd@uls.edu
215-248-6330
Cody Swisher, Public Services Assistant
cswisher@uls.edu
717-338-3014
Sheila Joy, Archivist and Cataloger
sjoy@uls.edu
717-339-1317

Don't know who to contact?
Call 717-338-3014
or email library@uls.edu
Key Databases

Settings

Hide Titlebar
Hide Box Content
Favorite Box

Styles

Key Databases
Search the catalog
 
Need help searching the catalog? Click here.
Gettysburg Contacts
Evan Boyd, Library Director and Archivist
eboyd@uls.edu
215-248-6330
Cody Swisher, Public Services Assistant
cswisher@uls.edu
717-338-3014
Sheila Joy, Archivist and Cataloger
sjoy@uls.edu
717-339-1317

Don't know who to contact?
Call 717-338-3014
or email library@uls.edu
Citing Your Sources
There are three different style guides available for students of the Bible. Listed below, in order of preference & accessibility, are your professors' preferred citation styles:
  • SBL Handbook of Style Unrestricted Resource Some full text available
    The Student Supplement for the SBL Handbook of Style. This offers students resources on the basics of SBL Style as well as information on the many, many abbreviations that are used in Biblical studies. 
  • Chicago Manual of Style Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
    Find it. Write it. Cite it. The Chicago Manual of Style Online is the venerable, time-tested guide to style, usage, and grammar in an accessible online format. Turabian is a shortened version of The Chicago Manual of Style.
  • Turabian -- A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations is available in print at both libraries in the reference room at LB2369 .T8
Search the catalog
 
Need help searching the catalog? Click here.
Gettysburg Contacts
Evan Boyd, Library Director and Archivist
eboyd@uls.edu
215-248-6330
Cody Swisher, Public Services Assistant
cswisher@uls.edu
717-338-3014
Sheila Joy, Archivist and Cataloger
sjoy@uls.edu
717-339-1317

Don't know who to contact?
Call 717-338-3014
or email library@uls.edu
Lutheran History
Here you will find information and resources related to general Lutheran Church and organizational history.
ELCA & Predecessor Bodies History
Pennsylvania Ministerium (1747‑1962)
  • First Lutheran church body in North America
  • Founded by Henry Melchoir Muhlenberg (1711-1787) on August 26, 1748 in Philadelphia, PA
  • Other Names:
    • German Evangelical Lutheran Ministerium of North America (1748–1792)
    • German Evangelical Lutheran Ministerium of Pennsylvania and Adjacent States (1792–1918)
  • Merged into ULCA 1918

Evangelical Lutheran General Synod of the United States of America (1820‑1918)
  • Commonly known as the General Synod
  • Established in 1820 in Hagerstown, MD
  • Merged into ULCA in 1918
  • Separations:
    • United Synod of the South (1863)
    • General Council of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in North America (1866)

United Lutheran Church in America (ULCA) (1918-1961)
  • Established in 1918 in commemoration of the 400th anniversary of the Protestant Reformation
  • Merger of General Synod (est. 1820), General Council (est. 1867), and United Synod of the South (est. 1863)
  • Merged into Lutheran Church in America in 1962

Lutheran Church in America (LCA) (1962-1987)
  • Established in 1962 in Detroit, MI
  • Merger of ULCA, Finnish Evangelical Lutheran Church of America, American Evangelical Lutheran Church, AND Augustana Evangelical Lutheran Church
  • Headquartered in New York City
  • Separations: Evangelical Lutheran Church in Canada (1986)
  • Merged into Evangelical Lutheran Church in America in 1988

Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA) (1987-present)
  • Established on April 30, 1987 at Constituting Convention in Columbus, OH with operations beginning January 1, 1988
  • Headquartered in Chicago, IL
  • Merger of: 
    • Lutheran Congregations in Mission for Christ
    • Lutheran Confessional Synod
    • Alliance of Renewal Churches
    • North American Lutheran Church
  • Separations: 
    • Lutheran Congregations in Mission for Christ
    • Lutheran Confessional Synod
    • Alliance of Renewal Churches
    • North American Lutheran Church
Lutheran Organizations Mergers
INFO AND CONTACTS
Sheila Joy, Archivist
sjoy@uls.edu
717-339-1317
M-F: 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Please make an apointment before visiting. We are only occasionally able to accommodate walk-in requests.

Evan Boyd, Library Director and Archivist
eboyd@uls.edu
INFO AND CONTACTS
Sheila Joy, Archivist
sjoy@uls.edu
717-339-1317
M-F: 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Please make an apointment before visiting. We are only occasionally able to accommodate walk-in requests.

Evan Boyd, Library Director and Archivist
eboyd@uls.edu