If you need to cite something more complex, you can also refer to Chicago Manual of Style Online , as Turabian is a simplified version of Chicago.
- Accessible Archives
Access to the complete collection of materials available through Access Archives. This collection has coverage of much of the 19th century in the United States, with a special focus on Africa American Newspapers, Pennsylvania, the Civil War, and Women's Suffrage.
- African American Newspapers (Accessible Archives)
The African American Newspapers collection includes the full text of eleven early African American newspapers, including The Christian Recorder, Frederick Doublass' Paper, The North Star, and Freedmen's Record.
- Civil War Collection (Accessible Archives)
Accessible Archives has compiled an eclectic collection of original source material related to the Civil War. Included in this collection are perspectives from newspapers, generals, soldiers, and others. In addition, it includes a collection of abolitionist era reference materials, compiled by the Abraham Lincoln Memorial Library, Springfield, IL.
- Women's Suffrage Collection (Accessible Archives)
The collection covers the period 1840-1920, including various women's rights movements during that era. In particular, abolitionist movements up to and during the Civil War, temperance, and women's suffrage movments thereafter.
- AAS Alternative Faith and Philosophy Periodicals, 1789-1878
- AAS Baptists, Quakers, and Independent Church Periodicals, 1797-1881
- AAS Catholic, Lutheran, Methodist, and Episcopal Periodicals, 1797-1904
- Congregational, Presbyterian, and Reformed Church Periodicals, 1803-1902
- Emerging American Religions, 1821-1895
- General Interest Christian Periodicals, 1743-1889
- Missionary and Charity Periodicals, 1793-1902
- Religious Periodicals for Women, Children, and Families, 1804-1878
- Religious Periodicals from the Southern US, 1801-1904
- Sunday School Periodicals, 1818-1885
- Temperance in America, 1826-1877
- Theology and Biblical Studies Periodicals, 1760-1877
Since the early days of religion in North America, denominational and missionary groups have collected data on their membership and activities. Throughout the 20th and 21st century, the sociological study of religion has led to further and more nuanced research into religious beliefs, customs, and communities in the United States. The ARDA has compiled much of this research, but denominationally-specific data can more likely be found on a denomination's own website (or archives).
For instance, the ELCA gathers data at the congregational, synodical, regional, and national level. The Lutheran World Federation compiles national statistics, as does the World Council of Churches. If you're having difficulty finding information about a particular denomination, contact the librarian for more help.