Other Organizations Manuscripts Collections
Full descriptive inventories for large collections of papers documenting the activities of organizations, groups, and places and pertaining to various topics. Finding aids are available to researchers. Please click on the links of each collection name to view the finding aid. 

Our manuscripts collections are stored in closed stacks. Please contact the archivist to set up an appointment to view them.
Alphabetical Listing
Evangelical Alliance Papers 
This collection documents the activities of the Evangelical Alliance, specifically under S.S. Schmucker. Included are constitutions,
letters, pamphlets, minutes, historical sketches, newspaper articles, and reports.


Harwick Seminary Founding Papers
These papers document the founding and establishment of Hartwick Seminary and contains letters, agreements, booklists, lease information, codicil to will, plan of incorporation, inventory of Hartwick estate, and schedule of property.


Seminex (Seminary in Exile) Papers, 1972-2006
This collection documents the activities of Seminex (Seminary in Exile.) It includes campus newspapers, newsletters, correspondence, pamphlets, position papers, booklets, and other miscellaneous items as well as some material from the Seminex 25th Anniversary celebration held in 1999. It includes information on Lutheran Church-Missouri Synod (LCMS), Jacob Preus, Evangelical Lutherans in Mission (ELIM), Association of Evangelical Lutheran Church (AELC), New Lutheran Church, Pittsburgh Strategy, and Denominational Ministry Strategy (DMS/DMX)

Sermons Collection, A-Z
This collection contains sermons written by varios pastors. The finding aid lists the pastors on alphabetical order by last name.

Society of Inquiry on Missions Papers
This collection includes handwritten reports on mission given by students between 1824 and the 1890s. Some are written in German, while the large majority are in English. The papers in this collection were written by students and presented by them to the society during a recitation day once every month over the course of several years and provide a record of the type of work done by students.

Papers are available for viewing here.


 
INFO AND CONTACTS
Sheila Joy, Archivist
sjoy@uls.edu
717-339-1317
M-F: 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Please make an apointment before visiting. We are only occasionally able to accommodate walk-in requests.

Evan Boyd, Library Director and Archivist
eboyd@uls.edu
Evangelical Alliance Papers
This collection documents the activities of the Evangelical Alliance, specifically under S.S. Schmucker. Included are constitutions, letters, pamphlets, minutes, historical sketches, newspaper articles, and reports.

Click here to view the finding aid.
INFO AND CONTACTS
Sheila Joy, Archivist
sjoy@uls.edu
717-339-1317
M-F: 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Please make an apointment before visiting. We are only occasionally able to accommodate walk-in requests.

Evan Boyd, Library Director and Archivist
eboyd@uls.edu
Hartwick Seminary Collection
These papers document the founding and establishment of Hartwick Seminary and contains letters, agreements, booklists, lease information, codicil to will, plan of incorporation, inventory of Hartwick estate, and schedule of property.

Click here to view the finding aid.
INFO AND CONTACTS
Sheila Joy, Archivist
sjoy@uls.edu
717-339-1317
M-F: 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Please make an apointment before visiting. We are only occasionally able to accommodate walk-in requests.

Evan Boyd, Library Director and Archivist
eboyd@uls.edu
Seminex (Seminary in Exile) Papers, 1972-2006
This collection documents the activities of Seminex (Seminary in Exile.) It includes campus newspapers, newsletters, correspondence, pamphlets, position papers, booklets, and other miscellaneous items as well as some material from the Seminex 25th Anniversary celebration held in 1999. It includes information on Lutheran Church-Missouri Synod (LCMS), Jacob Preus, Evangelical Lutherans in Mission (ELIM), Association of Evangelical Lutheran Church (AELC), New Lutheran Church, Pittsburgh Strategy, and Denominational Ministry Strategy (DMS/DMX).

Click here to view the finding aid.
INFO AND CONTACTS
Sheila Joy, Archivist
sjoy@uls.edu
717-339-1317
M-F: 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Please make an apointment before visiting. We are only occasionally able to accommodate walk-in requests.

Evan Boyd, Library Director and Archivist
eboyd@uls.edu
Sermons Collection, A-Z
To view the full finding aid click here.
 

Alphabetical Listing of pastors in collection:


Alleman, B.F.

Ard, Wilson P.

Auman, Russel F.


Baker, J.B. (1877-1946)
Served at:
  • 1904-1905 St. Peter’s, York, Pa.
  • 1906-1909 St. Paul’s, Newport, Pa.
  • 1909-1922 St. James’, Gettysburg, Pa
  • 1922-1926 Zion, Indiana, Pa.
  • 1926-1946 St. Matthew’s, York, Pa.
Bard, Andreas

Bauslin, David H.

Baumgartner, ?

Blacka, Robert

Bowers, George S (1858-1949)

Served at:
  • 1884-85 Grafton, WV
  • 1885-1888 St. Luke’s York, Pa.
  • 1888-1893 St. Mark’s  Hagerstown, Md.
  • 1893-1902 Grace, Westminister, Md.
  • 1902-1918 Incarnation, Baltimore, Md

Bowers, John C. (1870-1957)
Served at:
  • 1896-1902 St. Mark’s, Washington, D.C.
  • 1902-1910 Calvary, Baltimore, Md.
  • 1910-1947 Catonsville, Md.
  • 1947-1958 Pastor Emeritus

Broesicke, Frank O.

Brittain, J.R. and Roth, H.W.

Burry, L.O.

Clutz, Jacob A. (1848-1925)

Served at:
  • 1872-1873 Zion, Newville, Pa.
  • 1873-1883 St. Paul, Baltimore, Md.
  • 1904-1909 St. James, Gettysburg, Pa.

Delk, Edwin Heyl (1859-1940)
Served at:
  • 1882-1885 Schoharie, NY
Empie, Paul C.

Fendt, E.C.

Foulk, Paul Levi (1896-?)

Served at:
  • 1925-1929 St. Mark, Clarksburg, WV
  • 1929-1939 Trinity, Altoona, Pa.
  • 1939-1957 St. Paul, Hanover, Pa.

Fricke, Theodore P.

Gabel, Edward

Served at:
  • 1895-1899 Scranton, Pa.
  • 1899-1904 Williamsport, Pa.
  • 1904-1910 Philadelphia, Pa.
  • 1910-1922 Baltimore, Md.

Grewenow, George

Hacker, ?

Hackman, Augustus (1909-?)

Served at:
  • 1937-1954 Epiphany, Baltimore, Md.
  • 1955-1957 St. Matthews, Charleston, S.C.

Hansler, George C.

Haug, Hans R.

Hoeger, John

Holloway, A.M.

Hoover, Harvey Daniel

Huber, Eli (1834-1911)

Served at:
  • 1858-1860 Schuylkill Haven, Pa.
  • 1860-1861 Danville, Pa.
  • 1861-1866 Hummelstown, Pa.
  • 1866-1876 Nebraska City, Ne.
  • 1876-1892 Messiah, Philadelphia, Pa.

Krauss, Paul H.

Krauth, Charles Porterfield (1823-1883) 

Served at:
  • 1841-1842 Canton, Baltimore, Md.
  • 1842-1847 Baltimore, Md.
  • 1847-1848 Martinsburg, WV
  • 1848-1855 Winchester, Va.
  • 1855-1859 Pittsburgh, Pa.
  • 1859-1861 St. Mark’s, Philadelphia, Pa.
  • 1866-1867 St. Stephen’s, Philadelphia, Pa.

Kuethe, John

Leamer, A.B.

Lechleitner, R.D.

Long, R.H.

Long, ?

Martin, Richard Byers (1909-?)

Served at:
  • 1936-1944 Trinity, Shamokin, Pa.
  • 1944-1961 Augsburg, Harrisburg, Pa.
  • 1961-? St. Paul, Williamsport, Pa.

Menter, N.A.

Meyer, F.H.

Michelfelder, Sylvester C.

Mix, Karl

Price, Lawrence

Rasel, Charles

Scherzer, John A.

Schneider, (possibly) August Louis (1908-?)

Served at:
  • 1933-1947 Calvary, Chillicothe, Oh.

Schramm, Milton

Schuh, Henry F.

Schwan, Carl D.

Speigner, T.R.

Seiss, Joseph A.

Sieber, L.L. (1850-1935)

Served at: 
  • 1876-1882 Lavansville, Pa.
  • 1882-1885 Polo, Il.
  • 1885-1890 Connellsville, Pa.
  • 1890-1895 Lewisburg, Pa.
  • 1918-1927 Luther Mem., Baltimore, Md.

Simon, Carl R. (1901-?)
Served at:
  • 1926-1929 Utica Parish, Md.
  • 1919-? Trinity, Wrightsville, Pa.
  • Smith, Arthur H.
Steimle, A

Stroel, P.A.

Uehling, Carl T. (1927-?)

Served at:
  • 1949-1953 Holy Trinity, Elizabeth, NJ
  • 1953-1959 St. John, Newark, NJ
  • 1959-? Holy Trinity, Akron, Ohio

Vogeley, R.A.

Welfley, David Peter (See A.M. Holloway)

White, Ralph J.

Wolf, ?

Zehner, ?

Zimmerman, Leander M.
INFO AND CONTACTS
Sheila Joy, Archivist
sjoy@uls.edu
717-339-1317
M-F: 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Please make an apointment before visiting. We are only occasionally able to accommodate walk-in requests.

Evan Boyd, Library Director and Archivist
eboyd@uls.edu
Society of Inquiry on Missions Papers
This collection includes handwritten reports on mission given by students between 1824 and the 1890s. Some are written in German, while the large majority are in English. The papers in this collection were written by students and presented by them to the society during a recitation day once every month over the course of several years and provide a record of the type of work done by students.

Click here to view the finding aid.

Click here to view the digital collection.
 
INFO AND CONTACTS
Sheila Joy, Archivist
sjoy@uls.edu
717-339-1317
M-F: 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Please make an apointment before visiting. We are only occasionally able to accommodate walk-in requests.

Evan Boyd, Library Director and Archivist
eboyd@uls.edu