Synod Records Collection
Here you will find our lists of holdings we have from our 5 regional synods:
  1. Allegheny
  2. Delaware-Maryland
  3. Lower Susquehanna
  4. Upper Susquahanna
  5. Metro-DC

Looking for older records prior to the ELCA?


Click here to view records from ELCA predecessor synods such as the General Synod, Maryland Synod, or Central Penn Synod.
Allegheny Synod
Below is a brief listing of Allegheny Synod records held in the ELCA Region 8 Archives. Please consult the archivist for further information and access.
  • Congregation Files
  • Congregation Newsletters
  • Treasurer's Records
  • Worship Resources
  • Constituting Convention, 1987
  • Altoona Area Conference
  • Deceased Pastors Records
  • Altoona Area Lutheran Commission 
Maryland Synod
The Maryland Synod is the predecessor body to the Delaware-Maryland Synod. Below is a brief listing of Maryland Synod records held in the ELCA Region 8 Archives. Please consult the archivist for further information and access.

Maryland Synod Finding Aid
Delaware-Maryland Synod
Below is a brief listing of Delaware-Maryland Synod records held in the ELCA Region 8 Archives. Please consult the archivist for further information and access.
  • Transition Team Records
  • Assembly Records: Proceeding, Bulletin of Reports, Meeting Minutes, 1992-1999
  • Annual Assembly Records, 2008-
  • Photographs of Annual Assemblies
INFO AND CONTACTS
Sheila Joy, Archivist
sjoy@uls.edu
717-339-1317
M-F: 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Please make an apointment before visiting. We are only occasionally able to accommodate walk-in requests.

Evan Boyd, Library Director and Archivist
eboyd@uls.edu
Lower Susquehanna Synod
Below is a brief listing of Lower Susquehanna Synod records held in the ELCA Region 8 Archives. Please consult the archivist for further information and access.
  • Administrative Files, 1988-2008
  • Constitution, By-Laws, Policies, etc., 1987-
  • Lebanon Conference Records-Dean's Congregation, 1997-1999
  • Multicultural Ministry Committee
  • Foreign Missions
  • Committee Records
  • Robert H. Getz, Jr. Collection, 2005
  • Constituting Convention, 1987
  • Awards,
  • Bishop Installation/Convocation, 1987-1989
  • Women of the ELCA
  • Assembly Records, 1988-2007
  • Bishop's Records
  • Assistant to the Bishop Files, 1988-2000
  • Congregation Files
  • Congregation Annual Reports, 1988-1999
  • Congregational Constitutions
  • Office of Communications
  • Ministries for Congregational Life
  • Lutheran Social Services
  • Personnel Records
  • Synod Council Records
  • Deceased Pastor Records
  • Konde Diocese
  • Financial Records
  • Synodical Worship Bulletins


 
Upper Susquehanna Synod
Below is a brief listing of Upper Susquehanna Synod records held in the ELCA Region 8 Archives. Please consult the archivist for further information and access.
  • Assembly Records, 2000, 2002-2006, 2009
  • Congregation Records
Metropolitan Washington, D.C. Synod Records
Below is a brief listing of Metropolitan Washington, D.C. Synod records held in the ELCA Region 8 Archives. Please consult the archivist for further information and access.
  • Transition Team Papers, 1986-1987
  • Vice President Papers, 1988-1991
  • Bishop's Records
  • Annual Assembly Cassettes, 1987-1991
  • Annual Assembly Audio Tapes, 1992-1999
  • Executive Board Records, 1986-1991
  • Constituting Convention
  • Maryland Conference Congregational Newsletters, 1992-1999
  • Roster Files
  • Congregation Records
  • Deceased Pastor Records
INFO AND CONTACTS
Sheila Joy, Archivist
sjoy@uls.edu
717-339-1317
M-F: 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

Please make an apointment before visiting. We are only occasionally able to accommodate walk-in requests.

Evan Boyd, Library Director and Archivist
eboyd@uls.edu