Record Group: Manuscripts
Here you will find papers of distinguished professors, presidents, and alumni.

 
Aberly-Artz

Aberly, John (1867-1963) BX
Lutheran clergyman, missionary, professor and president of Gettysburg Seminary, 1926-1940
Ainsworth, John Edgar (1887-1951) BX+
Lutheran clergyman in Maryland, Connecticut and Pennsylvania
  • Notes, certificates, 1 box.

Alleman, Henry Snyder (1897-?) BX
Lutheran clergyman in Virginia and Pennsylvania
  • Card file, 1 box.
  • Papers: sermons (1928-1984), 6 boxes.

Alleman, Herbert Christian (1868-1953) BX
Lutheran clergyman in Pennsylvania and professor at Gettysburg Seminary
  • Letters of recognition on his 80th birthday, bibliography of writings, notes on the genealogy of the Alleman family and other miscellany, 1 box.

Anderson, Floyd E. Finding Aid
  • Papers relating to Augustana Lutheran Church, Washington, DC.

Anderson, George W. (1821-1888) BX+
Lutheran clergyman in Maryland and New Jersey
  • Correspondence and accounts, 2 boxes.

Anspach, John George (1801-1889) BX+
Lutheran clergyman in Pennsylvania
  • Certificate of Ordination
  • Notebook in Dogmatics
  • Records of Pastoral Acts
  • Discourse on the death of Henry Clay


Apel, Mary Elizabeth Finding Aid
  • Letters to Rev. Frederick C.J. Sternat
Mary Apel Letters Finding Aid


Arey, Maria Raynor Finding Aid
  • Family Papers
  • Letters
Arey Family Papers finding aid
 
Barnitz-Burgess
Barnitz, Samuel B.
  • Reports
  • Correspondence


Bendle, Philip S., III. (1950–2003). Finding Aid
Lutheran clergyman in Pennsylvania
  • Sermons, 19 boxes
 


Bernhard, Leopold W. (1915-1985)
German-born Lutheran clergyman who arrived in the United States in 1937 and served congregations in Ohio, Illinois, Maryland, New York and Washington, D.C.
  • Papers, 37 boxes
 

Bittle, David Frederick* (1811-1876) Finding Aid
Lutheran clergyman in Virginia and Maryland and president of Roanoke College
  • Sermons, lectures and outlines, 3 boxes. BX+
*Papers are on semi-permanent loan to Roanoke Collage as of March 20, 2017



Bramer, James R. (1942-2014)
  • Assorted annotated booklets


Bream, Howard Nelson (1917-1986)
Lutheran clergyman in Illinois and Colorado and professor at the Lutheran Seminaries in Waterloo, Ontario, and Gettysburg
  • Papers on Myers Festschrift and Stamm Festschrift,
  • 2nd copy of Thesis, 1944, 1 box.
 

Burgess, Ellis Beaver (1869-1947)
Lutheran clergyman in Pennsylvania and president of Pittsburgh and New York Synods
--Papers collected for Pittsburgh Synod history, 1 box.

 
Ceder-Croll
Ceder, Efraim | Finding Aid
Foreign missionary to Buenos Aires, Argentina from 1916-1919



Clutz, Jacob Abraham (1848-1925)
Lutheran clergyman in Maryland and Pennsylvania and professor at Western and Gettysburg Seminaries (President of Midland College)
  • Papers, 2 boxes


Cossairt, Joseph A.
  • The Cossart Family: A genealogy of the family Cossart (Cassat, Cossairt) presented by the author in March, 1936, mimeographed, 105 leaves.


Croll, Philip Columbus (1852-1949)
Lutheran clergyman in Pennsylvania and Illinois
  • Letter from Schuylkill Haven, PA. to Miss Alice Keefer, extending comfort to "friend and sister" in the time of her convales­cence. Accompanied by a letter from Arthur Graeff, Penn­syl­vania German Folklore Society, explaining the donation of the letter, December 31, 1889
  • Volume of Letters, 1881-1894 --  A Collection of Autograph Letters from Eminent Men & Women Received in Reply to Correspondence; Generally on Literary Topics, and occasioned by the production of a few volumes by myself. Handwritten (majority), 60+ pages. (Detailed typed list of People in box)
  • Booklet,  Our Golden-Wedding Souvenir and Ebenezer, March 11, 1880 to March 11, 1930 (Wife -- Sarah A. Greiss Croll)
      (signatures of husband and wife in back) (contains story of the family.) Printed, 89 pages.
  • Booklet,  "In Memoriam -- Rose Wentworth Croll" (daughter), born  April 28, 1883 -- died March 14, 1901. Printed, 31 pages.
INFO AND CONTACTS
Sheila Joy, Archivist
sjoy@uls.edu
717-339-1317
M-F: 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Please make an apointment before visiting. We are only occasionally able to accommodate walk-in requests.

Evan Boyd, Library Director and Archivist
eboyd@uls.edu
Manuscripts
Here you will find papers of distinguished professors, presidents, and alumni.

 
Danovia-Dunkelberger
Danovia, Ernst Jacob
  • Commentary on Romans, Jenae, 1777, Winter semester, notes with name of student cut out.

Daugherty, Silas Davis (1857-1939) | Finding Aid
Lutheran clergyman in Pennsylvania and missionary to South America
  • Diaries and accounts
  
 
Deissmann, Adolph (1832-1900)
Theologian, University of Berlin
  • Papers, partially sorted, 1 box.
 

Drumm, Walter J. (?-1969) BD
Lutheran clergyman in Pennsylvania
  • Scrapbook on Pennsylvania Lutheranism

Dunbar, William Henry (1852-1920)
Lutheran clergyman in Pennsylvania and Maryland
  • Correspondence and papers, partially sorted, 2 boxes

Dunkelberger, Harold A. (1915-2012)
Lutheran clergyman and professor at Gettysburg College.
 
Foelsch-Fortenbaugh
Foelsch, Charles Berend (1891-1974) | Finding Aid
  • Diaries, 1920-1972
  • Chicago Lutheran Theological Seminary Souvenir Commencement Program, 1915

Folkemer, Lawrence D.
  • Capitol Hill Lecture Series, 1955, 1957-1958, undated
  • Church of Reformation Bulletin sermons, 1958-1962, undated
  • Biblical Understanding of the Church coursework, 1964
INFO AND CONTACTS
Sheila Joy, Archivist
sjoy@uls.edu
717-339-1317
M-F: 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Please make an apointment before visiting. We are only occasionally able to accommodate walk-in requests.

Evan Boyd, Library Director and Archivist
eboyd@uls.edu
Manuscripts
Here you will find papers of distinguished professors, presidents, and alumni.

 
Gindlesperger-Grimm
Gindlesperger, Norman L. 
  • Family papers and photographs, 1759-1954

​Gladfelter, Paul (1882-1959)
Lutheran clergyman in West Virginia and Maryland
  • Papers


Gotwald, Frederick Gebhart (1869-1926)
Lutheran clergyman in Ohio and Pennsylvania and Executive Secretary of the Board of Education of the General Synod of the United Lutheran Church of America
  • Papers, partially sorted, 1 box.
Related Collecitons: Gotwald, Luther Alexander, Jr. BX


Gotwald, Luther Alexander (1898-1966)
Lutheran missionary to India, Executive Secretary, Division of Foreign Missions, NCCCUSA, 1953-1963
  • Family papers and photographs, and Letters from colleagues upon retirement, 1963, 1 box.
Related Collections: Board of Higher Education, Executive Secretary (NSR)


Gotwald, Luther Alexander, Jr. (1927-2018) BX
Lutheran clergyman in Pennsylvania, graduate of Gettysburg Seminary, 1950
  • Papers, 3 boxes

Gotwald Reminiscences BX
Includes Reminiscences by Rev. Frederick Gebhart Gotwald II, Luther A. Gotwald, Jr., Will F. Gotwald. Also includes an oral history of the King-Gotwald Homestead, A Tribute of Love to Rev. George D. Gottwald, and dates regarding Frederick Gebhart Gotwald.
  • Resume Speed: An Autobiography (2005)
  • Hymns I,II,III


Graves, Uriel
  • Case Papers (Maryland Synod)
    • See Lutheran Organizations Collection, Record Group 3.2.12


Grimm, Karl Joseph (1871-1954) BX
Lutheran clergyman in Illinois and professor at Ursinus and Gettysburg Colleges
  • Lecture notes from Johns Hopkins, 2 boxes 
  • See Also: Troxell, Millard Francis (SR)
Hale-Houseal
Hale, J. Russell (1918-1994) 
Seminary professor
  • Professional/Professorship Papers
  • Student Papers


Hamsher, Mervin Roy (1882-1976) BX
Lutheran clergyman in Maryland and Pennsylvania
  • Papers, partially sorted, 1 box.


Hankey, Upton A. L. E. (Upton Augustus Luther Eyler) (1856-1913) BX
Lutheran clergyman in Pennsylvania
  • Sermons and sermon outlines, unsorted, 14 boxes. BX
Related Collections: Bendersville, Pennsylvania. Bethlehem Lutheran Church (NSR)



Harttmann, Theophilus (?-1830[?]) BD, BX
Professor at Kloster Maulbron, Wurtemburg
  • Papers, partially sorted, 2 boxes. BX


Hay, Charles Augustus (1821-1893) BX+
Lutheran clergyman in Pennsylvania and professor at Gettysburg Seminary
  • Family papers, includes Hay and Barnitz Family Records: negative photocopies of 4 pages from an old Bible, beginning with the grandparents of C. A. Hay and his wife, Sarah Rebecca Barnitz, partially sorted, 1 box. 
Related Collections:
  • Charles A. Hay Vertical File Manuscript Collection
  • Brown, James Allen SR
  • Buehler, D. A. SR
  • Holloway, Henry Clay SR
  • Krauth, Charles Philip SR
  • Raby, Peter NSR
  • Reck, Henry NSR
  • Winecoff, Jesse SR


Hedahl, Susan K.  Finding Aid




Heiges, Donald R. (1910-1990) 
Lutheran clergyman, Executive Secretary of the Division of Colleges and Universities, National Lutheran Council, dean of the Chicago Lutheran Seminary in Maywood, Illinois, president of Gettysburg Seminary (1962-1976)
  • Presidential Papers


Heim, Ralph Daniel (1895-1983) BX+
Lutheran clergyman in Chicago and professor at Thiel College, Hartwick College and Gettysburg Seminary
  • Papers, partially sorted, 21 boxes

Helldorfer Jr., Louis K. | Finding Aid



Henkel, David (1795-1831) BX+
Lutheran clergyman in Tennessee Synod, served as home missionary in North Carolina until 1821
  • 2 boxes. (Copy of letter from his father, Jan. 20, 1820? in S.S.S. Papers, 3780.0008

Henkel, Paul (1754-1825) BX+  
Lutheran clergyman active in organizing the North Carolina Synod Related Collections: Maurer, Beryl Blake. Autobiography of P. Henkel



Herman, Stewart Winfield, Sr. (1878-1947)
Lutheran clergyman and author, graduate of Gettysburg College (1930) and Gettysburg Seminary (1934); served the Lutheran Church in a variety of positions in this country and abroad, including with the WCC, LWF, and NLC; served also in the U.S. government in the 1940's; president, Lutheran School of Theology, Chicago, 1964-1971. Retired, 1971. 

Collection includes notes and papers from Seminary student days and study abroad; articles, reports, and reviews; sermons and addresses; American Church in Berlin correspondence; papers and manuscripts; German church documentation, 1945-1950s; letters home; other correspondence; scrapbooks; and photographs

Finding Aid 1 (Boxes 1-23)
Finding Aid 2 (Boxes 24-25) (Photographs)
Finding Aid 3 (Boxes 26-43)




Hoffman, Bengt R., (1913-1997) BX
Lutheran clergyman and professor at Gettysburg Seminary
  • Papers and lectures on Aquinas and Luther. Courses taught with Father Andrew Newman, O.P., for the Consortium, esp.,"The Grandeur and Misery of Man."  (BX)
  • Papers and course materials. BX
  • Course materials, 1970s; Lay School; retreats and speaking engagements, 1970s-1990s; notes on Epistemology, Ecumenics, Luther, Spirituality, Prayer, Healings, Ethics, etc.
  • Syllabus, notes, and material for course "The Grandeur and Misery of Man," material on Thomas Aquinas, and autographed xeroxed copy of Law, Grace, and the Freedom of the Christian in the Theology of St. Thomas Aquinas by William A. Newman, O.P. 1 box. BX
  • Miscellaneous course notes on Martin Luther, Ethics (including theological, situational, Catholic, social, etc.), contribution to Festschrift, and other social issues. 1 box. BX
  • Miscellaneous course notes on Social Justice, Christian Ethics, etc. and Luther's Two Kingdoms.1 box. BX
  • Miscellaneous course notes and resources. 5 boxes. BX
  • Copies of published writings from his files. 1 box. BX
  • Bibliographic file cards of references and sources. 2 boxes.
  • Photo Albums. 1 box BX
  • 1953 presented to him at end of service in WCC, 1949-1953
  • 1958 presented to him from LWF in Jordan (director of Lutheran World Service, 1956-1961)
  • Personal Papers, letters, travel notes from China
  • Resume from Pearl Hoffman


Hoover, Harvey Daniel (1880-1958) BX+
Lutheran clergyman in Pennsylvania, president of Carthage College, professor at Susquehanna University and Gettysburg College
  • Papers, partially sorted, 19 boxes


Houseal, Bernard Michael (?-1790) BX+
Lutheran clergyman in New York in 1770. Later joined the Church of England and moved to Nova Scotia
  • Papers, partialy sorted, 1 box.
Jacobs-Josephus
Jacobs, David (1805-1830) SR, NSR
Lutheran clergyman in Pennsylvania
  • Address delivered at the Theological Seminary, Gettysburg, Oct. 6th, 1826 SR Handwritten, 3 p. Photocopy, with 2 copies of p. 3. Original in Archives at Krauth Library, Lutheran Theological Seminary, Philadelphia.
  • Diploma, B.A. from Jefferson College October, 1825 (NSR)
  • Preaching license From the Evangelical Lutheran Ministerium West of the Susquehanna (West Pennsylvania Synod), October 7, 1829 (NSR)
Related Collecitons: Baugher, Henry Louis NSR


Jacobs, Henry Eyster (1844-1932)
Lutheran clergyman in Pennsylvania and professor at Gettysburg College and Philadelphia Seminary
  • Memoirs, 2 volumes. Copy of a transcription edited shortly after Jacob's death (BD)
  • Sketch of Latin History and Mythology. Transcribed by one of his students, John Charles Francis Rupp, while at the college (BD)
Related Collections: Croll, Philip Columbus


Jacobs, Michael (1808-1871) SR, NSR
Lutheran clergyman in Pennsylvania and professor of mathematics at Pennsylvania College
  • Letter From Gettysburg to the Board of Directors of the Seminary suggesting an irregularity in the election of one of their members, April 16, 1845 SR
  • Notes on the Thirteenth Convention of the General Synod, May 16-22, 1845 NSR
    • N. B. Jacobs' signature is on the official minutes of the convention, as Secretary. Also includes "General View of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in the U.S." and Report from the Committee on Elections, signed by P. W. Engs, B. Kurtz and E. Keller, as well as scrap paper.

Jenkins, William (?-1877) NSR
Pioneer itinerant Lutheran missionary of the North Carolina Synod
  • Ordination certificate granted by the Evangelical Lutheran Synod of North Carolina and Adjacent States, signed by G. Shober, president, May 7, 1828
  • Sermon outlines - Packet of 43 separate outlines encased in a small leather envelope.
    • Donated by F.W.E. Peschau, 1879


Jesse, F. NSR
Lutheran clergyman in Texas Synod and sometime secretary of thatorganization
  • Letter from Brenham, Tex., to Sylvanus Stall, Lancaster, Pa., enclosing statistics of the Texas Synod and regrets that the minutes are not available, November 30, 1883

Josephus SR
  • Evaluation of a translation of the book by a committee composed of C.P. Krauth, Father Heyer, and J. G. Schmucker.

 
INFO AND CONTACTS
Sheila Joy, Archivist
sjoy@uls.edu
717-339-1317
M-F: 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Please make an apointment before visiting. We are only occasionally able to accommodate walk-in requests.

Evan Boyd, Library Director and Archivist
eboyd@uls.edu
Manuscripts
Here you will find papers of distinguished professors, presidents, and alumni.

 
Kloetzli-Kurtz
Kloetzli, Walter (1921-?) BX
Lutheran clergyman in New Jersey. Secretary, Urban Church Planning, National Lutheran Council
  • Papers, 1 box

Knauff, J. G.

Koons, Robert W. (1917-?) BX  
Lutheran clergyman in Maryland, Pennsylvania, and Virginia

Kuhlman, Luther (1851-1936) BX+
Lutheran clergyman in Pennsylvania and professor at Gettysburg Seminary
  • Papers, partially sorted, 1 box.


Kurtz, Benjamin (?-1865) NSR, BX+
Lutheran clergyman in Maryland, editor, writer
  • Papers, partially sorted, 1 box (index in box) BX+
Related Collections:
  • Lutheran Home Missionary Society
  • Wiegmann, Christian Ludwig Wiegmann 
Lewars-Liebegott
Lewars, Elsie Singmaster (1879-1958) (BX)
Liebegott, Charles Edgar (1888–1939) BX  
  • Sermons, 1915-1939


 
Manhart-Myers
Manhart, Franklin Pierce (1852-1933) BX+
Lutheran clergyman in Pennsylvania, superintendent of Missionary Institute, and president of Susquehanna University and the General Synod, 1922-1926
  • Papers, partially sorted, 4 boxes.
Related Collections: Milton Valentine, letter to Manhart (SR)



Markley, Mary Elizabeth (?-1954) BX
First woman secretary of the Board of Education of the ULCA, 1919-1946
  • Papers, partially sorted, 9 boxes.


Maurer, Beryl Blake (1920-2003) BX  
Lutheran Clergyman, WV & MD Synod, Town & Country Church at LTSG
  • Personal papers, Health self-notes
  • Book: The Lutheran Mountaineers
  • P. Henkel autobiography with notes
  • WV & MD Synod, pastoral mobility, mission strategy, evangelism
  • Copies of the journal, Traditions of West Virginia/Folk Culture and Educational Awareness, 1993-2001
  • Lutheran Church in America/Board of American Missions
    • Selected Papers
    • Meeting Minutes
    • Monthly parish development reports



Mennig, George P. BX
Lutheran clergyman, father of William Mennig and pupil of George Lochman (1773-1826) who was a pupil of Helmuth
  • Papers, unsorted, 3 boxes


Mennig, William Goepfert (1811-1887) NSR, BX+
Lutheran clergyman in Pennsylvania
  • Papers, partially sorted, 3 boxes BX+
Related Collections: Edwin F. Weston (NSR)


Metzler, Elder John (1843-1905)
Lutheran clergyman in Pennsylvania
  • Biographical files
  • Miscellaenous


Morris, John Gottlieb (1803-1895) SR, NSR, BX+ Finding Aid
Lutheran clergyman in Maryland, part-time instructor at Gettysburg Seminary, founder of Lutheran Historical Society, Lutheran Observer Related Collections: Philip Columbus Croll letters and scrapbook (BX+)


Myers, Jacob Martin (1904-1991) BX
Lutheran clergyman in Pennsylvania and professor at Gettysburg Seminary
  • Papers, partially sorted, 1 box
INFO AND CONTACTS
Sheila Joy, Archivist
sjoy@uls.edu
717-339-1317
M-F: 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Please make an apointment before visiting. We are only occasionally able to accommodate walk-in requests.

Evan Boyd, Library Director and Archivist
eboyd@uls.edu
Manuscripts
Here you will find papers of distinguished professors, presidents, and alumni.

 
Nellis
Nellis, Peter S. (1821-1901) BX+
Lutheran clergyman
  • Papers, partially sorted, 1 box
Officer
Officer, Morris (1823-1874) NSR, BX
Lutheran missionary in Africa See also: The Life of Rev. Morris Officer, A.M. by Alex. J. located in General Collection, call number: BX8080 .O2 I6

 
Parson-Paulssen
Parson, George (1819-1897) BX+
Graduate of Gettysburg College (1842) and Gettysburg Seminary (1844); clergyman in the greater central Pennsylvania area  (1844-1884); president and treasurer of several "District Synods"; and Board of Directors, Gettysburg Seminary (April 1850 and 1870-1874)
  • Approximately 463 hand-written sermons
  • "Brief Historical Sketches of the Churches in the Muncy Charge," dated Muncy August 1, 1855
  • 1879 Constitution & By-Laws of the Susquehanna Synod, ELC
  • Official letter of Thanks from Zion Evangelical Lutheran Church on Parson's retirement, dated Sunbury Oct. 13th, 1884
  • Several letters, essays, speeches (including one to the Alumni of Gettysburg College in 1868), and a few miscellaneous items

Paulssen, Bertha (1891-1973) BX+  
Professor of Christian Sociology and Psychology at Gettysburg Seminary
  • Personal paper, letters, sermons. BX 1
  • Papers, partially sorted, some photos included, 15 boxes. BX+
  • Papers, partially sorted, 4 boxes BX
  • Student papers (1946-1956), 8 boxes BX
Rasmussen-Ruthrauff
Rasmussen, Carl Christian (1890-1992) BX
Lutheran clergyman in Pennsylvania and Washington, D.C., and  professor at Gettysburg Seminary
  • Papers, 14 boxes


Rice, John Henry (1907–1970) BX ++
Lutheran clergyman in Pennsylvania; graduate of Gettysburg College (1930) and Gettysburg Seminary (1933)
  • Scrapbook of 30th Anniversary of Ministry, includes letters of well wishing from prominent Lutherans, 1 oversized box


Richard, James William (1843-1909) BX
Lutheran clergyman, professor at Carthage College and Wittenberg and Gettysburg Seminaries
  • Papers, partially sorted, 1 box
Related Collections: Vatican Library (Located in Vertical File Manuscripts. Consult archivist for more information.)
INFO AND CONTACTS
Sheila Joy, Archivist
sjoy@uls.edu
717-339-1317
M-F: 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Please make an apointment before visiting. We are only occasionally able to accommodate walk-in requests.

Evan Boyd, Library Director and Archivist
eboyd@uls.edu
Manuscripts
Here you will find papers of distinguished professors, presidents, and alumni.

 
Sadler-Summers
Sadler, Wesley Leonadis (1909-1994) BX+
Lutheran clergyman, missionary to Africa, and literacy expert
Collections contain:
  • College related materials, Seminary, honorary degrees
  • Correspondence
  • Photographs
  • Missions material relating to Liberia, Tanganyika (Tanzania), Kitwe, Northern Rhodesia (now Zambia), Papua New Guinea, Sumatra, Indonesia
  • Literacy materials
  • Loma Language materials
  • Salobemlinu language (WLS made-up language)
  • Publications
  • Articles, etc. on Language, Literacy and Literature
 
Sanford, Annie Evaline (1873-1961) BX+  
Lutheran missionary in Hindu Girls' School, Guntur, India

Sassaman, Robert S. (1914-1996) BX
Lutheran clergyman, Pennsylvania; Chaplain, USN
  • Personal papers, sermons and prayers

Sassaman, Robert W. (1941-2002) BX
Lutheran clergyman, Pennsylvania
  • Personal papers, class notes on professors Eric Gritsch and Bengt Hoffman
 

Schaeffer, Charles Frederick (1807-1879) BD
Lutheran clergyman in Ohio and Pennsylvania and professor at Gettysburg Seminary and Philadelphia Seminary
  • Lectures (BD)

Schmidt, Herbert Henry (1908-1964) BX
Lutheran clergyman in Pennsylvania and Librarian at Gettysburg Seminary
  • Papers, partially sorted, 4 boxes.

Schmidt, J. Friedrich (1746-1812) BD
  • Kurtzgefasste Kirchen-geschichte des Neuen Testaments. I Theil
    • George Lochman's book (1773-1826)
 
Schmitthenner, Samuel William  
 
Schwartz, Elias (1815-1892) BD
Lutheran clergyman in Illinois, Maryland and Pennsylvania
  • Journal, covering 40 years
 
Senft, Kenneth C.

Shaner, Braden E. (1862-1910)  
 
Sheeleigh, Matthias (1821-1900)
Lutheran clergyman in New York, New Jersey, and Pennsylvania
  • Papers, partially sorted, 3 boxes. BX+
 
Singmaster, John Alden (1852-1926) BX
Lutheran clergyman in New York and Pennsylvania and president of Gettysburg Seminary

Slifer, William Grant (1868-1954) BX 
Lutheran clergyman; grad of Gettysburg College and Gettysburg Seminary
  • Personal papers, certificates, sermons (11 boxes)
 
Spaeth, Adolph (1839-1910) BD
Lutheran clergyman in Pennsylvania and professor at Philadelphia Seminary
  • Hermeneutics, lectures, transcribed by G. N. H. Peters, 1888
  • Other lectures
 
Spangler, Jacob Monroe (1899-1973) BD, BX 
Lutheran clergyman in Maryland and Pennsylvania
  • Hymns of the Common Service Book of the ULCA. Contains background information, biographical and historical data.
  • Jacob M. Spangler Collection Finding Aid
    • 9 boxes of personal papers, correspondence, and photograph
 
Stall, Sylvanus (1847-1915) 
Lutheran clergyman in New York and Pennsylvania
  • Lutheran Encyclopedia, outline prepared, 1886 (BD)

Stamm, Raymond Thomas (1894-1962) BX 
Lutheran clergyman in Illinois and Pennsylvania and professor at Gettysburg Seminary
Related Collections: Seminary Presidential Papers
 
 
Stecher, Henry G. (1792-1870) BD, BX
Lutheran clergyman in Pennsylvania
  • Mathematics notebook, 1803 (BD)
  • Sermon manuscripts and notes (BX)

Steck, A. R. (Augustus Ryneal) (1861-1943) BX+  
Lutheran clergyman in New Jersey, Indiana and Pennsylvania; graduate of Gettysburg College (1882) and Gettysburg Seminary (1886); director of Gettysburg Seminary; president of the board of trustees, Irving College
  • Sermons and addresses, 12 boxes. BX+
    • Old Testament Sermons, Boxes 1-4
    • New Testament Sermons, Boxes 4-11
    • Miscellaneous collection, misleadingly titled: "Christmas Sermons," Box 11
  • Addresses, papers, lectures, etc., Box 12 (inventory inside)
  • Sermons. 1924–1936, 2 boxes. BX. Delivered in Carlisle
 

Stipe, Edward Kendig
  • Sermons Collection, 1960-1966

Stoever, Martin Luther (1820-1870) BX
Lutheran professor at Pennsylvania College and editor of the Evangelical Quarterly Review
  • Papers, partially sorted, 2 boxes. BX

Stork, Charles Augustus (1838-1883) BX+
Lutheran clergyman in Maryland and Pennsylvania and professor atGettysburg Seminary
  • Papers, partially sorted, 1 box. (BX+)
 

Strobert, Nelson T. BX
Lutheran clergyman in Virgin Islands and Ohio, Gettysburg Seminary professor, 1987-2013 Professor Emeritus of Christian Education in the Paulssen-Hale Chair of Church and Society
  • Course Materials and Correspondence, 1987-1990, 1 box

Strock, John Roy (1882-1978) BX+
Lutheran clergyman in Pennsylvania and missionary to India
  • Letters, clippings, personal documents, 3 boxes
  • Additional "Farewell" addresses in oversized Box 2 ++ above desk in 3rd stacks

Strodach, Paul Zeller (1876-1947)
Lutheran clergyman in New York, New Jersey and Pennsylvania
  • Sources & Notations on the Common Service and Common Order (BD)

Stroup, Herbert W., Jr. (1919-2000) BX 
Lutheran clergyman, professor and Dean at Gettysburg Seminary
  • Personal notes, letters, prayers, speeches and sermons (7 boxes)

Stuempfle, Herman G., Jr. (1923–2007) BX  
Lutheran clergyman in Pennsylvania and Maryland, Professor, Dean, and President of Lutheran Theological Seminary at Gettysburg
  • Papers (consult archivist for inventory list)

Summers, Jacob (1813-1884) BD
Lutheran clergyman in Virginia, West Virginia and Maryland
  • Legal vocabulary
 
Titus
Titus, Timothy Tilghman (1829-1873) BX+
Lutheran clergyman in Ohio, Maryland and Pennsylvania and professor at Hartwick Seminary
  • Sermons, 2 boxes
INFO AND CONTACTS
Sheila Joy, Archivist
sjoy@uls.edu
717-339-1317
M-F: 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Please make an apointment before visiting. We are only occasionally able to accommodate walk-in requests.

Evan Boyd, Library Director and Archivist
eboyd@uls.edu
Manuscripts
Here you will find papers of distinguished professors, presidents, and alumni.

 
Valentine
Valentine, Milton (1825-1906) SR
Lutheran clergyman in Pennsylvania, editor, author, professor at Gettysburg Seminary
  • Letter from Gettysburg to H. C. Picking instructing him to pay Mr. McLaughlin, bearer of the letter, the amount of his bill for pumping water, February 13, 1894 
  • Letter from M. Valentine to Dr. Manhart explaining why he had not prepared the History of the General Synod which the Board of Publication requested him to do, November 18, 1901
  • Prospectus offering Valentine's Christian Theology, 2 vols. for $3.90. Includes a table of contents, 1906
  • Record of ministerial acts while in the area of Greensburg, Westmoreland County, PA,  April 30, 1854-December 31, 1855
  • Reprint of an article entitled "The Relation of God to the World" from theLutheran Quarterly. Written by Milton Valentine, January 1904
  • Death announcement, 1906
Watanabe-Wolf
Watanabe, Morimichi 
Please consult archivist for inventory list



Wentz, Abdel Ross (1883-1976) BX 
Lutheran clergyman, professor and president of Gettysburg Seminary
Wentz, Frederick K.  (1921-2014)
Lutheran clergyman in Pennsylvania, California, Connecticut, New York, and Kansas; professor at Gettysburg Seminary; Lutheran Theological Southern Seminary; professor and president of Hamma School of Theology 
Wickey, Norman Jay Gould (1891-1976) BX
Lutheran clergyman in Washington, D.C., Massachusetts and North Dakota, professor at Concordia College and president of Carthage College
  • Papers, 8 boxes


Wilhelm II (1859-1941) BD
Kaiser of Germany 
  • Certificate issued by the celebration of the Church of the Redeemer in Jerusalem, October 31, 1898

Willard, Philip (1809-1893) BX+
Lutheran clergyman in Maryland and Pennsylvania
  • Sermons, 2 boxes


Winston, Mildred E. BX  
Secretary, Board of Education, ULCA
  • Mildred Winston Collection, 2 boxes (please consult archivist for inventory list)
    • Records pertaining to Women in the ULCA, Deaconess Board, Displaced Persons
    • Photographs


Wolf, Richard Charles (1912-?) BX
Lutheran clergyman in Ohio and Pennsylvania
  • Papers for book on Lutheran Unity, 1 box
  • Manuscript, Gettysburg Contribution to the Sharping of the American Church, c. 1967
Yeager
Yeager, Johannes Christian Wilhelm (1783-1844) BX
Lutheran clergyman in Pennsylvania
  • Sermon outlines and letters, 1 box.
Zimmerman-Zwieseln
Zimmerman, Jeremiah (1848-1937) SR, NSR, BX
Lutheran clergyman in New York
  • Letter from Syracuse to Dr. A. R. Wentz listing the books he is planning to give to the library, December 19, 1922 SR
  • Manuscript sermons, notes and diaries, 13 boxes (BX)
  • Notes on Hebrew vocabulary and on manuscripts and versions of the Bible, undated SR
    • Handwritten, 3 folded leaves. Found in a book he donated to the Wentz Library (Green, William Henry, A grammar of the Hebrew language, 1861, PJ4564.G8 Sp-1)
INFO AND CONTACTS
Sheila Joy, Archivist
sjoy@uls.edu
717-339-1317
M-F: 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Please make an apointment before visiting. We are only occasionally able to accommodate walk-in requests.

Evan Boyd, Library Director and Archivist
eboyd@uls.edu
Manuscripts
Here you will find papers of distinguished professors, presidents, and alumni.

 
Sermon Index
  • Alleman, Henry Snyder BX 
  • Anonymous NSR, BD 
  • Anspach, John Melanchthon NSR 
  • Bendle, Philip S., III BX 
  • Gottwald, Washington Van Buren NSR 
  • Koons, Robert W. BX 
  • Lecker, Johann BD 
  • Martens, Herbert BD 
  • Matthaus, Jacob Christian BD 
  • Millar, George Williams SR 
  • Oswald, Solomon NSR 
  • Parson, Geroge BX+ 
  • Remensnyder, Junius Benjamin NSR 
  • Rhodes, Mosheim BD 
  • Ruthrauff, Frederick BD 
  • Sassaman, Robert S. 
  • Slifer, W. G. BX 
  • Steck, A. R. BX+ 
  • Stuempfle, Herman G. BX 
  • Stroup, Herbert BX 
  • Titus, Timothy Tilghman BX+ 
  • Washington, Illinois NSR 
  • Willard, Philip BX+ 
  • Witmer, Charles NSR 
  • Zimmerman, Jeremiah
INFO AND CONTACTS
Sheila Joy, Archivist
sjoy@uls.edu
717-339-1317
M-F: 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Please make an apointment before visiting. We are only occasionally able to accommodate walk-in requests.

Evan Boyd, Library Director and Archivist
eboyd@uls.edu