Lutheran Organizations
Here you will find the holdings of our Lutheran Organizations record groups. To access these collections please contact Sheila Joy to schedule an appointment at sjoy@uls.edu
INFO AND CONTACTS
Sheila Joy, Archivist
sjoy@uls.edu
717-339-1317
M-F: 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Please make an apointment before visiting. We are only occasionally able to accommodate walk-in requests.

Evan Boyd, Library Director and Archivist
eboyd@uls.edu
Pan-Lutheran Bodies
This record group contains collections of Pan-Lutheran bodies.

LIST OF SUBGROUPS & COLLECTIONS
Please see below for more information about the collections. Contact the archivist for access.
  1. National Lutheran Council
  2. American Publicity Bureau
  3. Miscellaneous Groups
  4. Luther League of America Papers, 1895-1918
  5. Inter-Lutheran Consultation Papers
  6. Joint Commission on Lutheran Unity Minutes & Correspondence, 1956-1962
  7. Lutheran World Relief
  8. Lutheran World Federation
  9. Lutheran Theological Study Group Minutes, 1945-1965 and Papers Read, 1946-1961
  10. Lutheran Welfare Council of Pennsylvania Documents, 1951-1968
  11. American Lutheran Statistical Association Annual Convention Minutes and Documents, 1932-1963
National Lutheran Council
HISTORY
The National Lutheran Council (NLC) was an agency of participating Lutheran church bodies established in 1918 to administer domestic programs, publicize Lutheran activities and beliefs, and provide overseas emergency relief to areas devastated by World War I. By 1940 the NLC expanded and reorganized its program through the creation of divisions, departments, commissions, and bureaus. In 1966 the NLC became the Lutheran Council in the U.S.A.

SCOPE OF COLLECTION
18 boxes that document the activities of various divisions, departments, commissions, and bureaus of the National Lutheran Council. Types of records included are minutes, agendas, correspondence, promotional materials, pamphlets, statements, addresses, essays, reports, bulletins, and miscellaneous publications.
 
Click here to view the finding aid.
American Publicity Bureau
SCOPE OF COLLECTION
This collection contains 48 boxes. Consult the archivist for more information and accessing the collection.
Miscellaneous Groups
SCOPE OF COLLECTION
7 boxes containing miscellaneous Pan-Lutheran organization files such as brochures and newsletters. Please see the list of organizations in the collection below. Consult the archivist for access.
  1. Lutheran Evangelicalistic Movement
  2. Lutheran Alliance
  3. Lutheran Alliance for Full Participation & Members
  4. Lutheran Bible Institute
  5. Lutheran Brotherhood (Legal Reserve Life Insurance Co., 1920)
  6. Lutheran Brotherhood of America
  7. Lutheran Book Mission
  8. Lutheran Charities
  9. Lutheran Commission on Evangelism 
  10. Lutheran Committee on Scouting
  11. Lutherans Evangelizing Together
  12. Lutheran Bible Translators
  13. Lutheran Educational Conference of North America
  14. Lutheran Historical Conference
  15. Lutheran Council in the USA (LCUSA)
  16. Lutherans for Life
  17. Lutheran Alert National
  18. Lutheran Human Relations Association of America
  19. Lutheran Immigration and Refugee Service
  20. Lutheran Men in America
  21. Lutheran Ministerial Association Washington, D.C. and Lutheran Ministers’ Conference, Baltimore
  22. Lutheran Music Program
  23. Lutheran Peace Fellowship
  24. Lutheran Professors of Theology
  25. Lutheran Seminary Professors' Conference
  26. Lutheran Service Center
  27. Lutheran Service Commission
  28. Lutheran Social Ministry
  29. Lutheran Social Union
  30. Lutheran Society
  31. Lutheran Student Association
  32. Lutheran Theological Professors' Conference
  33. International Lutheran Renewal Center
  34. Lutheran Welfare Council
  35. Association of Church Musicians
  36. Lutheran Woman's League
  37. Partners in Mission
  38. Association of Lutheran Seminarians
  39. Canada Groups
  40. Federal Council of Lutheran Brotherhoods
  41. Federation of Lutheran Clubs
  42. Federation of Brotherhoods and Men's Societies
  43. Lutheran World Convention
  44. World Confessional Lutheran Association
  45. American Association of Lutheran Churches
  46. Lutheran Press
  47. Church World Service
  48. Evangelical Catholic Church
  49. Lutheran Book of Worship
  50. Lutheran Braille Evangelism Association
  51. Lutheran Council on Biblical Inerrancy
  52. Lutheran Library for the Blind
  53. Lutheran Resources Commission
  54. United Lutheran Publication House - Map of Lutheran Church
  55. Operation Bootstrap Africa
  56. Lutheran Women's Caucus
  57. Lutheran Society for Missiology
  58. Lutheran Renewal (Holy Spirit Conference)
  59. Thrivent Financial for Lutherans
  60. American Bible Society
  61. Wheat Ridge Ministries
  62. Lutheran Services in America
  63. Inter-Lutheran Disaster Response in the U.S.A.
  64. Ministry and the Threat of A.I.D.S.
  65. Lutheran World Ministries
  66. Lutheran Missions in North America
  67. Lutheran Charisciples
  68. Lutheran Disaster Response of New York
  69. Lutheran Lesbian and Gay Ministries
  70. Lutherans Concerned
  71. Lutheran Evangelism Council
  72. Lutheran Welfare Society of Minnesota
  73. American Evangelical Lutheran Immigrant Mission Society
Luther League of America Papers, 1895-1918
HISTORY
The Luther League in America was founded in 1895 in Pittsburgh, PA. After the formation of the United Lutheran Church in America (ULCA) in 1920 the Luther League became the official youth organization of that body. The organization provided opportunity for youth involvement in the church and served as an important vehicle of instruction, inspiration, and fellowship. The Luther League also assisted in the development of intersynodical friendships and in promoting the merger that created the ULCA.

SCOPE OF COLLECTION
1 box containing constitutions, conference and convention programs, and a scrapbook.

Click here to view the finding aid.

 
Inter-Lutheran Consultation
HISTORY
The Inter-Lutheran Consultation was a council of participating Lutheran bodies established in 1960 to discuss the joining of the National Lutheran Council and The Lutheran Church–Missouri Synod. The Lutheran bodies represented were the Lutheran Church in America (LCA), The American Lutheran Church (TALC), and Lutheran Church-Missouri Synod (LC-MS), and Synod of Evangelical Lutheran Church. Lutheran Council in the United States of America was formed through this committee. At the end of the seventh meeting they decided that no further meetings need to be scheduled in advance (Jan/Feb 1966). 

SCOPE OF COLLECTION
1 box containing official governing documents, biographical data, letters, meeting minutes, committees, and sub-committees.

Click here to view the finding aid.
Joint Commission on Lutheran Unity Minutes & Correspondence, 1956-1962
HISTORY
The Joint Commission Lutheran Unity (JCLU) was a Lutheran cooperation of participating Lutheran church bodies established in 1955 to begin discussion to merge into one church. The JCLU finalized its merger in 1962, forming the Lutheran Church in America (LCA) which joined together the United Lutheran Church in America (ULCA), Augustana Synod, Suomi Synod, and the American Evangelical Lutheran Church (AELC). 

SCOPE OF COLLECTION
This collection contains minutes of the meetings and correspondence of the secretary, Carl Rasmussen. 

Click here to view the finding aid.
Lutheran World Relief Collection
HISTORY
The Lutheran World Relief (LWR) is an international non-governmental organization that focuses on sustainable development projects and disaster relief and recovery. It was founded in 1945 in response to the refugee crisis in post-World War II Europe. Today, LWR operates in East and West Africa, Latin America, Asia, and the Middle East.

SCOPE OF COLLECTION 
1 box containing letters, reports, address lists, posters, tracts, and pamphlets.

Click here to view the finding aid.
Lutheran World Federation Collection
HISTORY
The Lutheran World Federation is a global communion of national and regional Lutheran churches headquartered in the Ecumenical Centre in Geneva, Switzerland. Founded in Lund, Sweden in 1947 after WWII, it replaced the Lutheran World Convention (founded 1924) to coordinate the activities of different Lutheran churches to provide a forum for discussions on theological and organizational issues.

SCOPE OF COLLECTION
7 boxes containing meeting minutes, governing documents, reports, assembly materials, programs, pamphlets, correspondence, and miscellaneous records.

Click here to view the finding aid.
Lutheran Theological Study Group Minutes, 1945-1965 and Papers Read, 1946-1961
HISTORY
The Lutheran Theological Study Group was established in 1945 and functioned until 1965. Its purpose was to “provide fellowship and mutual stimulation by purposive study and free discussion in order that the ministry of each may be enriched and that they themselves may be better servants of the Church and her Lord.” (Box 1 folder 1.) The group accepted papers and held annual meetings and seminars across the United States.

SCOPE OF COLLECTION
1 box containing minutes, papers read at meetings, and a letterhead.

Click here to view the finding aid.
Lutheran Welfare Council of Pennsylvania Documents, 1951-1968
HISTORY
The Lutheran Welfare Council of Pennsylvania was a council of institutions and agencies serving the Lutheran community of Pennsylvania that was established in 1951. Its divisions included Family and Child Welfare, Services to the Aging, Health Services, Chaplaincy Services, and Group-work Services.

SCOPE OF COLLECTION
1 box containing meeting minutes, constitutions, and documents documenting the activities of the different divisions.

Click here to view the finding aid.
American Lutheran Statistical Association Annual Convention Minutes and Documents, 1932-1963
HISTORY
The American Lutheran Statistical Association was organized in 1917. The aim of the group was to “bring men together for the discussion of statistical problems, particularly those of the Lutheran Church, and, in other ways, to promote the gathering of statistical material and the proper presentation and diffusion of same.” (Pamphlet, Box 1, folder 1.)

SCOPE OF COLLECTION
1 box containing annual convention minutes, programs, membership list, newsletters, and statistics.

Click here to view the finding aid.
INFO AND CONTACTS
Sheila Joy, Archivist
sjoy@uls.edu
717-339-1317
M-F: 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Please make an apointment before visiting. We are only occasionally able to accommodate walk-in requests.

Evan Boyd, Library Director and Archivist
eboyd@uls.edu
ULCA Predecessor Bodies
This record group contains materials relating to the predecessor bodies of the ULCA:
  • Pennsylvania Ministerium
  • New York Ministerium
  • General Synod
  • General Council
  • Joint Committee of General Council, General Synod, and General Synod in the South
General Synod Predecessor Bodies
Pennsylvania Ministerium (1747‑1962)
  • Charter, constitution, by‑laws
  • Sketch of history
  • Programs of various conferences
New York Ministerium (1786-1929)
General Synod (1821‑1918)

General Synod (1821‑1918)


General Records
  • Constitution, proposed amended constitution
  • Resolutions, rules and by‑laws
  • Sketch of history
  • Order of service, 1885
  • Narrative account of history of negotiations for cooperation between General Synod and General Council
Board of Education
  • Reports, 1889; 1905; 1909; 1911; 1913; 1915; 1917; 1918

Board of Foreign Missions
  • Brief historical sketch, 1875
  • Reports, 1853; 1855; 1857; 1859; 1881; 1883; 1901; 1903; 1905; 1907; 1911; 1918
  • Pictures and portraits in foreign missions
  • Papers concerning charges of Schnure against Unangst
Board of Home Missions & Church Extension
  • Reports, 1877; 1881;1885; 1887; 1903; 1905; 1907; 1909; 1911; 1915; 1917;1918
Board of Publication, Lutheran Publication Society
  • Constitution History, 1855‑1915
  • Reports, 1861; 1879; 1881; 1882; 1883; 1885; 1887; 1889; 1901; 1903; 1905; 1907; 1909; 1911; 1913; 1915; 1917; 1918;
  • Parish education materials (primarily Augsburg)
Deaconess Board
  • Reports, 1911; 1913; 1915
Laymen's Missionary Movement
  • Report, 1915
Lutheran Brotherhood
  • Report, 1911
Lutheran Pastors' Fund (Pastors' Fund Society)
  • Articles of Association
  • Description
Inner Missions Board

Women's Home & Foreign Missionary Society
  • Historical Sketch, 1879‑99
  • Pamphlets, etc.
General Council (1866-1918)

General Council (1866-1918)

  • Constitution
  • Miscellany
Joint Committee of General Council, General Synod, and General Synod in the South

Joint Committee of General Council, General Synod, and General Synod in the South

  • California Synod (1891‑1953)
  • East Ohio Synod (1856‑1920)
  • Kansas Synod (1868‑1954)
  • Illinois Synod (1846‑ )
  • Iowa Synod (1855‑ )
  • Maryland Synod (1820‑ )
  • Miami Synod (1844‑1920)
  • Nebraska Synod (1871‑1964)
  • New Jersey Synod (1861‑1872)
  • New York Synod (1867‑1953)
  • N. Illinois Synod (1851‑1919)
  • N. Indiana Synod (1855‑1919)
  • Synod of Northwest (1891‑1962)
  • Ohio Synod (1920‑ )
  • Olive Branch Synod (1848‑1919)
  • Pennsylvania Synods of:
    • Allegheny Synod (1842‑1938)
    • Old Central Penn Synod (1855‑1923)
    • East Penn Synod (1842‑1938)
    • Susquehanna Synod (1867‑1938)
    • West Penn Synod (1825‑1938)
  • Pittsburgh Synod (1845- )
  • South Carolina Synod (1824‑ )
  • Texas Synod (1851‑1953)
  • Virginia Synod (1831‑ )
  • Wartburg Synod (1876‑1962)
  • West Virginia Synod (1842‑1962)
  • United Synod South (1886‑1917)
INFO AND CONTACTS
Sheila Joy, Archivist
sjoy@uls.edu
717-339-1317
M-F: 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Please make an apointment before visiting. We are only occasionally able to accommodate walk-in requests.

Evan Boyd, Library Director and Archivist
eboyd@uls.edu
United Lutheran Church in America (1918-1962)
This record group contains materials relating to the United Lutheran Church in America (ULCA). 
Board of American Missions
Created in 1926 by merger of: Board of Home Missions & Church Extension; Board of Northwestern Missions (German); Immigrants Mission Board (other than German); West Indies Board; Committee on Mission to the Jews.
  • Constitution
  • Plan of organization
  • Executive Committee and Board minutes, 1926‑1932 (interfiled)
Board of Foreign Missions
  • Executive Committee Minutes, 1938-1939, 1941, 1953‑1958 | Container List
  • Minutes, 1924‑32; 1937‑61 | Container List
  • Agendas, 1940‑1942 | Container List
  • Council of Secretaries | Container List
  • Handbooks, "A Wartime Statement," & Foreign Missionaries Miscellany | Container List
    • 1929; 1939‑41; 1943; 1946‑48; 1952‑54
  • Promotional materials
  • Mission Studies in Seven Nations, 1936; 1938; 1939; 1941
  • Africa
  • China
  • Japan
  • Japan Lutheran Mission, minutes, 1938‑41
  • India
  • Latin America
  • Council of the India Mission of the ULCA | Container List
    • Executive Committee minutes, 1939
    • Council minutes, 1939‑54
Board of Social Missions
  • Constitution & By‑Laws
  • Minutes, 1939‑40
  • Department of Evangelism
  • Lutheran Evangelism Mission, 1955 (Evangelism Administrative Com.)
  • Promotional materials
West Indies Mission Board
Became part of BAM in 1926.
  • Executive Committee and Board minutes, 1924‑26 (interfiled)
Brotherhood
  • Manual
  • History
  • Handbook
  • Convention programs
  • Promotional materials
  • King's Men Crusade
  • Boy Scout Committee
  • Synodical Organizations
  • Central Pennsylvania
  • Maryland
  • North Carolina
  • Oregon
  • Western Pennsylvania
Committees
  • Committee on Church Architecture and Department of Church Architecture
    • Minutes, 1924‑34
  • Committee on Church Music
    • Minutes, 1925; 1927; 1931
  • Committee on Church Papers Minutes, 1925‑26
  • Common Service Book Committee
    • Minutes, 1927‑29; 1947
    • Program of introduction for Service Book and Hymnal Committee on Evangelism, minutes, 1928; 1930; 1931
  • Committee of Executive Secretaries
  • Gospel of Giving Committee of
  • Lutheran Publications Committee on
  • Church Periodicals
  • Committee on German Interests
    • Minutes, 1924‑29; 1931
  • Committee on Mission to the Jews
    • Minutes, 1924
  • Committee on Moral and Social Welfare
    • Minutes, 1927; 1930
  • Committee on the Office of the Ministry
  • Ministry of Christian Tracts
  • Statistical & Church Yearbook Committee
    • Minutes, 1925‑31
  • Department of Press, Radio & Television
  • Department of Worship
  • Commission on Investments
    • Minutes, 1931
  • Commission on Theological Education
    • Minutes, 1925; 1927
  • Conference of Representatives of Colleges and Seminaries
    • Minutes, 1943
  • Conference of Theological Seminary Professors
    • Minutes, 1927; 1929‑33; 1935‑37; 1939‑40
    • Reports and proceedings, 1933; 1935; 1937; 1940‑41
General Records
  • Constitution, by‑laws
  • Information about the organization
  • Statements
  • Commission of adjudication
  • Commission on Lutheran Relations
  • ULCA and Proposed NCCCUSA
  • Report of Joint Union Committee to negotiating bodies
  • Report of Committee on Study of closer relationships 
  • Executive Board Minutes, 1918‑24; 1925‑28; 1929‑32; 1933‑39; 1940‑44; 1945‑46; 1947‑54
  • Conventions, 1918‑62, programs, etc.
  • Summary of the Report on the Manifested Life of the Congregation for the calendar year ending December 31, 1952
Board of Deaconess Work
  • Minutes, 1924‑36
  • Deaconess work and the church
  • Training program; catalogs
Board of Higher Education
  • Constitution & by‑laws, 1920
  • Minutes and staff reports, 1918‑1962
  • CHEY Appeal (Church Higher Education Year)
  • Institute on preaching, 1956‑61
  • Lutheran Faculty
  • Conference on Music, 1955
  • Conference on Christian Higher Education, 1958
  • Knubel‑Miller Lecture, 1962 series, J. Gould Wickey Summer Service Manual, 1957
  • Documentary review of program & history, 1918‑1959
Board of Pensions
Formerly Board of Ministerial Relief and Board of Ministerial Pensions and Relief
  • Executive Committee and
  • Board minutes, 1924‑32 (interfiled)
Parish & Church School Board
Became Board of Parish Education in 1953.
  • Constitution, 1927
  • Minutes, 1924; 1929‑32
  • Parish Education Manual
  • Statement of Basic Principles
  • Report concerning the Formulation of a Comprehensive
  • Plan of Parish Education
  • Vacation Church Schools
  • Weekday Church Schools
  • Teacher Training Leadership Helps
  • Parish Education Material Children of the Church
  • Children's Program Enrichment Kits
  • Study Material
  • Curriculum Material
  • Beginner's Stories
  • Primary Stories
  • Augsburg Series: Little Ones, 1947‑55
  • Workshops & Conferences
  • Promotional Materials and tracts
  • Inter‑Lutheran Sunday School pamphlets and tracts
Lutheran Laymen's Movement
  • Anniversary History
  • Executive Committee minutes, 1935; (1930); 1933; 1945; 1946
  • Promotional Material
  • Programs
  • Stewardship Helps, 1952‑53; 1957‑58; 1959‑60; 1961‑62
  • Publications
  • Stewardship Kits
  • Tracts
Luther League
  • Revised Constitution & By‑Laws
  • Golden Jubilee History, 1895‑1954
  • Minutes, 1927
  • Programs
  • Various publications (on local level) including Edmilise (N.C.)
  • Tracts
Synods
  • Caribbean Synod (1952- )
  • Central Pennsylvania Synod (1938- )
    • Scrapbooks, 1943-1945
  • Michigan Synod (1920- ) 
United Lutheran Church Men and Women
Board of Education
  • Board of Education
  • Constitution & by‑laws
  • Minutes, 1924‑41 (incomplete)
  • Reports, 1920; 1922; 1924; 1930; 1932; 1936; 1938; 1942; 1948
Board of Home Missions & Church Extension
Became part of BAM in 1926.
  • Constitution
  • Executive Committee Minutes, 1924‑26
  • Minutes, Joint Commission for the Reorganization of Home Mission Work, 1925‑26
  • Immigrants Mission Board (became part of BAM in 1926)
  • Minutes, 1924; 1927
Board of Northwestern Missions
Became part of BAM in 1926.
  • Executive Committee minutes, 1925
  • Board minutes, 1924‑26
Board of Publication
  • Constitution and by‑laws
  • In Retrospect and in Prospect
  • Executive Committee minutes, 1918‑40
  • Board minutes, 1919‑39
  • Reports
  • Lutheran Conference on Christian Literature in Spanish, minutes, 1950
  • Joint Committee of Boards of Publication & Parish & Church School
  • Minutes, 1937
  • Catalogs
  • Church Bulletin Service
  • Samples, 1943‑67 (incomplete)
Inner Mission Board
  • Executive Committee minutes, 1924‑26
  • National Lutheran
  • Inner Mission Conference Inner Mission Societies (various locations)
United Lutheran Publication House
  • Curriculum Materials
  • Our Homes
  • Christian Life
  • International System, graded
  • Augsburg Home Department
  • other samples
  • Curriculum Materials
  • Stories of Early Hebrew Heroes
  • Stories of Early Church Heroes
  • Jesus and His Followers
  • Heavenly Father & His Children
  • Methods for Leaders
  • Devotional Booklets
  • Light for Today
  • Walk with Me
  • Daily Devotions
  • Word in Season
  • Way of Righteousness
  • other samples
  • Pastor's Plan Book, 1937‑47
  • Pastor's Desk Book, 1947‑62
  • Supplies, samples, order forms
Women's Missionary Society
  • Constitution
  • Committee on Women's Work, minutes, 1926
  • Programs and proceedings
  • Executive Board minutes, 1924‑31; 1949‑54
  • Administrative Committee minutes, 1950‑53 (incomplete)
  • Young Women's Congress
  • Tracts
Lutheran Church in America (1962-1987)
This record group contains materials relating to the Lutheran Church in America (LCA).

Click here to view the Lutheran Church in America inventory list.
Churchwide Organizations
Synods & Congregations
Miscellaneous
Audiovisual and Artifacts
INFO AND CONTACTS
Sheila Joy, Archivist
sjoy@uls.edu
717-339-1317
M-F: 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Please make an apointment before visiting. We are only occasionally able to accommodate walk-in requests.

Evan Boyd, Library Director and Archivist
eboyd@uls.edu
Augustana Evangelical Lutheran Church (formally Augustana Synod)
This record group contains materials relating to the Augustana Evangelical Lutheran Church (formally Augustana Synod).

Click here to view the Augustana Synod inventory list.
INFO AND CONTACTS
Sheila Joy, Archivist
sjoy@uls.edu
717-339-1317
M-F: 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Please make an apointment before visiting. We are only occasionally able to accommodate walk-in requests.

Evan Boyd, Library Director and Archivist
eboyd@uls.edu
American Lutheran Church (ALC) & Predecessor Bodies
This record group contains materials relating to the American Lutheran Church (ALC) and predecessor bodies.
Subgroups
American Lutheran Conference (1930-1954)

American Lutheran Church (1930-1960)

Evangelical Lutheran Church (1946-1960)

The American Lutheran Church (1960-1987)

Lutheran Free Church (1897-1963)
INFO AND CONTACTS
Sheila Joy, Archivist
sjoy@uls.edu
717-339-1317
M-F: 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Please make an apointment before visiting. We are only occasionally able to accommodate walk-in requests.

Evan Boyd, Library Director and Archivist
eboyd@uls.edu
Evangelical Lutheran Church (ELCA) (1988-present)
This record group contains materials relating to the ELCA.
Churchwide Organization
This subgroup contains materials relating to ELCA Churchwide.
 
  • Board of Pensions
  • Campus Ministry
  • Churchwide Assemblies
  • Commission for Multicultural Ministries
  • Division for Congregational Ministries
    • Youth Ministries
  • Division for Ministry: Study of Ministry, Together for Ministry, The Use of the Means of Grace
  • Domestic Disaster Response
  • Ecumenical and Interfaith (Office of the Bishop)
  • Fund for Leaders in Mission
  • Global Missions
  • Grace Matters (Radio Ministry)
  • Lutheran Men in Mission (Master Builders)
  • Lutheran Office for Governmental Affairs
  • Lutheran Vespers (Radio Ministry)
  • Mission Investment Fund
  • Office of the Presiding Bishop
  • Prayer Ventures
  • Social Statements and Related Research
  • Small Town and Rural Ministry (STaR)
  • St. Augustine’s House
  • Theological Education for Ministry
  • Vision for Mission
  • Aid Association for Lutherans
  • Alternatives
  • Bethesda Lutheran Homes and Services
  • Commission on Communication
  • Commission for Financial Support
  • Commission for Women
  • Conventions
  • The Deaconess Community/ Deaconess Association
  • Department of Organizing and Field Service
  • Department for Studies 
  • Division for Church in Society
    • Task Force on Peace
  • Division for Church in Society
    • Youth and Outdoor Ministries
  • Division for Education
  • Division for Global Mission
  • Task force on the Study of Ministry 
  • Task Force on the Study of Theological Education for Ministry
  • Women of the ELCA
  • World Hunger 
  • Youth Sexuality Studies
  • Division for Outreach
  • Division for Social Ministry Organizations
  • Federal Chaplaincies 
  • Leaflet Ministry Series
  • Loan Fund
  • Lutheran Laity Movement for Stewardship
  • Lutheran Social Services of the Miami Valley 
  • Mission 90
  • Office of the Bishop
  • St. Dysmas
  • Transition Team
    • Communications Work Group
    • Miscellaneous paperwork during transitional period
  • Literacy/Volunteer Reading Aids
  • Lutheran Layman’s Movement | Click here to view finding aid
  • Department for Research and Evaluation 
  • Lutheran Laity Movement Papers of Walter Jensen and Larry Wingard | Click here to view finding aid


 
Synods & Congregations
This subgroup contains materials relating to ELCA synods and congregations. The ELCA consists of 65 synods which are configured into nine regional offices. Contents mostly include pamphlets and local publications.

*Note that the regionional office numbers are in parentheses after each synod name.
 
  • Grand Canyon Synod (2D) 
  • Minneapolis and St. Paul Area Synods (3G & 3H)
  • Central States and Nebraska Synods (4A & 4B)
  • Metropolitan Chicago Synod (5A) Council Minutes, 1995-1998
  • Greater Milwaukee Synod (5J)
  • Metropolitan New York Synod (7C)
  • Northeastern Pennsylvania Synod (7E)
  • Slovak Zion Synod (7G)
  • Lutheran Advocacy Ministry in Pennsylvania (LAMPA)
  • Lower Susquehanna Synod (8D)
  • Metropolitan Washington, DC Synod (8G)
  • Virginia Synod (9A)
  • German Evangelical Lutheran Conference in North America
  • Western Maryland-West Virginia Synod
  • Southeastern Pennsylvania Synod
  • Navajo Evangelical Lutheran Mission
Reforming Groups
This subgroup contains materials relating to ELCA reforming groups.
 
  • Center for Catholic and Evangelical Today
  • Cross Alone Lutheran Churches
  • Extraordinary Lutheran Ministries, Reconciling Works, and Predecessors
  • Lutheran Network for Inclusive Vision
  • Confessing Synod Ministries | Click here to view finding aid.
  • Diaconal Ministry Strategy (DMS)
  • Fellowship of Confessional Lutheran
  • Materials Relating to Renewing Worship
Miscellaneous
This subgroup contains miscellaneous materials relating to the ELCA.
 
  • Devotionals
INFO AND CONTACTS
Sheila Joy, Archivist
sjoy@uls.edu
717-339-1317
M-F: 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Please make an apointment before visiting. We are only occasionally able to accommodate walk-in requests.

Evan Boyd, Library Director and Archivist
eboyd@uls.edu
World Missions
This record group contains materials relating to Lutheran world missions.
Organizations
This subgroup contains materials relating to specific organizations.
 
  • American Missions to the Lepers (Now known as the American Leprosy Missions)
  • Berliner Missionswerk
  • Bread for the World Institute 
  • Children’s Missionary Society of the Evangelical Lutheran Church 
  • ELS Foreign Missions, Helping Hands
  • Federation of Woman’s Boards of Foreign Mission of North America
  • Fellowship of Professors of Missions
  • Foreign Missions Conference of North America 
  • International Missionary Council
  • Laymen’s Foreign Missions Inquiry
  • Laymen’s Missionary Movement of North America
  • Lutheran Foreign Missions Conference
  • Miscellaneous
Countries
This subgroup contains materials categorized by county.

Africa

China
  • Annual Conference of the American Lutheran Mission in Shantung, China 1938, 1941
  • Council of the Lutheran Church of China
    • Reports 1928, 1934, 1937
    • Correspondence
  • Lutheran Hospital 
  • Reports 
  • Pamphlets 
  • Maps, Charts, and Posters 
  • Correspondences 
Hong Kong
  • Lutheran Theological Seminary (Hong Kong) 
India
  • Andhra Christian College
  • Andhra Christian Theological College
  • Andhra Evangelical Lutheran Church
  • Tracts for Educational Institutions
  • United Lutheran Church Missions
  • Publications
Bangladesh

Czech Republic and Slovakia (formerly Czecho-Slovakia)
  
Estonia

Eswatini

Ethiopia
 
France

Guyanna

Haiti

Israel

Japan

Latin America

Liberia

Namibia

Peru 

Russia

Tanzania (formerly Tanganyika) 

Zambia
(Currently the contents of this file are a Refugee camp in Zambia for Namibian Refugees)  

 
Photographs
This subgroup contains photographs relating to missions and missionaries.
  • Rev. Haaf Missions Photographs
  • India Missions Photographs
Miscellaneous
This subgroup contains miscelleanous materials relating to missions and missionaries.
  • Essays/Reports
  • Worship Materials
INFO AND CONTACTS
Sheila Joy, Archivist
sjoy@uls.edu
717-339-1317
M-F: 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Please make an apointment before visiting. We are only occasionally able to accommodate walk-in requests.

Evan Boyd, Library Director and Archivist
eboyd@uls.edu
Camps & Social Services
This record group contains materials relating to Lutheran camps and social services.
Camps
This subgroup contains materials relating to Lutheran camps. They are categorized in by state.


Pennsylvania Camps
  • Paradise Falls
  • Camp Whitmer
  • Central Pennsylvania Camps
  • Tuscarora Inn
  • Camp Sequanota
  • Mount Luther Camp
  • Camp Susquehanna
  • Wittel Farm
  • Lutherlyn
  • Camp Juniata
  • Ministerium Camp
  • Lutherland
  • Lutheran Camp Association, Jennerstown, PA
  • Allegheny Synod Camp for Boys
  • Summer Service Project
  • Lutheran Social Mission Society of Philadelphia
  • Lutheran Camping Corporation 
  • Lutheran Engaged Encounter
  • Camp Nawakwa

Maryland Camps
  • Camp Jolly Acers 

West Virginia Camps


Wisconsin Camps
  • Indian Sands

 
Social Services: Pennsylvania
This subgroup contains materials relating to Lutheran social services in Pennsylvania.

Pennsylvania
  • Good Shepard Home
    • The Shepard’s Fold
  • Muhlenberg Medical Center
  • The Cluster
  • Lutheran Social Services- Chambersburg Center
  • Adams County Interfaith Housing Corp. 
  • Partners in Ministry
  • Lutheran Social Services 
  • Lutheran Deaconess Association 
  • Diocese of Central Pennsylvania 
  • Lutheran Coalition on Public Policy
  • Bethesda House
  • Tuscarora Inn and conference center
  • Haverford Center
  • Lankeau Hospital
  • Lankeau School
  • Luther Hospice for Young Men
  • Messiah Hebrew Lutheran Mission
  • Samaritan Shelter
  • Inner Mission Society
  • Lutheran Service Society of Western PA
  • Lutheran Children’s Bureau of Eastern PA
  • Passavant Hospital
    • Visitor
  • Passavant Memorial Homes for the care of Epileptics
  • The Vacation House
  • Shrewsburg Lutheran Home
  • Emmaus Acres
  • Lutheran Home at Telford
  • Lutheran Center
  • Lutheran Home for the aged 
  • Topton Orphan’s Home 
  • Lutheran Home at Topton
  • Lutheran Social Services South Region
    • York Lutheran Home Messenger
    • South Region Messenger
    • In Touch 
  • Glade Run Foundation
    • The Bridge
  • Old People’s Home
  • Philadelphia Deaconess Motherhouse
    • Anniversary Booklets, 1924,1934,1959
    • Dedication Report 1888
    • Programs and Events (1935-1968)
    • Miscellaneous History
    • Deaconess Work and Literature Miscellany
  • Lutheran Home for Aged and Orphans at Germantown
    • Charter, Constitution, and By-laws
    • Commemorations and Anniversaries
    • Handbooks
    • The Deaconess
    •  Tracts
  • Tressler Lutheran Home 
    • Orphan's Home
      • Charters, Constitution, By-laws
      • Children’s Day
      • Commemorations
      • Letters
      • Miscellaneous Tracts and Pamphlets
      • Prints
      • Reports
      • The Story of…The Tressler Lutheran Home for Children 1868-1953: 75 Years of Character Building
  • Tressler Lutheran Social Services (Diakon)
    • Admissions
    • Anniversaries and Commemorations
    • Diakon Lutheran Social Ministries Post 2000
    • Newsletters
    • Reports
    • Requests for Donations
    • Service Directories
    • Touching Lives through Service
    • Miscellaneous
  • Tressler Lutheran Social Service, Central PA
  • Tressler Lutheran Service Associates
Social Services: Other States

Maryland
  • Baltimore Lutheran Deaconess Motherhouse
  • Baltimore Community of St. Dysmas
  • Baltimore Inner Mission Society
  • Lutheran Social Services of Maryland 
  • Claggett Diocesan Center (The Cupola) 
  • The Link - Carroll Lutheran Village 
  • Salem Hebrew Lutheran Mission 
  • National Lutheran Home (See Also National Lutheran Home, D.C.) 

Delaware
  • Lutheran Community Services 

Washington D.C.
  • Lutheran Volunteer Corps
  • National Lutheran Home for the Aged

Illinois
  • Wheat Ridge Ministries

Indiana
  • Lutheran Deaconess Association

Iowa
  • Help, Hope, and Healing (Lutheran Social Service of Iowa) 

Kentucky
  • Jefferson Louisville Lutheran Home

Michigan
  • Lutheran Charities, Detroit
  • Lutheran Social Services of Michigan

Minnesota
  • Lutheran Renewal

Missouri
  • Concordia Historical Institute, St. Louis
  • Lutheran Senior Services -Engaging the Aging (Newsletter)

Montana
  • Lutheran Social Services of Montana

Nebraska
  • Bethpage Home, Axtell
  • Tabitha Home 
  • Martin Luther Home Society, Inc., Lincoln
  • Bethpage & Martin Luther Together (Mosaic), Omaha
  • Immanuel Deaconess Institute, Omaha
  • Immanuel Medical Center, Omaha

New Jersey
  • Lutheran Welfare Association of New Jersey
  • Vereins fuer deutsche Seemannsfuersorge, Hoboken
  • Kinderfreund Orphans' Home, Jersey City
  • Lutheran Memorial Hospital Association, Newark

New York
  • ​Bethlehem Orphanage
  • Lutheran Church Home
  • Lutheran Social Services of New York
  • Central Association of Young Men’s Lutheran Associations of the City of 
  • New York
  • Lutheran Seaman’s Center
  • Lutheran Welfare Council
  • Inner Mission Society
  • Society of Inner Mission and Rescue Work
  • Metropolitan Inner Mission Society

North Carolina
  • Home Link
  • The Link

North Dakota
  • The Ambassador
  • Lutheran Hospitals and Homes Society
    • Advocate
    • Channels
    • Caring

Ohio
  • Lutheran Social Service League of the Miami Valley 
    • In Review
  • Lutheran Inner Mission league of the Miami Valley
  • Lutheran Social Services of the Miami Valley
    • Voice 
  • Oesterlen Home for Children 
  • Oesterlen Services for Youth
    • Oesterlen Harold
  • Lutheran Home of Mercy
    • “Echoes of Mercy”
  • Lutheran Inner Mission Society (Toledo) 


South Carolina
  • Lutheran Home of South Carolina
    • Touchstone

Texas
  • Lutheran Outdoor Ministries of the southwest
  • Lutheran General Hospital
  • Lutheran Hospital

Washington
  • Holden Village

Europe
  • Diakonie Schwesternschuft Zehlendorf
INFO AND CONTACTS
Sheila Joy, Archivist
sjoy@uls.edu
717-339-1317
M-F: 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Please make an apointment before visiting. We are only occasionally able to accommodate walk-in requests.

Evan Boyd, Library Director and Archivist
eboyd@uls.edu
Other Lutheran Denominations
This record group contains materials relating to Lutheran denominations outside the ELCA.
Lutheran Church-Missouri Synod (LC-MS)
This subgroup contains materials relating to the Lutheran Church-Missouri Synod (LC-MS).
  • Sunday School Resources, 1933, 1935, 1945
  • “Little Lambs” No. 42-49
  • Curricula for Lutheran Schools, 1931-1937
  • Evaluation Blanks for Report of Committee on Higher Education, 1935
  • Concordia Teacher-Training Series Instructors Guides, 1938-1939
  • Annotated Pocket New Testament, Matthew and Mark, 1942
  • CPH Devotional Booklets (English), 1937-1941
  • CPH Devotional Booklets (English), 1942-1965
  • CPH Devotional Booklets (German), 1938-1944
  • Miscellaneous Published Materials, 1919-2001
  • Board of Parish Education 
  • Lutheran Women’s Missionary League, 1988, 2003-2008
  • South Central Michigan Circuit Reports, 1993
  • Michigan District Convention, 1994
  • Michigan District Convention (1 of 2), 1997
  • Michigan District Convention (2 of 2), 1997
  • Southeastern District Convention, 1997
  • Walther League Scrapbook, 1930
Wisconsin Evangelical Lutheran Synod (WELS) and Evangelical Lutheran Synod (ELS)
This subgroup contains materials relating to Wisconsin Evangelical Lutheran Synod (WELS) and Evangelical Lutheran Synod (ELS)
  • WELS Historical Institute Letters, 1998, 2000
  • ELS Thank Offering Letters, 2001
  • Pamphlets 
North American Lutheran Church (NALC)
This subgroup contains materials relating to the North American Lutheran Church (NALC).
  • NALC News, May 2011
Association of Free Lutheran Congregations (AFLC)
This subgroup contains materials relating to Association of Free Lutheran Congregations (AFLC).
  • Servant Pastor (Seminary Publication), 2007-2011
  • Miscellaneous Publications, 2007-2008
INFO AND CONTACTS
Sheila Joy, Archivist
sjoy@uls.edu
717-339-1317
M-F: 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Please make an apointment before visiting. We are only occasionally able to accommodate walk-in requests.

Evan Boyd, Library Director and Archivist
eboyd@uls.edu
Ecumenical Organizations
This record group contains materials relating to ecumenical organizations.
World Council of Churches (WCC)
This subgroup contains materials relating to the World Council of Churches (WCC).
  • Department on Church and Society
  • Department on the Cooperation of Men and Women in Church and Society
  • Youth Department 
    • Ecumenical Work Camps
  • Division of Inner Church aid and service
  • Division of Studies
  • Department of Studies
  • Commission on Faith and Order
  • Commission on Religious Liberty
  • Commission of the Churches on International Affairs.
  • Ecumenical Institute
  • Committee on the History of the Ecumenical Movement
  • WCC Historical Background and Founding Information
  • J.P.I.C. (Justice, Peace, Integrity of Creation)
  • Mission Happener
  • Miscellaneous Tracts and Correspondence
  • Statements
    • Statement on Vietnam 
  • United States Office
  • Week of Prayer for Christian Unity
  • World Conventions
  • Conference of U. S. Member Churches
    • American Committee
  • Reports
  • First Assembly in Amsterdam 
  • News Releases 
National Council of Churches of the United States of America (NCCUSA)
This subgroup contains materials relating to National Council of Churches of the United States of America (NCCUSA).
  • Constituting Convention and General Assembly held at Public Auditorium, Cleveland Ohio, November 28-December 2, 1950
  • Proposed Budget for 1951 (1 of 2)
  • Proposed Budget for 1951 (2 of 2)
  • Committee on Constitution and By-Laws—Fourth General Report, September 24, 1952
  • Second Biannual Assembly held at St. John’s Cathedral, Denver, Colorado, December 9-12, 1952.
  • Proposed Amendments to the Constitution and By-Laws, to be given to General Assembly, November 28-December 3, 1954
  • General Board Meeting, New York City, January 17, 1951
  • General Board Meeting, New York City, January 30, 1952
  • General Board Meeting, Chicago, June 11, 1952
  • General Board Meeting, New York City, September 24, 1952
  • General Board Meeting, New York City, November 19, 1952
  • General Board Meeting, New York City, January 27-28, 1953
  • General Board Meeting, New York City, March 11, 1953
  • General Board Meeting, New York City, January 20, 1954
  • General Board Meeting, New York City, March 16, 1954
  • General Board Meeting, Evanston, Illinois, May 19-19, 1954
  • Report of Committee of Ten on Headquarters Location, 1954
  • United Church Men Annual Meeting, Board of Managers, Denver, Colorado, December 8, 1952
  • United Church Men Annual Meeting, Board of Managers, Detroit, Michigan, November 7-8, 1953
  • National Lay Committee 
  • Personnel Committee
  • Division of Christian Education—3rd Biennial Assembly, Boston, Massachusetts, November 29-December 1, 1954 
  • Division of Christian Education—Drama Resources
  • Division of Christian Education—Camping Resources
  • Division of Christian Education—Vocation Church Schools
  • Division of Christian Life and Work 
  • Department of Racial and Cultural Relations
  • Division of Christian Unity—Department of Faith and Order, 1966 and 1967
  • Division of Foreign Missions
  • Department of Stewardship and Benevolence 
  • Committee on Churches’ Ministry to Men and Women in Uniform and Defense Industry Workers 
  • United Lutheran Church in America (ULCA) and the NCCCUSA
  • Music
  • Miscellaneous Papers and Pamphlets 
  • Church Center for the United Nations
  • Church Women United 
  • Commission on Higher Education
  • Commission on Religion and Race
  • Committee on Religion and Public Education
  • Department of Educational Development
    • Commission on Marriage and Family Life
  • Department on Evangelism
  • Department of Research 
  • Education for Christian Life and Mission 
  • Statements and Resolutions
  • Studies 
  • United Christian Youth Movement—Youth Week Materials, 1950-1970
  • United Christian Youth Movement—Miscellaneous
Organizations
This subgroup contains materials relating to specific ecumenical organizations other than the World Council of Churches and National Council of Churches of the United States of America.
  • The American Jewish Committee
  • Benedictine Missionaries
  • Foreign Missions Conference of North America
  • The Church Musician and the Copyright Law (CMPA)
  • Coffee Information Service
  • Goodwill Industries of America 
  • The Healing Community
  • Institute for Ecumenical Research
  • International Missionary Council 
  • Iona
  • Koinonia
  • Mission Partners 
  • Commission on World Mission (formerly the Student Volunteer Movement) of the National Student Christian Federation (related to the National Council of Churches) 
  • The National Conference of Christians and Jews
  • National Committee of Negro Churchmen
  • The North American Association of Christians in Social Work
  • Parish Publications
  • Peace with Justice Week (the address is the church institute of the U.N. all the undersigned organizations are in the U.S., 1989)
  • Responsible Energy Sabbath Weekend 
  • Stephen Ministries
  • Union Theological Chapel
  • Week of Prayer for Christian Unity
  • World Institute on Christian Education
  • Miscellaneous

 
INFO AND CONTACTS
Sheila Joy, Archivist
sjoy@uls.edu
717-339-1317
M-F: 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Please make an apointment before visiting. We are only occasionally able to accommodate walk-in requests.

Evan Boyd, Library Director and Archivist
eboyd@uls.edu