Bound Manuscripts
Amy Sadtler Albrecht Manuscript for book In Tent and Bungalow with editing by Elsie Singmaster Lewars


Anonymous Notebook with Sermons by Justus Henry Christian Helmuth, Schmidt, Marshall (St. Michael's and Zion's Philadelphia) and various music, patterns for weaving, birth certificate of Johannes Lentz (1827)


Anonymous Daybook of Famous Quotations, undated


Anonymous Notes on Letz's Morality, undated


Michael Bentz Organ and Choral Music Manuscript, undated


James Allen Brown Diary, 1843-1849


Samuel H. Buehler Account Book
in connection with his activities as General Agent of the Hymn Book Committee of the Evangelical Lutheran Chruch, Gettysburg Penn


Central Missionary Society of the Lutheran Church in the United States Minutes and Accounts, 1835-1843


Rev. George A. Clark Marriage License Stubs, 1941-1987


Church Agenda Translation
 translated for the Evangelical Lutheran Congregations of the Unaltered Augsburg Confession
  • Compilied from the old-saxon church agenda of the true faith and published by the General German Evangelical Lutheran Synod of Missouri, Ohio, and other states

Stella Brown Nichols Crissman Letters to Family, 1885-1887
  • Wife of John Nichols, missionary to India, 1885-1886, who died of typhoid fever in his first year in India

Ernst Jacob Danovia Commentary on Romans, Jenae, 1777 Winter Semester
  • Names of students taking notes but out of title page

Deutschen Gesselschaft Volumes 1-11
  • Volume 1: Account of the Origin 1776-1781-The Intimate Records of the Origin and Growth of the German Society for the Promotion of Pure Doctrine and True Godliness, First section of the first part (1783)
  • Volume 2: September 6, 1809
  • Volume 3: September 5, 1810
  • Volume 4: Part 1: April 1811, Part 2: March 1812
  • Volume 5: September 2, 1812
  • Volume 6: September 1, 1813
  • Volume 7: September 7, 1814
  • Volume 8: September 6, 1815, attached item (report) October 4, 1815
  • Volume 9: March 6, 1816
  • Volume 10: September 4, 1816
  • Volume 11: March 5, 1817
Welcome to the Bound Manuscripts Collection Listing
Our bound manuscripts collections are stored in closed stacks. Please contact the archivist to set up an appointment to view them.
Alphabetical Listing
 

Michael Bentz Organ and Choral Manuscript
 

Biblia Sacra (13th Century)
 
 
Samuel H. Buehler Account Book


Stella Brown Nichols Crissman Letters Transcript to Family, 1885-1887


Devotional Treatise (In Italian)
 

Nellie Blessing Eyster Manuscript Historical Souvenir of Pioneer English Lutheranism in California, 1853-1893 
  • For World's Fair Religious Congress.
 
Robert Burns Fortenbaugh Manuscript of The Lutheran Church in America and Slavery and notes for study

Harttmann, Theophilus Bound Volumes in German script:
  • Commentary on Genesis
  • Commentary on Exodus
  • Commentary on Leviticus
  • Commentary on the Book of Numbers
  • Commentary on Deuteronomy
  • Commentary on Joshua, Judges and Ruth
  • Commentary on Ruth, Samuel I & II and Kings I & II
  • Commentary on Job
  • Commentary on the Psalms
  • Commentary on Proverbs, Wisdom Literature and Psalms
  • Studies in Joel
  • Prophets, volume 1, Hosea, Joel and Amos - Historical introduction
  • Prophets, volume 2, Hosea, Joel and Amos - Synopsis
  • Commentary on Ezekiel
  • Commentary on the Old Testament in the New Testament
  • Commentary on the Gospel of Matthew
  • Commentary on the Gospel of Luke
  • Commentary on Romans
  • Commentary on Corinthians I
  • Commentary on Corinthians II
  • Commentary on Ephesians, Philippians, Colossians & Thessalonians
  • Commentary on Timothy I & II
  • Commentary on Revelation
  • Geography of Asia and Europe
  • Greek Glossary
  • Hebrew Glossary of Grammar
  • Notations on: Bengel, M. Ernst, A Short and Necessary Illumination of Those Thoughts Which in Dr. Johann August Ernesti's Theological Library, Volume I-X, Occasionally Contradict the Blessed Dr. Johann Albrecht Bengel (Leipzig and Zwickau, Stielern, 1771).
  • Notes on: The New Testament translated by M. Luther, Halle, 1766.
  • Geography (Classical)
  • History of Europe, Chronological Outline, 1-1266 A.D.
  • History, Volume I, 2500 B.C. to 500 B.C.
  • History, Volume II, 500 B.C. to A.D. 1
  • History, Volume III, A.D. 1 to 1519
  • Stein, Christian Gottfried Daniel, Handbuch der Geographie und Statistik... with notes of T. Harttmann in margins.

John Peter Heght Inconsta Articula Theologiae
  • Possibly transcripts of lectures of Helmuth and Schmidt, his teachers, 1803-1807


George Conrad Henry Sermon Notes, 1893


Hill, Francis C. Hill Sketchbook
  • Contains drawings of St. John's Lutheran Church, Charleston, S

Krauth, Charles Philip Krauth Lectures, Moral Philosophy, Winter, 1838
  • Related Collections:
    • Buehler, D. A. Buehler
    • Carl Rudolph Demme 
    • Schmidt, Henry Immanuel Schmidt 
    • Theophilus Stork 


Charles Porterfield Krauth Lectures


Johann Andreas Krug Sermon Outlines, 1764-1780 


Johann Christopher Kunze Diarium Homileticum, 7 volumes
  • 1786
  • 1787-1788
  • 1789
  • 1791-1792
  • 1793-1794
  • 1795-1796
  • 1799-1800


Manifold, John H.C. (1862–1949)
Lutheran clergyman in Pennsylvania
  • Diary excerpts, 1886, 1888
  • Photographs

Henry Jr. Manken Fortnightly letters from Washington to The Lutheran
  • Related Collections: Ernest Orion Graham (Located in Vertical File Manuscripts Collection)


William Julius Mann Lectures

Herbert Martens Sermons (8 volumes. Index)
  • December 29, 1895-March 21, 1899
  • April 9, 1899-February 21, 1904
  • March 8, 1900-November 24, 1901
  • December 11, 1901-July 12, 1908
  • October 31, 1892-May 15, 1910
  • May 15, 1910-May 18, 1913
  • September 14, 1913-August 7, 1921

Matthaus, Jacob Christian Sermons, 1844-1864

Mosheim, Rhodes Diaries, 2 volumes. August 29, 1894-May 12, 1895, May 14, 1895-December 17, 1896

Mosheim Rhodes Sermons, St. Louis, Mo., January 4, 1885-March 12, 1904.


King Rukassigada Story of the king written on palm fronds, probably 19th century. Written in Telegu language
 
Jacob Monroe Spangler Hymns of the Common Service Book of the ULCA. Contains background information, biographical and historical data.

Henry G. Stecher Mathematics notebook, 1803 
 
Paul Zeller Strodach Sources & Notations on the Common Service and Common Order
 
Jacob Summers Legal vocabulary
INFO AND CONTACTS
Sheila Joy, Archivist
sjoy@uls.edu
717-339-1317
M-F: 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Please make an apointment before visiting. We are only occasionally able to accommodate walk-in requests.

Evan Boyd, Library Director and Archivist
eboyd@uls.edu
Albany Protocol
Protocol of Sundry Early Ministers (Falkner [Falckner], Berkenmeyer, Hartwig) and Church Councils of the Churches of Athens, Albany and Other Places, with Other Miscellaneous Documents from A.D. 1731-1750, presented by T Lape.

Alternative Title: Albany Protocol

Alternative Title: William Christopher Berkenmeyer Chronicle of ministry at Albany and Loonenburg and points between, 1731-1750
  • 3 volumes: Original and 2 photostatic copies (all bound)
  • Contains "Records of Christ's Evangelical Lutheran Church, Germantown, Columbia County, New York"
  • Presented to Hartwick Synod by the Evalgenical Lutheran Zion's Church at Athens and transferred to Lutheran Historical Society, Gettysburg, PA in 1845