Photographs
Included in the Seminary Archives are photographs of various people and groups:
  • Class Photos (1868/69 - present w/Gaps)
  • Portraits
  • Faculty Group Photos
  • Camps
  • Missions
  • Ministeriums
  • Churchwide Events
  • Art
  • Lithographs
  • Prints
  • Posters
  • Calendars
  • Maps
INFO AND CONTACTS
Sheila Joy, Archivist
sjoy@uls.edu
717-339-1317
M-F: 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Please make an apointment before visiting. We are only occasionally able to accommodate walk-in requests.

Evan Boyd, Library Director and Archivist
eboyd@uls.edu
Groups and Miscellaneous
1917 Calendar – The Lutheran Pioneers in America; includes pictures of:
Muhlenberg, Henkel, Hazelius, Kurtz, Schmucker, Sprecher, Walther, Hasselquist, Lehmann, Krauth, The Fritschel Brothers, Hoyme
 
 
Presidents Board of Higher Eduction & Executive Secretary
(found together in Boxed Manuscript Room -- January 2002)
(housed together in Group Oversized Photos in Woody’s Office (Black Cabinet))
 
Gladfelter, Millard E.                                     (Provost & Vice Pres. Temple Univ.)
Gold, Howard R.                                            (President – Board of Higher Educ.)
Gotwald, Luther                                             Exec. Sec. (Board of Higher Education
                                                                        1919-1925)
Steimle, Augustus                                           (Pres. of Bd. of Higher Educ.)
Turkle, Alonzo                                                Pres. Board of Higher Educ.--1926+
                     
*Negatives of some archive portraits found in photo drawer in archives office under
“Student photo composites”
INFO AND CONTACTS
Sheila Joy, Archivist
sjoy@uls.edu
717-339-1317
M-F: 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Please make an apointment before visiting. We are only occasionally able to accommodate walk-in requests.

Evan Boyd, Library Director and Archivist
eboyd@uls.edu
Photographs of Gettysburg Campus Buildings
List of Oversized Photos***
(Housed in Blueprint Cabinet in Historical)
(August 6, 2001, rev. 12/9, 16/2001, 6/15/2004, 2/14/20005, 7/14/20005, 6/8/2012)
 
Singmaster (built 1901), (Dr. Singmaster’s House) (1901-1924 date ?)
Seminary Grounds, (Aerial View) (before 1984 ?)
Wentz Library, A. R. (before Addition of 1981 ?)
Baughman Dormitory (Built 1952) (before 1974 ?)
Richard House (Mr. Clutz’s Residence ?) date? (2)
Wolf House (Dr. Coover’s Residence 1905-1926) date?
Krauth House (Dr. Alleman’s House) date? (2)
Schmucker House? (Dr. Kuhlman’s House (date?)
Valentine (“Recitation Hall”) (architect’s drawing - @ 1894)
Valentine (Built 1894-1895)
Valentine after renovation (completed 2001) pen and ink drawing by Geoffrey Thulin
Old Campus Building Plan (L. deforest Emmert, Architect (1931)
Old Dorm (Gutekunst) (l863)
Lithograph by Thomas Hunter of Old Dorm, Schmucker, and Krauth (date?)
Wolf House (architectural drawing) (copy) (1886)
Campus Site Plan Blueprints, 2006  
 
 
***Found in blueprint drawer with photos of Buildings (way in the back) were 2 boxes of photographic dry plates (labeled 1-9 and 10-18, dated about 1930-1931?) (Marked not to be opened except in dark room) — Placed back in same drawer at front of drawer under lip.
 
 
(List of smaller photos of buildings – in upstairs file in archives office)
 
Old Dorm LTSG (No. 703) (Tipton – Stereo Gems - Stereoptican)
Old Dorm LTSG (No. 41) ( Oriental Photograph Co. – Stereoptican)
Old Dorm  (taken in 1863)
Old Dorm, Krauth House, & Schmucker House (lithograph -- framed on wall in archives room)
Chapel in Old Dorm, ca. 1890 (copy in + photos, original in regular size photos)
Colored print of prinitive art of Seminary Grounds (no date, no artist) +
Old Dorm, Krauth House, Schmucker House (Gillespie Lithograph) (date?) +
Seminary Chapel
Housed separately in blueprint cabinet drawer. 
Church of the Abiding Presence
Seminary Chapel (Church of the Abiding Presence) (Built in 1942)
 
(Housed in Blueprint Cabinet in Historical)
(Photos in bottom of drawer listed first)
 
(List of larger photos +++)
(8/7/2001; rev. 12/16/2001, 6/15/2004)
 
1 original watercolor drawing of inside of chapel by Mel Gemmill (Architectural Illustrations,
      Chambersburg, Pa) (date?)
4 architect’s proposed drawings
2 posters of a proposed plan of chapel with library annex that were not used in
      final building (date approx. 1931)
1 smaller architect’s drawing
2 large mounted display panels of stained glass windows
4 prints of stained glass windows
10 interior shots of chapel (1943) by Kelley Studios, Hagerstown, MD
1 exterior photo of chapel (1943) by Kelley Studios, Hagerstown, MD
1 photo of exterior of chapel with Luther Statue on side (date?)
4 photos (1 outside, 1 inside, 1 inside with choir, 1 in a small chapel (?) with people (date?)
 
(Housed on top of 3 cabinets in Archives Office)
 
1 package of 4-color progressive proofs of linecuts for book “The Abiding
      Presence” (linecuts believed to have been disposed of (sold or destroyed) in 1999?)
      (not sure necessary to keep)
INFO AND CONTACTS
Sheila Joy, Archivist
sjoy@uls.edu
717-339-1317
M-F: 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Please make an apointment before visiting. We are only occasionally able to accommodate walk-in requests.

Evan Boyd, Library Director and Archivist
eboyd@uls.edu
Class Photos
Photo List for Oversized Large Box ++
(located in Historical Room Blueprint Cabinet)
(rev. May 26, 2002, 7/14/2005, 4/3/2006, 5/30/2012)
 
DATE                         SUBJECT                                          INFORMATION
 
Box 1
1868 or 1869               Faculty & Students (seniors?)             identified
1877, 1878, 1879        Entering Classes & Faculty                 partially identified
1889                            Student Body & Faculty                     identified
1891    (2)                    Student Body & Faculty                    identified
1892                            Class entered 1892                            partially identified
1894                            Senior class & Faculty                        identified
c.1898 (?)                    Students                                            M.F. Williams NPS photog.,
                                                                                               unidentified
1898                            Class entered 1898                             partially identified
1902                            Class of, entered 1899                        identified                   
1903    (2)                    Graduating Students                            partially identified w/letter
1904                            Students & Faculty                              owned by P.H.R. Mullen,
                                                                                                numbers, unidentified
1904                            Senior Class                                        numbers, unidentified
                                                                                               owned by P.H.R. Mullen
c.1904?                        Students & Faculty                             J.I. Mumper photog.,
                                    owned P.H.R. Mullen,                         numbers, unidentified
 
Box 2
1915-1916 (2)             Student Body & Faculty                     faculty identified
Feb. 1916                    Students & Faculty                             Mumper photog.
1917                            Class entered 1917                             partially identified
                                                                                               Mumper Studio, photog.
1928                            Graduating class                                  not identified
                                                                                               Tipton Studio
1930-1931 (3)              Junior class                                         Williams photog,unidentified
1935-1936 (4)              Student Body & Faculty                      identified & 2 lists
1949                            Fellowship Dinner                                unidentified
1967 (Spring)              Cast of “Luther”
                                    given at Farm Show                            unidentified
2003-2007                    Entering class
2004 (2)                       Graduating class                                 identified
2005 (2)                       Graduating class                                 identified

 

 
List of Class Photos in Legal-sized Archival Box #3
(located on top of cabinet in Archives Office)
 
 
1877    (2)                    Campus Day in front of Old Dorm    not identified
ca. 1880                       Seminary Students at Devil’s Den      partially identified
1890                            Entering Students                               identified
1890                            Campus Day in front of Old Dorm    not identified
1916-1917                   Student Body and Faculty                 not identified
1916-1918 (small)       Students (partly) and Professors         not identified
Fall 1919                     Class of                                               not identified
1921    (2)                    Class of                                               identified
Oct. 20, 1922              Faculty & Students                             partially identified
1923                            Class entering                                      not identified
1925                            Class of                       `                       identified
1929    (2)                    Class of                                               not identified
1931                            Class of                                               not identified
1932                            Class of                                               not identified
1933    (2)                    Class of                                               not identified
1934    (2)                    Class of                                               not identified
1935                            Class of                                               not identified
1936    (2)                    Class of                                               identified
1937                            Class of                                               identified
1938                            Class of                                               partially identified
1939                            Class of                                               not identified
1940    (7)                    Class of                                               not identified
May 1944                    Class of                                               identified       
1945    (2)                    Class of                                               not identified
1947-1948                   Faculty & Student Body                    partially identified
1948-1949                   Class of                                               identified
1949-1950                   Faculty & Student Body                    partially identified
1953                            Class of                                               not identified
1954                            Class of                                               not identified
1955    (3)                    Class of                                               identified
1956    (2)                    Class of                                               partially identified
1957    (2)                    Class of                                               partially identified
1959                            Class of
1960                            Class of                                               not identified
1961                            Class of                                               partially identified
1963                            Class of                                               identified
1964                            Entering Student Body                       identified
1965                            Class of                                               identified
1968                            Class of                                               identified
1969                            Class of                                               identified
1970    (2)                    Class of                                               identified
1972                            Class of                                               identified
1975                            Class of                                               not identified
 
BOX 5 ++++ (in Boxed Manuscript Room)
 
Class Photos (Long Narrow)
 
DATE             TITLE
1930-31                      Faculty & Student Body (3)
1931-32                      Student body
1932                Student body (framed)
1933                Student body
1940-41                      *Faculty & Student Body (2 copies – 1 framed)
1947                **Faculty & Student Body (3)
 
 
 
*Identified
**Partially identified
***Not identified
 
 SMALL CLASS COMPOSITES
 
1981-1998       Located in Kodak boxes on top of file cabinet in Archives Office
 
LARGE CLASS COMPOSITES
 
1980-1990              Beside file cabinet or on top of cabinets in Archives Office
1991–1999
2001–2002
2007
INFO AND CONTACTS
Sheila Joy, Archivist
sjoy@uls.edu
717-339-1317
M-F: 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Please make an apointment before visiting. We are only occasionally able to accommodate walk-in requests.

Evan Boyd, Library Director and Archivist
eboyd@uls.edu
Oversized Photos

OVERSIZED BOX 3

(Housed in Boxed Manuscripts Room in Corner on Table)

(April 29, 2002, rev. 5/1/2002, rev. 2/14/2005)
 
Oversized Synod Photo:
Lutheran Synod, 1895, Hagerstown, Md.
 
Carli serigraph of Seminary from 1976 (2 copies, matted)
 
Poster from 1976 for 150th anniversary of Seminary (2 copies)
 
Darold H. Beekman Inaugural banner (September 15, 1990) (1 copy)
 
Print from New York Tribune of painting in circulation lobby of Colonel John Peter Muhlenberg in 1776.

Semi-Centennial Commemoration (1826-1876) Print (3 original copies) (flat) (damaged)
 
Oversized Portraits:
Cronholm, Neander Nicolaus, 1845-1922, Alumni (1873); Ph.D. Yale; practiced law;
    Author, History of Sweden
Hasselquist, Tufve Nilsson, 1816-1891, President Augustana Synod and College and
    Seminary         
 
Four Hundred Years of New Life from Lutheran Brotherhood for 450th Anniversary of the Reformation (1967)
 
Martin Luther Brulant les Bulles du Pape (Martin Luther Burning the Pope’s Bulls) (Lithographie par Thielley) (Peint par l’ Martersteig) (Entered according to Act of Congress in the Year 1854 by M. Knoedler in the clerk’s Office of the district Court of the United States for the Southern district of New York) (damaged)
 
LTSG Banners, 175th anniversary, undated, undated.
Photos from Missionaries
GUNTUR, INDIA and CHINA
(Oversized Photograph List)
(Revised 8/7/2001, 12/9/2001)
DATE TITLE
 
1893        Dedication of the Watts College (March)
Numbers on photo corresponding to names below in margin: (1) Lord Wenlock, Gov. [Governor] of Madras (2) Mr. Atkinson, Collector (3) Mr. Duncan, Dir. of Pub. Ins. [Director of Public Instruction?] (4) Attendant Officials to the Gov. (5) Jeripotu Samud (sp?) (6) College Writer (7) Venkataneddy Naidu (sp.?) (8) Contractor for College Bldg. (9) Mother & Father, Dr. & Mrs. John Aberly (10) Dr. & Mrs. L.B. Wolf & son, Paul (11) Dr. & Mrs. Geo. Albrecht (12) Dr. Kugler with Anna Wolf (13) Mrs. Aiken, helper with Girl’s School (14) Edith & Eleanor Wolf (15) Amy Aberly Dunkelberger (16) Dr. Uhl (17) Mrs. Kistler (18) Miss Dryden (19) Dr. & Mrs. Schmitt (20) Mr. Francis, Eurasian (21) Ruth, a sister-in-law to Mr. Francis (22) ?
?          Group of Government Officials
1895    First Telegu Lutheran Inter Missions Conference
1894        Bathing Tank (Tiruvanamalay) (back of Telegu Conf.)
1905        First All India Lutheran Missions Conference
1917        75th Anniversary Founding of Guntur Mission (Dr. Uhl in center)
1917    Guests – 75th Anniversary Guntur Mission 
1923        St. Matthew’s (Stork Memorial) Church & Congregation
?          *Group in Calcutta (not sure what of) signature & date damaged
(Back Row) Rev. Gee ?, Dr. Dutla, Rev. P. Wagner, Rev. Aberly, Dr. Mown, Rev. Holland, Rev. Buckhouse, Rev. Young, Rev. Maclean, Dr. Beals (2nd Row) Dr. Graham, Rev. Haskell, Rev. Lucas, Bishop Robinson, Rev. Collier, A.C. Mickerji, Dr. Watt, Bishop Westcott, Dr. Wilson, Rev. Fleming, Rev. Schosser (3rd Row) Dr. Taylor, Rev. Evans, Miss Hunter, Miss Rinman, Rev. Pamfamien (?), Rev. Forman, Y. Masiki (?), Rev. Fergusson, Dr. Ewing, Canon Heywood, Rev. W. B. Anderson, Dr. Laukester, Rev. Roy, Rev. Gulliford, J. G. Mickerji, Rev. Greaves (4thRow) Bishop Whitehead, Miss Robinson, Bishop Azaniah, Bishop J. W. Robinson, A. Bose, Bishop L. Frey, Dr. Mott, Dr. Mackichan, Miss Chirstlieb, Miss Wilson, Dr. Jones, Miss Morris, Dr. Hume, Mr. Farquhar, Rev. Modak (5thRow) Rev. Bittmann, J. Matthai, Rev. H. Anderson, Rev. Badley, Rev. K.T. Paul, Mr. Athavale, Mr. Carter
1923        Sunday School Farewell (Nov. 2)
1923    Higher Elementary Schools Farewell to Mr. & Mrs. Aberly; Mr. & Mrs. Goldeke welcomed at same time
1923?  Pastors, Catechists and School Teachers of our Mission Tenali Taluk. Missionaries’ Farewell (Tenali Taluk: Christians 23,068; Schools 78; Congregations 144; Pastors 8; Other Workers 142)
1923    Farewell to Mr. & Mrs. Aberly on leaving India (the couple with grandson      Harold on howdah)
1923        Theological Training Institution (Guntur) (Feb. 27)
?          Guntur Church
            ?          Interior of Guntur India Church
            ?          Dr. Paru (Indian) and her husband Chris (English)
            ?          *C. E. Society (Christian Education?)
(1st Row) 1. R.D. Hartwig 2. V. Satyanandam 3. V. Joshwa 4. S. Buchanam 5. M. RajaRatnam (2nd Row) 1. N. D. Joseph 2. Rev. C. H. Swavely 3. Mrs. Swavely 4. Rev. H. Goedeke 5. Mrs. Goedeke 6. Mrs. E. S. McCauley 7. Rev. Philip Leisenring (3rd Row) 1. P. Charles B.A. 2. Rev. C.R. Gopal, B.D. 3. C. Elisha, B.A. 4. A.D. Kinsinger 5. G. Lazanis 6. M. John M.A.L.T 7. N. Benny (4th Row) 1. S. Rajarov 2. K. David 3. P. M. Luther, B.A. 4. G. Jacob 5. P. B. Paul 6. P. Mandarow 7. K. C. John M.A.L.
1923        Miss Brewer & Women’s Hospital’s Farewell
?          2nd Anniversary of Anandapet Brotherhood Guntur (Dr. Aberly, Harold Dunkleberger, Mrs. Aberly, Dr. Uhl (?) (Center of photo)
            Dr. Aberly, Harold Dunkleberger, Mrs. Aberly, Dr. Uhl (?) center of photo
?          Prize Distribution. Caste Girls School. (1. A. S. Kugler 2. Miss Dryden    3. Hindu widow- a schoolgirl not quite twelve years old. When 12 years old will have all her jewels taken away 4. Warder)
?          ? back of building; front of same building
?          India Missionary Scenes. (2 ) (Large boards with photos pasted on them) Rev. D. A. Day (Africa 1874); T. Elmira, Christian School Mistress, India; Rev. B. John, Ordained Minister, India; Rev. E. Unaugst, D.D., India 1858; Rev. M. Nathaniel, Ordained Minister, India; P. Lucy, Zenana Worker, India; Rev. L. L. Uhl, India 1873; American Lutheran Mission Church, Guntoor, India; American Lutheran Mission House, Guntoor, Indai; Mission High School, Guntoor, India; Missionary Tent Life in India; Pilgrims going to the Gauges (Ganges?); A Hindu Barber at Work; Zenana Work—Showing Missionary Lady, Hindu Women, etc.; View of Hindu Village; India Famine Scene, 1877-78; Rev. Charles Schnure, India, 1880; Christian School Girl, India; High Caste School Girl, India; Miss Kate M. Boggs, Missionary to India of the W. H. & F. Missionary Society of the Lutheran Church; High Caste Woman, India; Christian School Boy, India; Rev. A. D. Rowe, India, 1874.
CHINA
            1940s? “Rubbing” from the Nestorian Stone in China (Sent by Malcolm Shutters)
INFO AND CONTACTS
Sheila Joy, Archivist
sjoy@uls.edu
717-339-1317
M-F: 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Please make an apointment before visiting. We are only occasionally able to accommodate walk-in requests.

Evan Boyd, Library Director and Archivist
eboyd@uls.edu
Luther Prints, Posters, and Calendars
(Includes 2 prints about John Knox and one of Erasmus of Rotterdam)
Stored in Box 1 (+++) on table in corner of Boxed Manuscripts Room
(List is on top of prints; Order of prints begins at top of box and goes down to bottom)
(November 19, 2001; rev. 4/3, 5/26/2002; revised10/12/2011)
 
(Please handle with care; remove individually on flat surface; 
please replace in original order)
 
Top of Box
Folder of Prints of Martin Luther (Folder 1)
 
            3 prints of Luther (1827?) (Donner und Blitzesschlag)
            Print of Luther (Engraved by C.E. Wagstaff)
            Print of Luther (Eng’d by F. Humphreys)
            Print of Luther
            Print of seal of Doctor Martinvs
2 prints of Martin Luther (lith. of Wagner & McGuigan, 116 Chestnut St.)
(1 published by G.F. Gordon for the Christian)
Print of Martin Luther (Lucas Crannach) (J. Rogers)
Print of Dr. Martin Luther with “Here I Stand …”
Print of Dr. Martin Luther with “Here I Stand …” (G. Burt Sc.)
Print from an original painting presented by Count Ronnof to the Lutheran Chapel in the
                 Savoy (Handwritten note: born at Isleben in Saxony 1488. Died at the same place
                 1548) (Albert Durer pinze) (Thos. Trotter sculpt.) (we have another one of these but the
                 image is reversed—see Folder 2)
Print of Martin Luther (Lith. of P.S. Duval. Philad’a)
Print of M. Luther (NY J&J Harper) (can’t read other words)
Print of Martin Luther (Engraved by R. Varley)
Print of Martin Luther (D. Edwin fc)
Print of D. Martin Luther (gem. v. L. Crannock) (gest. v. F. Girsch)
 
Folder of Prints of Martin Luther (Folder 2)
 
Print of Luther from an original painting presented by Count Rennof to the 
     Lutheran Chapel in the Savoy
            Print of Martinvs Luthervs
            Print of Luther by C. Koning
            Print of Martin Luther with German paragraph
2 prints of Luther (Published by Vernor, Hood & Sharpe, Poultry, 1811 (Sands sculp.)
Print of Dr. Martin Luther 1542 (Lucas Cranach pinx)
Print of Luther (B. Muller pinrit) (Louis Werner …)
Print of Martin Luther in Jahre 1540 (Heinrich Aldegrever 1502-1558)
Print of Dr. Martin Luther 1533 (Lucas Cranach) (976) (Cosmos Pictures Co., N.Y.)
Print of Martin Luther and Melancthon at the Diet of Augsburg (Johnson, 
                Wilson & Co. Publishers, New York)
Print of Luther painted by L. Kranach backed with copy of diploma from Maryland
                 Institute for the Promotion of the Mechanic Arts, Baltimore, March 25(?), 1872, for  
                 Henry Frincse (?) signed by D. A. Woodward, professor of drawing.
Luther Listening to Tetzel’s Song – Engraved by John McRae, E. Walker, 114 Fulton St.
 
Folder of Prints of Martin Luther (Folder 3)
 
Poster of Martin Luther’s Seal
Small print of Martin Luther on cardboard
1954 photo of Gorze 400th Anniversary medal
Small print of Luther on cardboard by Lucas Cranach Pinxt, Fr. Muller Sculpst
Print of Luther (O. Brausewetter) (2139) (Has seal on front) Photographische 
                 Gesellschaft, Berlin SW
Print by E. Delperee
 
1967 Calendar (2 copies – 1 cut apart) – 450th Anniversary of the Lutheran Reformation 
          from Lutheran Brotherhood
 
Print of Martin Luther by Rutherford Boyd – Memento on the occasion of the 30th Anniversary of
          the United Lutheran Church in America by the United Lutheran Publication House
 
Facsimiles of Autographs of Calvin, Zwingli, Melancthon, & Luther
 
1916 Calendar – Luther Scenes
 
Martin Luther Sketchbook from Lutheran Mutual Life Insurance Company
 
Print of Etching of Erasmus of Rotterdam by Durer (from Metropolitan Museum of Art 1919)
 
Official print of Luther’s Writing
 
Print on parchment paper of music (hamburger Volfslutherfeier) and Documente 
       aus der Reformationszeit by Johannes Tietzel
 
Original pencil drawing -- Konrad Trinkaus and “Lutherhaus,” Grunberg, Hessen 
       (USE 2 HANDS WHEN HANDLING!!)
 
Print of Doctor Martin Luther (artistic rendition done with German words presented by 
       Mrs. L. R. Meyer, Chicago, Ill. 8/15/1947)
 
Printed poster of schedule for 10/30/1972 for the Martin Luther Colloquium 
       for the Institute of Luther Studies
 
Package of prints containing:
            1 poster of Martin Luther 400th Anniversary of the Reformation 1917
            1 print of Luther
            1 print of Martin Luther (Eng’d by Wm. D. Smith)
            1 print of Martinus Lutherus D. (J.S. Negges sc. Et exc. A.V.
4 different prints of Dr. Martin Luther (Lith Anstv Ed Gust May in 
                 Frankfurt aM) (Luther’s Leben)
            1 print of Dr. Martin Luther (Lucas Cranach Pinxt)(Fr. Muller Sculpst)
            1 print of Dr. Martin Luther (L. Kuppenheim, hth) (Imp. Lemercier, Paris)
            1 print of Luther (Pub: by J. Baillie 87st near 3d Avenue NY) (270) (Olben ninxt)
 
12 Reformation Prints (numbered) (nos. 2, 4, 5, 6, 8, 9, 12 have 1 extra copy; nos. 3, 7, 10 
 have 2 extra copies) (These large photogravure scenes were purchased by 
 Benjamin Kurtz and sold by the students in an effort to raise funds for the Seminary. 
 Were nearly 175 years old in 2001.)
 
Calendar from Aid Association for Lutherans, Appleton, Wisconsin, December 1979 to January 1981. Each calendar month bears a quote from the Augsburg Confession and reproductions of 16th Century woodcuts complement the quotations. (1 calendar + 1 set of quotes and woodcuts with calendar part cut off) Print of letter from John Knox, Edenburgh, August 1561, to Sir Nicholas Throgmorton, English ambassador to Paris, thanking him for his support. (1 print + 1 letter of explanation and translation)
 
Print of Martin Luther by Don Kueker from Concordia Publishing House received April 20, 1971. (1 print + letter)
 
Print of Reformation Window found in the Martin Luther Library in the Lutheran Brotherhood Building, Minneapolis, Minnesota rendered in stained glass by Conrad Pickel. (1 print)
 
Print of poster with music and facsimile of Luther handwriting “Zur Luther Feier” “Ein’ feste Burg ist unser Gott” (Uus der Reprodustion des Luther-Coder von Otto Kade, Dresden, 1863) (copyright 1883, by H. Cherouny for 1483 to 1883 celebration) (1 print)
 
Print of Luther Arriving at the Wartburg (C. C. Hellquist, Paris 1883 in left bottom corner) (Knesing X A in bottom right corner) (Print of Louis Lange Publ. Co.) (supplement to Vol. 4, No. 19 of Illustrated Home Journal) (1 print)
 
Print of Dr. Martin Luther (1535 NAUH . LUKAE . CRANAEH D.A.??) ( print)
 
Print of Dr. Martin Luther, “Eine feste Burg ist unser Gott.” (Verlag v. W. Zawitz in Berlin in bottom center, Aez. u. hth. v. Nordmann in left bottom corner, Druck v. J. Hesse in Berlin in right bottom corner) (facsimile of signature on bottom) (1 print)
 
Print of Dr. Martin Luther, Hero of Protestantism (initials F.F. in left bottom corner of engraving, Photo Eng. Co. N.Y. in right corner) (5 prints in all includes 1 print that has chewed edges and 1 smaller print)
 
Print of Dr. Martin Luther done by Kurz & Allison – Art Studio, Chicago. (1 print on board – damaged, 1 print on paper) (USE 2 HANDS WHEN HANDLING!!)
 
Print of engraving by John Sartain of the original by George Cattermole of “The First Reformers Presenting Their Famous Protest, at the Diet of Spires, April 19th, 1529. Published by Sartain & Doty, 28 Sansom St., Philadelphia. (1 print)
 
Print of poster of Luther done by Luhnsdorff Karoly, l931, Budapest (with note from Concordia) (1 print)
 
A Lutheran Manifesto poster (1 poster)
 
Quadricentary poster of Diet of Worms (1921) (1 poster)
 
Quadricentennial of the Reformation Posters (1917) (round framework) (advertising other Reformation events) (1 longer than others, 7 posters, 1 other partial poster that has been cut)
 
Quadricentennial of the Reformation Posters (1917) (The Joint Lutheran Committee, 925 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, Pa. )(rectangular framework) (6 posters, 1 paper copy, 1 cut poster, 1 damaged poster)
Bottom of Box
 
*****Two other prints were too large for this box and will be stored in larger boxes with other large documents
 
Box 3 +++
  1. Martin Luther Brulant les Bulles du Pape (Martin Luther Burning the Pope’s Bulls) (Lithographie par Thielley) (Peint par l’ Martersteig) (Entered according to Act of Congress in the Year 1854 by M. Knoedler in the clerk’s Office of the district Court of the United States for the Southern district of New York) (damaged) 
Box 5 ++++
  1. Four Hundred Years of New Life from Lutheran Brotherhood for 450th Anniversary of the Reformation (l967)
INFO AND CONTACTS
Sheila Joy, Archivist
sjoy@uls.edu
717-339-1317
M-F: 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Please make an apointment before visiting. We are only occasionally able to accommodate walk-in requests.

Evan Boyd, Library Director and Archivist
eboyd@uls.edu
Maps

MAPCASE

(Bottom drawer of Blueprint Cabinet in Historical)
 
 
1883
(Large print) Deutsche ev. Luth. Concordia=Predigerseminar (Concordia Seminary, St. Louis, Mo.) (Large print) (presented by Rev. Dr. Wolf to the Lutheran Historical Society)
 c.1890
 (Medium print) Gettysburg Battlefield drawing by Walter A. Lane, page from The Soldier In Our Civil War
1898
(Large print) The Jubilee Memorial of the Evangelical Lutheran Ministerium of Pennsylvania and of Adjacent States on the Occasion of the 150th Anniversary of Its Organization 1748-1898
?
(Medium print) Orphans’ Farm School of the Ev. Lutheran Church, Zelinople, Butler County, Pa. (1 copy presented to Historical Society of E. Luth. Church by W. A. Papurunt? and 1 copy (waterstained) presented to the Missionary Rooms of the Seminary by H. Reck (1829-1881)
?
(Medium print) A Map of the Lutheran Church in the Time of Henry Melchior Muhlenberg 1742-1787 Showing the Points at which he and his collaborators worked. (In commemoration of the Muhlenberg Bicentennial) (Published by the United Lutheran Publication House for the information of the United Lutheran Church congregations (2 copies)
1959
(Large print) Lutherans in North America chart (3 copies) (BX8041 .N4) (in catalog)
1965?
(small print) (map) The route of emigration of the Schwenkfelders from their homes in Silesia as far as Plymouth, England. The journey which began in 1726 and ended on September 22, 1734 with their arrival in Philadelphia, was recorded in the diary of Christopher Schultz. (BX9749 .S48 ) (in catalog)
1933
(small print) (map) Pennsylvania. Genealogical map of the counties. (Includes organization of counties by date and lists dates of treaties and purchases) (G3821 .S1) (in catalog)
1942?
(small print) (chart) Two centuries of Lutheran Synodical History, 1742-1942 (special collection)
1954
(Large print) (map) Paul’s Missionary Journeys and excerpts from the Acts of the Apostles (Lutheran Brotherhood)
1959
(Large print) (chart) The Church Year (Colors and Festivals) (Lutheran Brotherhood)
1926?
& 1932
 
 
 
 
 
1987
(Medium graph and smaller copy) Students in attendance at Gettysburg Seminary 1826-1926
(Associated graphs of Faculty and Students 1826-1926 (also 2 blues), Finances 1826-1932 (also 1 blue, and Missionaries and Teachers 1826-1932 (also 2 blues)
 
 
Connected Draft: Steltz Region-Codorus Township-York County
-Accompanying Index and Summary by Neal Otto Hively
INFO AND CONTACTS
Sheila Joy, Archivist
sjoy@uls.edu
717-339-1317
M-F: 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Please make an apointment before visiting. We are only occasionally able to accommodate walk-in requests.

Evan Boyd, Library Director and Archivist
eboyd@uls.edu
Miscellaneous Lutheran Organizations
Oversized Photos (++) Housed in Blueprint Cabinet in Historical
(Filed under Synod – earliest year first)
 (First item on list is at the top of box; last item on list is at the bottom of box)
(Revised 11/29/2001, 3/26, 4/1, 5/1, 26/2002, 6/16/2004)
 
TITLE                                                                        DATE             PLACE         
***Lutheran Synod (See Box 3 +++ upstairs)           1895                Hagerstown, Md.
***Lutheran Convention                                            5/18/1893        New York
***United Lutheran Convention                                10/12/1932      Philadelphia
ULCA
***U.L.C.A. Delegates pilgrimage to Pageant
presented by descendants of the Salzburg
Lutherans at Ebenezer Church (2 copies)                   10/20/1934?    Savannah, Ga.
 
***Testimonial Dinner to Rev. Dr. Franklin
Clark Fry – Installation as President of the United
Lutheran Church in America, Hotel Astor                 1/11/1945        New York (?)
 
*Officers of the General Council ELC                    ?                      ?
            (damaged) (see below)
Illinois Synod
***Illinois Synod in front of Naghusa Lutheran
Orphanage                                                                   5/24/1923        ?
New York and New Jersey Synod
*Ev. Luth. Synod of New York & New Jersey (1st) 10/3-9, 1872    Hudson, NY(?)
East Ohio Synod
*East Ohio Synod ELC                                              1877                Orrville, Ohio
United Synod of the South
***Organization - United Synod of the South          June 1886        Roanoke, Va.
***United Synod South                                             1916                ?
East Pennsylvania Synod
***Evangelical Synod of East Penna. (80th)              10/4/1921        Messiah Lutheran
***East Pennsylvania Synod (U.L.C.)                      10/4-7/1920     ?
***East Pennsylvania Synod (damaged)                   1903                ?
Central Pennsylvania Synod
*Ev. Luth. Synod of Central Pa.                                June8, 1869     Liverpool, Pa.
Merger Convention, Central Penn Synod                   Jun7-8, 1938   Harrisburg, Pa.
            (This is framed and housed in Box 6 (+++) in Boxed Manuscript Room)
West Pennsylvania Synod
**West Penna. Synod Convention (63rd)                   10/12-17/1887 Newville, Pa.
**West Pa. E. L. Synod (58th Convention)(3)            9/13/1882        Littlestown, Pa.
*E. L. Synod of West Pa. (damaged) (2)                    9/13/1866        York, Pa.
General Synod (see above)
***General Synod of ELC in USA (45th) (2)                  ?                      ?
***Lutheran Synod members                                     1890                Mount Vernon
*General Synod of ELC in USA (35th)(2 c.)              5/20-29,1891   Lebanon, Pa.
*Evang. Luth. Ministerium of Pa. (142nd)                  6/13-19/1889   Lebanon, Pa.
***General Synod meeting                                        1887                Omaha
*General Synod of ELC of USA (2 copies)             5/26/1885        Harrisburg, Pa.
General Synod of ELC in USA (31st)                                    5/16/1883        Springfield, Ohio
*General Synod of ELC in USA (4 copies)
 Members & Visiting Ministers
*Jubilee Memorial of the Reformation                       5/7/1868          Harrisburg, Pa.
            (Another framed copy housed in Box 6 (+++) in Boxed Manuscript Room)
            (Another framed copy hanging in circulation reception area)
 
MARYLAND
*The Lutheran Church, Pastors, and Their Homes,                            Published by
 in Carroll County, State of MD                                                        Edwin J. Lawyer,
                                                                                   1/1/1895          Westminster, MD
            (Hanging upstairs in front lobby area)
 
*identified
**partially identified
***unidentified
INFO AND CONTACTS
Sheila Joy, Archivist
sjoy@uls.edu
717-339-1317
M-F: 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Please make an apointment before visiting. We are only occasionally able to accommodate walk-in requests.

Evan Boyd, Library Director and Archivist
eboyd@uls.edu
Oversized Art
(Now housed in Boxed Manuscript Room in corner on table in oversized boxes)
(April 29, May 26, 2002, 6/15/2004)
 
  
Box 1 (+++)
 
Luther Prints and Posters and Calendars
 
Box 2 (++++)
 
VASES ETRUSQUES de LUCIEN BONAPARTE, PRINCE DE CANINO, 1830
(Lithographs, 2 volumes and 10 plates) Lucien Bonaparte (1775-1840) was Napoleon’s first younger brother.

Box 3 (++++)

Carli Serigraph of Seminary from 1976 (2 copies, matted)
 
Poster from 1976 for 150th Anniversary of Seminary (2 copies)
 
Darold H. Beekmann Inaugural banner (September 15, 1990) (1 copy)
 
A.R. Wentz Library drawing, undated
 
Print from New York Tribune of painting in circulation lobby of Colonel John Peter Muhlenberg in 1776.

Semi-Centennial Commemoration (1826-1876) Print (3 original copies) (flat) (damaged)
 
Box 4 (++++)
 
Oversized Poster Drawings
     "Rejoice in the Lord, Peace I Leave With You," Lutheran Church outlined in writing (2 copies)
 
Oversized Portraits:

Cronholm, Neander Nicolaus, 1845-1922, Alumni (1873); Ph.D. Yale; practiced law; Author,
      History of Sweden
 
Hasselquist, Tufve Nilsson, 1816-1891, President Augustana Synod and College and
      Seminary      
INFO AND CONTACTS
Sheila Joy, Archivist
sjoy@uls.edu
717-339-1317
M-F: 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Please make an apointment before visiting. We are only occasionally able to accommodate walk-in requests.

Evan Boyd, Library Director and Archivist
eboyd@uls.edu
CAMP NAWAKWA

CAMP NAWAKWA

1941
June 18, 1941              ***Camp Participants (Boys)             Williams, Gettysburg
June 24, 1941              ***Camp Participants (Boys)             Williams, Gettysburg
July 1, 1941                 ***Camp Participants (Girls)              Williams, Gettysburg
July 9, 1941                 ***Camp Participants (Boys)             ?
July 22, 1941               ***Camp Participants (Boys)             Williams, Gettysburg
July 23, 1941               ***Camp Participants (Girls)              Williams, Gettysburg
Aug. 14, 1941             ***Camp Participants (Girls)              Williams, Gettysburg
 
1942
June 24, 1942              ***Camp Participants (Boys)             Williams, Gettysburg
June 30, 1942              ***Camp Participants (Girls)              Williams, Gettysburg
July 7, 1942                 ***Camp Participants (Girls)              Williams, Gettysburg
Aug. 3, 1942               ***Camp Participants (Girls)              Williams, Gettysburg
Aug. 18, 1942             ***Adult Leadership Camp               Williams, Gettysburg
 
1948
June 14-21, 1948         ***Camp Participants (Jr. Girls)         ?
June 21-28, 1948         ***Camp Participants (Jr. Boys)        Williams, Gettysburg
June 28-July5, 1948    ***Camp Participants (Int. Boys)      ?
July 6-19, 1948           ***Camp Participants (Sr. Boys)        ?
July 19-26, 1948         ***Camp Participants (Int. Girls)       Williams, Gettysburg
July27-Aug. 9, 1948   ***Camp Participants (Sr. Girls)        Williams, Gettysburg
Aug. 10-23, 1948        ***Camp Participants (Sr. Girls)        Williams, Gettysburg
Aug. 23-30, 1948        ***Summer School for Church Workers        ?
INFO AND CONTACTS
Sheila Joy, Archivist
sjoy@uls.edu
717-339-1317
M-F: 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Please make an apointment before visiting. We are only occasionally able to accommodate walk-in requests.

Evan Boyd, Library Director and Archivist
eboyd@uls.edu