What's in EBSCO?
Basics of EBSCO
Advanced Searching
Saving Searches & Articles with Folders
Using the TextThis Week Website w/ATLA
Using Scripture Indexes in ATLA
Access to Content on JSTOR
Your access to JSTOR is limited to about 600 of the 2,300 journals available. All JSTOR title coverage goes back to the first issue of each journal. Coverage most often ends five years in the past, but some titles offer access to more recent content and others still ended participation and have no new content coming in. 
JSTOR is useful for students doing research in the social sciences, religion, and history. Nearly all titles in its collection are peer reviewed, however not every article within each journal is peer reviewed.
Access JSTOR
Reading on JSTOR
JSTOR allows you to both read the article online as single-page images or download the PDF of the article. When you click "Download the PDF" a pop-up saying "Accept JSTOR's Terms and Conditions Below." Click "I accept, proceed to download" to download the PDF. The JSTOR terms & conditions mean that you won't share the article on the open web, use JSTOR for commercial purposes or financial gain, systematically download the entire contents of JSTOR, and you will abide by US Copyright law, among other things.
Quick tips: Advanced Searching
There are two search forms on JSTOR.org, a Basic Search (JSTOR ) and an Advanced Search.
Using Advanced Search:
  • Use the drop-down boxes to limit search terms to the title, author, abstract, or caption text.
  • Use the drop-down boxes to combine search terms using the Boolean operators, AND/OR/NOT and NEAR 5/10/25. The NEAR operator looks for the combinations of keywords within 5, 10, or 25 words places of each other. The NEAR operator only works when searching for single keyword combinations. For example, you may search for cat NEAR 5 dog, but not "domesticated cat" NEAR 5 dog.
  • Use the “Narrow by” options to search only articles, include/exclude book reviews, search for content published during a particular time frame, or in a particular language.
  • Focus an article search in specific disciplines and titles using checkboxes.
OCLC WorldCat
WorldCat Discovery (All Content)  offers students, faculty, staff, and off-campus visitors an opportunity to search nearly all of the library's collection of print and online resources through one interface. WorldCat replaces an older tool, OCLC FirstSearch , which is still available for those that feel more comfortable with its search interface.
Alternative ways of accessing WorldCat include:
Searching WorldCat
Advanced Search in WorldCat
Oxford Academic Online
The majority of the library's purchased online ebooks come from Oxford University Press. This collection of scholarship provides users with both in-depth coverage (through products like Oxford Scholarship Online ) and overview of topics (such as in Oxford Handbooks Online  and Oxford Very Short Introductions ).
Oxford University Press Products
Using Oxford Biblical Studies
Using Oxford Handbooks Online
Using Very Short Introductions
Using Oxford Scholarship Online
Using Oxford Bibliographies
Project Muse for ebooks
The ULS Library utilizes Project Muse to provide students, faculty, and staff with access to roughly 2,000 ebooks in PDF format. Muse is a non-profit based at Johns Hopkins University and provides access to the ebooks from many academic/university-based presses, including over 500 titles from Augsburg Fortress Publishers (1517 Media).
Searching Project Muse
ACLS Humanities ebooks
ACLS Humanities ebooks offers our community over 5,000 ebook titles from leading, global academic presses. These titles have recently been moved to a new platform. While you're welcome to search & browse its site, ACLS Humanities ebooks , there are no new search or user tutorials available yet.
EBR from de Gruyter
The Encyclopedia of the Bible and Its Reception offers researchers extensive background information on places, people, and things found throughout the Bible and how scholars and the church has interpreted those things (and individual books) through time. It will ultimately include over 14,000 articles, but is only about halfway through the alphabet at this time.
EBR Overview
Using EBR