Records that record the history of United Lutheran Seminary should be transferred to the Seminary Archives on a regular basis. Transfer is to be arranged with the Archives staff prior to delivery.

The following is a non-inclusive list of materials that are archival and document the administrative, legal, fiscal, and historical activities of United Lutheran Seminary and should be transferred to the Archives:
  1. Primary papers of the President and Deans’ offices.
  2. Departmental publications: newsletters, journals, literary magazines, brochures, posters, and course syllabi.
  3. Correspondence pertaining to major events in the history of your department or office
  4. Photographs, slides, films, audio or video tapes. (Important: Please document audio-visual materials with names of events and persons involved, title of the work, names of the creators, location, and date.)
  5. Faculty, staff, alumni, and student publications: authored monographs, reprints, offprints, theses.
  6. Annual reports (President’s and Dean’s Offices)
  7. Annual statements of budgets assets, and expenditures. Finalized audits. (CFO’s Office)
  8. Minutes: Board of Trustees, faculty, committees, departments, and organization meetings
  9. Correspondence with alumni: awards, special recognitions, and events
  10. Copies of all major deeds of gift and living wills (after all funds, etc. are received) and any related restriction documentation
  11. Student organization records: minutes, publications, and photographs
  12. Building records, blueprints, and photographs, including insurance plans, mortgages, and long-term warranties for capital improvements
  13. Chapel records: representative bulletins for the year, all special event bulletins, etc.
INFO AND CONTACTS
Please make an apointment before visiting. We are only occasionally able to accommodate walk-in requests.

Evan Boyd, Library Director and Archivist
eboyd@uls.edu

Records Transfer Procedures

United Lutheran Seminary and all Subsidiary Bodies

 
Transferring Physical Records to the Archives:
  1. Remove all paperclips, ring binders, rubber bands, etc.
  2. Replace hanging file folders with regular file folders.
  3. Label and date all files. Approximate dates such as “1990-1995” are more helpful than no date.
  4. Arrange files in boxes in the order in which they were arranged in your file drawers.
  5. Create an inventory list for each box for its series or file titles. Include dates and correct identification of material (papers, photographs, CD-ROMs, etc.) Mark if restricted access.
  6. Insert one copy of the inventory list in the first box and retain one copy for your files.
  7. Identify each box with office/department name and box sequence (1 of 3, 2 of 3, etc.)
  8. Contact the Assistant Archivist at library@uls.edu or 717-339-1317 to have boxes moved to the Seminary Archives.
  9. Complete the RECORDS TRANSFER FORM. Contact Sheila Joy for this.
 
Transferring Electronic Records to the Archives:
  1. Contact the archives at library@uls.edu or 717-339-1317 to arrange the transfer of electronic records. DO NOT email the files until you’ve arranged the transfer first.

If you'd like a copy of these procedures please click the link below to download.

 Records Transfer Procedure Policies and Guidelines pdf 

What To (and What Not To) Transfer

This is not an exhaustive list. If you identify any records in your department, office, or organization that you think might be permanent, contact the library staff at library@uls.edu or 717-339-1317.
 
Do Transfer:
  1. Primary papers of the President and Deans’ offices.
  2. Departmental publications: newsletters, journals, literary magazines, brochures, posters, and course syllabi.
  3. Correspondence pertaining to major events in the history of your department or office
  4. Photographs, slides, films, audio or video tapes. (Important: Please document audio-visual materials with names of events and persons involved, title of the work, names of the creators, location, and date.)
  5. Faculty, staff, alumni, and student publications: authored monographs, reprints, offprints, theses.
  6. Annual reports (President’s and Dean’s Offices)
  7. Annual statements of budgets assets, and expenditures. Finalized audits. (CFO’s Office)
  8. Minutes: Board of Trustees, faculty, committees, departments, and organization meetings
  9. Correspondence with alumni: awards, special recognitions, and events
  10. Copies of all major deeds of gift and living wills (after all funds, etc. are received) and any related restriction documentation
  11. Student organization records: minutes, publications, and photographs
  12. Building records, blueprints, and photographs, including insurance plans, mortgages, and long-term warranties for capital improvements
  13. Chapel records: representative bulletins for the year, all special event bulletins, etc.
 
Do Not Transfer:
  1. Purchase orders, office supply orders, invoices.
  2. Travel vouchers.
  3. Expense reports
  4. More than two copies of each item

If you'd like a copy of these policies please click the link below to download.

 Records Transfer Procedure Policies and Guidelines pdf 
Please complete this form prior to the delivery of records to the archives. If you have questions contact the Library Director, Evan Boyd, eboyd@uls.edu, or extension 6330.

 Records Transfer Form pdf